32. St. Patrick FW: 8. St. Valentine

To: No. 32. Saint Patrick
Date: set to send on Tuesday, 17 Mar 2009
From: Damon <thismayconcernyou (at) gmail (dot) com>
Subject: FW: 8. Saint Valentine

When I was young, I only thought your day was about wearing green, chasing leprechauns, finding four-leaved clovers and getting pinched if you didn’t wear your favorite color.

It's not me. It's my boy Ju out on St. Patty's.

It's not me. It's my boy Ju out on St. Patty's.

As I’ve aged, I’ve learned that your day is about so much more. It’s another excuse for white people to take off work, attended a parade and get ridiculously drunk. Oddly enough, most of the people who celebrate this day aren’t Irish. I’ve even thrown back a green beer or two. It’s very perplexing — kinda like Jewish people celebrating Mardi Gras or Christmas.

Anyway, I won’t keep you. I’ve already penned a letter to your brethren, Saint Valentine, that explains how I feel about your kind. That makes me green because I’m not wasting ink, words or papyrus.

Hope your grave is treating you well.

Going green (for real) soon,

Damon

From: Damon
Date: Sat, 14 Feb 2009
To: Saint Valentine
Subject: No. 8 Saint Valentine

Click here.

8 responses to “32. St. Patrick FW: 8. St. Valentine

  1. The only thing I like about St. Patrick’s day is that it allows me to freely pinch people that don’t have on green. Speaking of wearing green…I’m off to find something to wear to work tomorrow. LIMH

  2. I love St. Patty’s Day. My last name is Irish and I was told (and I’m not kidding) that my great grandpa was born a slave and didn’t have any record of birth so he took his slave master’s name and that’s where my last name came from…lol…so technically I’m not Irish, but then again, I am…. At any rate, St. Patty’s Day is the best….I will be wearing green tomorrow….

  3. @Tam: *smh* lol

    @jlbd: so what you’re telling me is that you really could be John Lennon’s cousin through your name? lol.

  4. @thismayconcernyou

    It is very possible….unfortunately I will probably never know unless I take the time out to have a geneologist (sp) investigate my family lineage…

  5. Haaaaa….

    The Luck of the Black Irish to you my friend!

  6. I decided to boycott (haha) St. Patrick’s day this year and will not wear any green today. If someone tries to pinch me then they might get slapped.

  7. @Tam: *pinch* … sorry, I couldn’t resist even considering how corny that was and that you can’t actually slap me because you don’t know where I am. lol.

    But I’m happy for you and your personal boycott.

  8. That was corny but it made me laugh so I’ll give you a pass.

    I came across this article about St. Patrick’s Day and I thought you’d find it interesting.

    http://www.hollywooddump.com/2009/03/why-i-hate-st-patricks-day.html

Leave a Reply

