45. Former Gov. Rod Blagojevich

Ed’s note: Today, Blago was indicted on 16 felony charges for allegedly scheming “to deprive the people of Illinois of honest government,” better known as conspiring to sell the Senate seat vacated by President Barack Obama.

Dear Mr. Rod Blagojevich:

As crazy as it sounds, I respect some of what you’ve said in recent months.

There aren’t many people who would go on a whirlwind media tour where national personalities bash them to their faces (David Letterman and Joy Behar did numbers on you). But you did just that, made some valid points, cracked a few jokes and kept a straight face through it all.

Former Illinois Gov. Rod Blagojevich

Former Illinois Gov. Rod Blagojevich

Other public figures have some PR guru-wannabe put out an impersonal statement that no one buys. But not you. You defended your rights through your words through every major media outlet that would give you air time. You’re right, you should be innocent until proven guilty. But the court of public opinion rules America.

That said, I don’t have a major problem with your removal from the Illinois governorship. The feds don’t knock on your door at 6 a.m. without cause. Don’t agree? Two words: Michael Vick. And they’re throwing roughly 20 books at you like they threw it at Ron Mexico.

Besides, men lie. Women lie. But wiretaps don’t.

It matters not, though. Dude, you just inked a six-figure book deal because of your gangsta-like prowess. You were like the kingpin of Illinois. But all kings lose their crowns at some point, right?

None of this is why I’m writing you, though.

I’m writing you because of your choice of words a few months back in attempting to defend yourself after your initial arrest. You chose to take a stand with the words from Rudyard Kipling’s renown poem “If.” It’s my favorite poem. It signifies the idea of your world crumbling around you while you remain steadfast and true to yourself and your beliefs.

It describes your situation, and that scares the hell outta me. Why did you choose it?

You see, it takes me back to Oklahoma City bomber Timothy McVeigh’s last words before he met with his last breath. Remember, he recited William Ernst Henley’s “Invictus” — another favorite of mine — for his final words.

He declared his head to be “bloodied but unbowed.” He said he was the “the master of his fate, the captain of his soul.”

You have to wonder how such a tortured soul finds such conviction.  How could he potentially misconstrue beautiful words strung together so well a century or two ago? Or maybe he had made some peace with his Maker? Maybe that’s what you’ve done with yourself as well. Who knows? You both have made me question why I and so many others love these two poems so much.

But I guess I understand why you quoted “If.” I’ve been in countless situations where I’ve had to apply the verses to my life. I’m curious to see which stanza is your favorite. Here’s mine:

If you can talk with crowds and keep your virtue,
Or walk with kings–nor lose the common touch,
If neither foes nor loving friends can hurt you;
If all men count with you, but none too much

I pray that one day I’m able to talk with the giants of the world, but still have my head about myself so that I can still converse with the common man. I try my best not to let close friends, people or enemies get under my skin. And I value even a 5-year-old’s opinion, but none wholeheartedly.

That’s why I’m waiting out your trial to see what the justice system does with you. Until then, I’ll leave you alone. Although, as I said, the feds don’t charge you with 16 felony counts unless they mean business.

Praying for your kids,

Damon

P.S. Quick correlation: A fake man with a bad wig? Little difference from how we started this week, huh? Just joking.
P.S.S. Jay-Z’s “Fallin” from American Gangster.

20 responses to “45. Former Gov. Rod Blagojevich

  1. Those are two of my favorite poems as well. My favorite part of If is :
    “If you can keep your head when all about you
    Are losing theirs and blaming it on you;
    If you can trust yourself when all men doubt you,
    But make allowance for their doubting too;
    If you can wait and not be tired by waiting,
    Or, being lied about, don’t deal in lies,
    Or, being hated, don’t give way to hating”

    I’ve followed the situation and heard the man speak. He always came across as honest and straight-forward. If he really is innocent then I wish him the best, if not….

    • He’s about as innocent as Mike Vick is. Men lie. Women lie. Tape recordings don’t.

    • Yeah his whole demeanor of seeming honest and straight-forward is intended to throw you…he wants you to believe that he’s innocent and being conspired against…the wolf wears sheep’s clothing…

  2. @P.S.S. ….’I know I shouldn’t have did that, I know it’s gonna come right back, I know it’s gonna destroy everything I’ve made, it’s probably gonna get my ass sent away….but this game I play ain’t no way to fix it….it’s inevitable…and I’m Fallin’…’

  3. I think Blago had some lapses in his judgment. Although…the newly appointed Roland Burris isn’t exactly clean in this either.

    This leads me to deeply believe that Burris and Blago have not acted alone in this…I think its way way deeper…thereby leading me to wonder if they are ever going to try and implicate POTUS.

  4. Having a good PR campaign doesn’t mean you’re innocent. I’ll liken it to the coaches in College Basketball who people think don’t cheat because they’re smooth salesmen.
    Obviously a reach on the Importance Scale. But it is all the same. If you can talk the talk, it doesn’t matter if you walk the walk.

    • True, it surely doesn’t mean your innocent. But although we all know and he knows he’s a bold-faced lie, we have to give him the benefit of doubt until he’s proven guilty, which … blows.

      And the parallel isn’t a reach in my mind. It works. College coaches sell dreams to kids, and then scold them like they’re their parents when they get on campus. You know the deal. They flip the script.

      Blago can’t run from those tapes, though. They don’t lie.

  5. as your editor

    Check facebook.

  6. thecomebackgirl

    “As crazy as it sounds, I respect some of what you’ve said in recent months.”

    I dunno for some reason i feel the same. Like i can’t hate this guy. Its a gut thing. I really feel like what he did was wrong as the day is long…but quid quo pro STARTED in politics…he just put a price on it.

    • the way he said what he wanted to say, and let the media pound him to his face was absolutely masterful. Brilliant. I don’t care what anyone says.

  7. I feel obligated to participate in this blog since I am a resident of Chicago and hear dude’s name on the radio so much that recently, I have began to vomit just a little bit in my mouth each time I hear it. Not so much that a brushing is required, but just enough to have the taste at the top of my throat (that was purposely graphic in an effort to describe my disgust for dude).

    Dude is about as innocent as Tony from the Sopranos or Nino from New Jack City. Yes they give out Christmas turkeys during the holidays, but the got them from the butcher they just buried in the cement columns of a new stadium they are illegally financing!

    Dude is as innocent as Bill Bellamy’s character in How to Be a Player, as innocent as Halle after she hit that chick’s Pontiac and “couldn’t recall it”. Blago’s as innocent as Charles Barkley driving drunk on the highway on his way to “get a b**w job, “from the chick who “had given him a ‘b**w job’ one week earlier and said it was the best one he had ever had in his life.”

    My point being, he’s no Angel. LOL.

    You must appreciate his gangster though.

    • ” ‘Blago’s as innocent as Charles Barkley driving drunk on the highway on his way to “get a b**w job, “from the chick who “had given him a ‘b**w job’ one week earlier and said it was the best one he had ever had in his life.’ ”

      How about Donte Stallworth? I feel for him, the guy he killed’s family and Donte’s family. This situation is tragic all around.

      On Blago: His gangsta is respectable. But his shenanigans are beyond reproach. hilarious comment, Weave.

    • I almost spit up laughing at your comments! Especially about the Tony Sopranos and the Nino Browns….always putting on an angel face but a devil in the shadows….as I stated earlier the wolf wears sheep’s clothing…LMAO!

  8. Rod Blagojevich has to be one of the most brilliant criminals of our time. I think he actually believes that he didn’t do anything wrong….You know like one of those people that lie so much that they start to believe their lies…We’re all guilty of it, too bad he got caught with his pants down in front of the public eye….

  9. Also, don’t think Obama didn’t have something to do with this…Obama is about as clean as a pig that just got done eating out of the trough and rolling in mud….LMAO!

  10. The whole state of Illinois knew that Blago was dirty, yet I’m amazed that he got caught up via phonetapping. Phonetapping, people. Didn’t he learn anything from his predecessor? He would have been better off with some paper cups and string.

    And I’m glad you mentioned his hair. Swoop bangs in 2009? Now that’s the real tragedy.

    • You’re right about the paper cups and strings. Like I said up above, wiretaps don’t lie.

      And his hair is unreal. it’s faker than he is.

Leave a Reply

