Good Facebook Status Dialogue: Song on Repeat

No letter. This is the song I have on repeat. Enjoy the vignette.

What follows is a preface for tomorrow’s letter (49. Removable Facebook Friends) about the mundane/uninteresting things people say in their status updates on Twitter & Facebook. It’s dialogue from a few weeks back. Names are changed, except mine.

The initial status update … Jason Biggs’ First Crush (JBFC): is listening to the same song over and over. That’s not a sign of insanity, right?

The ensuing banter:

Damon:
no, only the sign of a catchy/good song. I went through this three weeks ago with Mint Condition’s “Nothing Left To Say.”

JBFC:
Ooh, maybe I’ll try that one next. This song isn’t even new, just new to me: “Use Somebody” by Kings of Leon.

Megatron:
If it’s the Kings of Leon, then yeah you might be crazy. Sorry. I hate that (effin) band.

JBFC:
@Megatron: Blow me.

Ivory:
I LOVE THE WHOLE ALBUM!!! AND I LISTENED TO THAT SONG 8 times in a row when I first started listening to that album. Closer and sex is on fire are also my jams! Sorry Megatron I heart KOL ((((4. Exclamation Mark Misuse))))

Megatron: “@Megatron: Blow me…”
@JBFC: …A kiss? Sure. Sorry I’m a hater. But you’re not crazy. I am the kinda girl who when she loves a song she wants to hear it over and over and over and over til she never wants to hear it again.

JBFC:
@Megatron: Okay, kisses!!! I might never want to hear this song again after the 99 times I’ve blasted it so far. Mmm, okay one more.

Damon:
@Megatron: “… a kiss?” just made me a fan of yours. lol.
@Ivory: is this another album i need to listen to?
@JBFC: you should try that Mint song. It’s crazy good. But you’re not crazy.

Ivory:
@damon: Yes I told you that in the chat you weren’t paying attention to today and I left a comment on your blog. I feel really important right now THANKS Dame.

Megatron:
@Damon: thanks for being my fan. You’ll get your membership badge in the mail in 4-6 weeks.
@Ivory: I forgive you. It’s not like it’s Nickleback you’re talking about
@JBFC: I’m totally obsessed with Sparks lately so who am I to judge anyway. Don’t listen to my jackass.

JBFC:
@Megatron@Ivory@Damon: I love this fourway conversation! haha

Damon:
@Megatron: I will wear that badge with honor …
@everybody: this is hilarious, but I’m learning and laughing.

Megatron:
@JBFC@Ivory@Damon: Me too! It’s like we’re live blogging. But it’s also kind of like Twitter, too? Please kill me now.

Damon:
@everybody: at least we’re not saying stupid (manure) like “I’m sleeping now” or “I’m eating a turkey sandwich.” I’m seriously considering deleting my friends who do that all day. Say something intriguing or witty or don’t update your status. Please. ***off box of soap***

JBFC:
Seconded!

Megatron:
Thirded. Although, now that you mention it, a turkey sammich sounds pretty awesome right about now.

Ivory:
Fourthed

Damon:
Before someone takes my moment away: “one, two three, four … FIIIIFFFF” ~ Chappelle as R.Kelly.

18 responses to “Good Facebook Status Dialogue: Song on Repeat

  1. I guess this post is supposed to be a metaphor for the randomness of facebook messages…

    • It’s just a look at a random FB convo, that’s halfway decent. It’s not “I’m at home,” which bothers the hell outta me.

      say something interesting.

  2. thecomebackgirl

    I miss Dave Chapelle!!!

    since the people you’ve written about post here as itemized in:

    “Ivory:
    @damon: Yes I told you that in the chat you weren’t paying attention to today and I left a comment on your blog. I feel really important right now THANKS Dame.”

    i don’t know if I really feel comfortable writing what I really want to write.

  3. Man.. u done made me google Dave Chapelle so I can watch it at work. I miss that man!!!!!

  4. thecomebackgirl

    So I decided to write it hear..beacause i its a self indictment as much as it is one of others. Facebook and Twitter HAS become pretty mindless..and its extremely self-congradulatory like “look at me” I’m interesting.

    if you have time to update a social network on your complete comings and goings throughout the day…you’r a) NOT that interesting b) participating in the ”look at me world” ..that eveyone wants a piece of..

    facebook and twitter appeals to people’s need to feel sorta like a rock star (in their own mind).

    i can’t tell you how many times i have read just in the last week on BOTH my facebok pages how much of a “big deal” everybody is. Sometimes I wonder who they are trying to convince…me or them.

    • @cbg: That wasn’t bad at all. We’re going to have this discussion over two days, so be prepared. But I agree with what you’re saying.

      It is a look at me society that we live in, and you and I are a part of it. Thing is: neither of us says stuff that really says “LOOK AT ME.”

      For the most part, my status updates say “Look at the stupid stuff you’re doing” and/or “stop sending me 50-11 hundred invites to applications I will never use.”

      I really want to force people to think or I want to say something that’s interesting. … I’m not going to tell you: “I’m home.” … WHO CARES? lol.

      • I swear you must have read my mind on those stupid invites on Facebook. I just look at them and hit the ‘ignore’ button. All those stupid quizzes, contests, the ‘You’re Cool’ messages and ‘You’re Beautiful’ messages and ‘Pass the Drinks’ messages….etc. That’s annoying beyond words. I don’t even have a desire to do Twitter because who really cares what the h3ll somebody is doing all day long and who has the time to actually type in what they are doing all day long….smh…

    • “if you have time to update a social network on your complete comings and goings throughout the day…you’r a) NOT that interesting b) participating in the ”look at me world” ..that eveyone wants a piece of..”

      YES!!!!! high fives for this statement.

  5. *I’m on FB as I type and they are talking about FB on the Tyra Banks right now too*

    Unlike the other folk who think FB status updates are sayin look at me, I’m interesting, I need validation…I see it as a big old chat room with all your friends. Like your example convo, how else would that even have arisen??? Ya’ll don’t live in the same house, you can’t have people on a 5-way phone call, etc. Some of the mundane messages even spawn conversation. One of my friends’ status(es) is telling me that it’s snowing in Jersey…not interesting to all…interesting to me.

    I have a status update for my sister cuz her @ss been supposed to (see: ebonics) call me…not for everyone…and I don’t care.

    • “I have a status update for my sister cuz her @ss been supposed to (see: ebonics) call me…not for everyone…and I don’t care.”

      @cuzzo: That is pure hilarity. I’m good for posting backhanded, passive aggressive status messages that speak to specific people.

      on your comment: You make valid points. But the convo spawned from a good status update.

      I agree, it is one big chat room, and that’s why I like it. Just don’t tell me what you’re doing, especially if it’s uninteresting.

      And snow in Jersey is OK because it’s freaking April. There’s obvious disgust in that statement. But it would be better/hilarious if it was “…it’s snowing on South Beach.” ….

  6. “Just don’t tell me what you’re doing, especially if it’s uninteresting.”

    …and this my “friend” is why I need you. lol. psych. Would you approve: “eating cornflakes with warm milk? “

    • lol … eight thumbs up on that mess because it’s ignorant as hell. lol. Just wait until today’s letter (it will be up at 6:30 p.m. sharp). you’ll totally understand where I’m coming from.

  7. @jlbd

    “All those stupid quizzes, contests, the ‘You’re Cool’ messages and ‘You’re Beautiful’ messages and ‘Pass the Drinks’ messages….etc. That’s annoying beyond words.”

    *raises hand* agreed to the nth degree. No thanks, I don’t want a “ghetto snack” or a virtual manolo blahnik. However, I did entertain a how well do you know “the last dragon” quiz, lol…sorry, that’s my d@mn movie, i had to do it.

    • lol, I totally understand your position on that one. Some and I do mean ‘some’ of those quizzes and invites are interesting, but 95% of them are annoying and pointless. LMAO!

  8. Looks more like Twitter to Me..
    Which makes me wonder…Since they implemented that status comment option on FB, do ppl purposely put up status’s to get a reaction out of folks?? I know my ass does! LOL

    • @cag: you’re right. It sorta does seem like Twitter, but the ability to have a conversation and follow it is about 200 times easier.

      yes, people do put up message to get reaction. I definitely do. I want feed back to supplement what I’m thinking constantly. It’s not because I’m unsure, but I just enjoy the open dialogue … just like this.

Leave a Reply

