Poem: These Words.

No letter. But if you want to understand what TMCY is and where it’s going, know that I can’t spell it out any better than this. Here’s one of my favorite poems:

These Words
By Damon S.

I want these words to dutifully pirouette while compassed about by a chorus of doubters which has only but a seed of hope within it.

I want these words to thoroughly invigorate the sound system that resides on the outside of your pupils understanding that they are the true window to your soul.

I want these words to resonate in the depths of man’s heart to where it skips a beat or three at the thought of freedom’s cost.

I want these words to teach a lesson that can’t be played out on a chalkboard, overhead or in Power Point presentation because life is our best classroom.

I want these words to breathe an air into your lungs so foreign that when you exhale you’re gasping for their breed of oxygenation.

I want these words to satiate the insatiable, infuriate the capable so they will learn some have been enabled by a source which contends their existence is for naught.

I want these words to stir you up like a stew brewing on a stove patiently waiting with little else to do aside from contemplate these truths:

Life is giving. Giving is love. Love is hard. Hard makes jealousy. Jealousy breeds hate. Hate is easy. Easy is fear. Fear is debilitating. Debilitating is death. Death is inevitable.

But inevitability doesn’t have to be your life’s plight.

Give what you know. Know what you have. Have what you mean. And mean what you sow.

Because sowing a seed of contempt is akin to knocking on death’s door before you’ve been called. So many reach to answer the phone and it hasn’t even rung (Matrix). When it does, though, for you, I pray that these words equate in your life’s sum.

Share this poem on Facebook.

NOTE: I have another quick hitter set for Wednesday 1 p.m. CST about agreeing to disagree. Look out for it.


8 responses to “Poem: These Words.

  1. thecomebackgirl

    “I want these words to thoroughly invigorate the sound system that resides on the outside of your pupils understanding that they are the true window to your soul.”

    i love this…i want a BOSE retna.

  2. thecomebackgirl

    “goofball, I’m shocked you know what Bose is. lol.”

    Its not sports…hey..two thing i don’t play about..my sound systems and cars..

  3. thecomebackgirl

    what happened today? self reflection and prose…??? lose people.

    • IDK, it’s life.

      But also something I think people should read/hear. … From jump, I said some of it would be dead serious. That’s exactly what this is.

      And why I planned for a second post this afternoon. lol.

  4. thecomebackgirl

    “IDK, it’s life. ”

    I agree. Some of my best work ..isn’t recieved always how I want it to be.

    • I wish you knew just how many times I’ve said some version of that phrase in the last 10 years.

      “it’s life” … “that’s life” … “story of [my/your] life”

      That’s my broken record phrase. But it’s never out of place. Certainly overused, though. lol.

      I just hope the piece provokes a few people to think/reflect on what’s most important: giving the best of you.

Leave a Reply

