As The Word Turns

UPDATE (12:30 p.m.): I’ve added a letter for each word that I feel applies. With the two you can’t click, you can kinda see where this is going.

Keeping it simple today with an interesting exercise. Here are 15 words that best describe me. I thought of them randomly, then ordered them by importance to my life. Thus, the randomization of the numbers/words. Try it in the comments with five words or more if you want.
—-

5. Friend: 47. People Who Dislike Their Names

12. Insatiable: pick a letter.

7. Confident: 48. Oprah

6. Thoughtful: 50. My Crush

2. Blessed: 130. God.

15. Forgetful: 46. My Play Mother Lynn

13. Stylish: 10. Dudes Who Wear Skinny Jeans.

10. Motivated: Poem: These Words.

1. Loving: 57. My Little Brother

3. Patient: 27. The People Who Dislike Me.

11. Easy-going: 16. LOL Abusers.

8. Meticulous: 25. CPT Abusers.

9. Random: 24. Wilson (The Volleyball from Castaway).

14. Passive-aggression:20. The Girl Who Flung Spaghetti at my FUBU.

4. Forgiving: 128. My Father.

—-

A great spoken word piece titled “Flashy Words” by one of my fav artists, Shihan. It leads into tomorrow’s letter to Michael Eric Dyson. I’ve seen Shihan live twice, and he does not disappoint.

20 responses to “As The Word Turns

  1. Aww…Def Jam Poetry. Classic.

    No certain order…

    Forgiving.
    Compassionate.
    Friend.
    Wife.
    Funny.
    Intelligent.
    Confident.
    Charming.
    Logical.
    Disciplined.
    Supportive.
    Humble.
    Patient.
    Opinionated
    Committed.

    • especially like humble and committed. I’d add those to my list. probably also add flawed. … my list is flawed because I left flawed off …lol

      • Flawed could probably go on all of our lists, but I’ll just speak for myself and say flawed or imperfect is another good word to describe me.

  2. I’ll just do 5 words since I think the words you list when you only have a few to choose it says a lot about each word.

    I was once asked this question in an interview but I won’t use that same list since I threw in some words to try to make myself seem employable, LOL.

    Persistent
    Caring
    Talkative
    Motivator
    Competitive

  3. This is a good post to lead into the letter to MED. A few words for me:

    Nonchalant
    Indifferent
    Honest
    Anxious
    Animated
    Standoffish
    Sensitive
    Nurturing

    ***vote for me at http://www.loufuszgiveaway.com/; register and vote for me and my fiance’; bride’s name is: Chloee Lennon***

  4. This was a bit difficult. I’m not too good at describing myself. In no particular order:

    friend
    short
    silly
    logical
    conundrum
    smart
    lovable
    stubborn
    open
    kind
    mean (i can be both, hence the conundrum)
    giving
    selfish (see above)
    confused
    honest

    • saying you’re giving and then saying you’re selfish is certainly a conundrum. But I know exactly what you’re talking about.

  5. yeah, you already know how i feel about shihan.

    *sighs*

    here’s the words that best describe me….

    wise
    random
    passionate
    enigmatic
    tactful
    kind
    awkward
    lover
    intuitive
    assured
    humorous
    blunt
    well-spoken
    inspired
    assuring

    i would give more, but i don’t wanna out-do the author. 🙂 looking forward to the Dyson post.

    • Enigmatic is a strong, strong word that can be pulled in so many different ways.

      it’s kinda like “Enabling” … so many meaning that are entirely too close.

      But I like it. It’s real.

  6. Loyal
    Independent
    Strong
    Caring
    Flighty
    Sunny (my own made up adjective!)
    Optimistic

    ***that’s all I got so far****

  7. thecomebackgirl

    6. hungry
    2. Strong
    1. resilient
    3. a good friend
    4. passionate
    5. driven

    • @cbg: … this is crazy, because I only know you through the sphere, BUT every last one of these words is you to the core…

      is hungry like ‘insatiable’ or the other hungry?

  8. natural nubian

    authentic
    protective
    inquisitive
    funny
    refreshing
    wise
    spiritual
    strong
    determined
    joyful

    • authentic makes me think of this lyric …

      “You gotta take it, can’t fake it I keep it authentic” ~ Jay-Z “Regrets” from Reasonable Doubt.

  9. Unassuming
    Loyal
    Supportive
    Loud
    Shy
    Caring
    Selfish Giver
    Humble
    Optimistic Pessimist
    Smiler
    Funny
    Naive
    Dreamer
    Sarcastic
    New Orleanian
    Cynical
    Smart
    Sensible

  10. *From your list* I can’t believe I left out passive agressive and forgetful. Easy-going, too.

    • Forgetful. That works. especially considering that you forgot it. lol.

      I’m gonna go back … and do something cool in the post. I hope it works.

Leave a Reply

