FRQs: Michael

My favorite Michael Jackson album. Also, my first. Fav song: Man In The Mirror.

My favorite Michael Jackson album. Also, my first. Fav song: Man In The Mirror.

Today’s simple. RIP Michael. Grieve. Remember. Reflect. Never Can Say Goodbye. … Here’s the letter I wrote to Mike a few months ago.

The FRQs aren’t so random:

1. What’s the first Michael Jackson song your remember hearing?

2. What is your favorite Michael Jackson song?

3. What’s the funniest thing you remember happening to Michael?

4. How will you remember Michael Jackson?

5. OK, one random: Why do you think people need CNN to confirm the news before they believe it?

“I’ve Been A Victim Of A Selfish
Kind Of Love
It’s Time That I Realize
That There Are Some With No
Home, Not A Nickel To Loan
Could It Be Really Me,
Pretending That They’re Not
Alone?

A Willow Deeply Scarred,
Somebody’s Broken Heart
And A Washed-Out Dream
(Washed-Out Dream)
They Follow The Pattern Of
The Wind, Ya’ See
Cause They Got No Place
To Be
That’s Why I’m Starting With
Me
(Starting With Me!)” ~ Man In The Mirror

87 responses to “FRQs: Michael

  1. 1. Thriller is the first one I heard. Great, great song. Scared the hell outta me at six, though.

    2. Man In The Mirror. I shouldn’t have to explain this one. But it was my favorite song to sing in the mirror with my brush as a kid.

    3. The Pepsi Commercial or marrying Lisa Marie Presley… the second one was just odd.

    4. As the greatest entertainer of my lifetime. I was born in 1980, and no artist has had a better run than Off The Wall, Thriller and Bad. Period. People can talk stuff, but the man is a legend. His name and his work lives on.

    5. I really don’t know. But as the news was breaking via other credible media outlets, and people were waiting on CNN, I kinda lost it for a second. CNN isn’t the end all, be all. It’s a great news source, but there are plenty of them out there.

  2. Man in the Mirror is a great song.

    1. Honestly, I don’t remember the very fist MJ song I ever heard. Good question. Hmm…

    2. Favorite – Just one? Now you know I dislike limitations. Uhm…Butterflies/Man in the Mirror/Human Nature/Scream/B&W/Heaven Can Wait/Say Say Say/Never Can Say Goodbye/I Want You Back/We Are the World/Heal the World

    3. One of the funniest things I remember isn’t necessarily something that happened to him but something he did. Either during (maybe towards the end) or after his trial, he jumped up on one of the limos or SUVs in his entourage as they were pulling up to NeverNeverLand and started dancing on top of it.

    4. Young, creative, energetic & on top of the world. Masses of young people crying & fainting to see & touch him. I’ll remember his creativity & originality…the influence he’s had on so many entertainers.

    5. Not sure. Because CNN has it like that?

  3. Oh, no! I forgot to include Remember the Time as a favorite…especially the video. See? I can’t handle limiting it to just one. I’m too indecisive…or maybe I just like too many equally.

    • @shawnta: you will never have just one. lol. ever. I’m going to start calling you Queen Pringle. lol.

      • @damon: Hilarious but oh, so true. I have a hard time selecting “just one”. 🙂 I told you before I can be very indecisive but when I finally do make a decision there is no going back.

  4. 1. Thriller.

    2. Off The Wall or Rock With You.

    3. When he showed up to court in his pajamas.

    4. A genius. The greatest entertainer to ever walk this Earth.

    5. Because CNN is synonymous with news. They are the most respected news outlet.

  5. I can’t believe I typed “NeverNeverLand”…I meant “NeverLand. Craziness.

  6. 1. I’m sure I heard one before this, but the first video memory I have his Leave Me Alone. I just remember being mesmerized by it as a child. I hated it and loved it at the same time.

    2. Even tho it’s like asking to choose a favorite child, I will choose one. This week my favorite MJ song is Baby Be Mine.

    3. I laughed in disbelief for a good five minutes when that fan released the doves as they announced the verdict in his trial.

    4. As a tragic genius who we’ll never understand which isn’t necessarily a bad thing.

    5. Because we live in a world where a Chicago radio station announced to thousands of people in a football stadium that the Chief of Police of New Orleans was assassinated (yes they used that word) during Katrina, where Sinbad was declared dead on Wikipedia, where Brad and Angelina have been breaking up for about three years now. CNN may not be the first to report everything, but at least they wait (sometimes) for confirmed reports. It’s not the only credible news source, but it’s the most known one in these times. (for breaking news. Im not counting newspapers)

    • “I laughed in disbelief for a good five minutes when that fan released the doves as they announced the verdict in his trial.”

      That’s was pretty freaking hilarious …

  7. 1. Bad is the 1st MJ song I heard, my older brother played it OUT.

    2. My favorite song is Dirty Diana. The song that touched me the most though was Black or White “I ain’t scared of your sheets.” for a variety of reasons.

    3. I’d definitely have to go with what is certain to be a popular answer and that is the Pepsi Commercial incident.

    4. The only entertainer to touch SO many people across so many demographics. Old, young, regardless of the ethnic group loved his music. I have not seen other any one person be able to do that and I doubt I ever will.

    5. Because of numerous scandals concerning the news and their poor reporting abilities CNN is one of the only ones left that is actually still respected. Personally, I just didn’t want to accept it so I was trying to hold out until the last possible news group reported it.

    • “Bad” is the first song I knew the lyrics to … I refused to say “butt” though …

      you know … “yo butt is mine …” at the beginning of the song. lol

      And what does “I ain’t scared of your sheets” mean? lol

      • @Damon: Today the “pause police” would get him for that lyric.

        Oh shoot, Is it “no” sheets? No..your.. either way the point is the same, LOL. One of my twitter friends is going on a rant right now about how pro-black Mike was but that he doesn’t get credit for it.

  8. 1. I was raised on Michael so not sure of the very first…but I would have to say “I’ll be there”

    2. My favorite would be “Human Nature” and “Say, Say, Say” a duet with Paul McCartney. I could listen to both on repeat. Oh and “Bad” and “Liberian Girl” and “It’s the Falling in Love” … MAN, it’s hard to choose…I have a lot of faves.

    3. The funniest? I wanna keep this positive and not mention negative press he got in the latter years of his life…so I will say my funniest memory would be him trying to be all tough in the “Way You Make Me Feel” video.

    4. I will remember Michael as my first crush (yes at like 5 years old!), a musician who continued to top charts in every musical era/trend, and a man who had a sensitive heart. I love Mike!

    5. CNN has made a name for themselves. I admit, when I heard the news, the first site I typed in was CNN. But I believe it’s for the same reason why people call tissue, Kleenex and bandages Band-aids….they are a reputable BRAND. Doesn’t make them any more reliable in their industry though.

    • Geez — how could I forget “Rock With You??”

    • @coco: I’m snickering at you because you crushed on Michael … lol.

      • “what are you sniggering at” that’s how eliza said snickering in My Fair Lady…do you remember? Hmmm…have you see it? anyway…lol.

        seriously, when my sisters and i played house, michael was my husband…lol…at like 5 years old! and if one of my sisters chose him first, i chose marlon because he was my next fave.

  9. 1. Thriller. my big cousins locked me in the room and made me watch it with them. i’m sure there were other songs, but that is the first incredibly clear memory i have.

    2. Remember the Time. i learned all the dance moves. and it had an all star cast.

    3. the jheri curl/pepsi fire. even made it into nursery rhymes growing up. “pepsi-cola blew him up, now he’s drinking 7-up” hello? 🙂

    4. as a true entertainer and performer. a true talent.

    5. i needed a credible, true news source because i couldn’t handle TMZ being wrong. they have a very good track record, but i was having sensory overload. basically, i was hoping it was a premature announcement and i knew once CNN verified that there would be no more take backs.

    • the more and more I’m thinking about it … Remember The Time is my favorite Michael Jackson video …

      The Star power was amazing, but it was also the story … the magic … Michael’s true swagger in the video … just AMAZING.

  10. I am crying as I type this…

    1. Thriller

    2. Wanna Be Startin’ Somethin’

    3. The spark flying in the curl setting his head on fire.

    4. For the awesome artist and entertainer that he was.

    5. The most reliable news source.

  11. 1. What’s the first Michael Jackson song your remember hearing?
    Man I have no idea what the first song I heard was….I’m racking my brain but since my memory sucks that’s not really helping. What I do remember is watching allll the old MJ and JJ videos at my aunts house like all the time when I was little. She was/is in love with Michael and Janet.

    2. What is your favorite Michael Jackson song?
    Man it’s so hard to pick just one! I love Bad(my fav video), Remember the Time, Scream (not sure if I luv the vid or the song more), Rock With You

    3. What’s the funniest thing you remember happening to Michael? I remember thinking wtf is wrong with him and cracking up when I saw the Leave me Alone video, it was just a lil weird to me, also of course the Pepsi moment that everyone is talking about.

    4. How will you remember Michael Jackson? As the greatest who ever did it! He is the best and no one will EVER be greater than Michael. I so will always wish that he never went to such extremes to remake himself because that brother was FINE!

    5. OK, one random: Why do you think people need CNN to confirm the news before they believe it?
    Who knows – I think people were just in denial and didn’t want to believe that such a tragedy had occured. CNN is not the ultimate ruler of “the news” kingdom lol.

  12. 1. i remember hearing Thriller, Smooth Criminal & Dirty Diana back-to-back-to-back.

    2. favorite song of all time hands DOWN is ‘Streetwalker.’ tying 2nd are probably ‘Dirty Diana,’ ‘Wanna Be Startin’ Somethin’ and ‘Beat It’

    3. not happening TO him, but whenever i see the picture of him in court on stand making devil horns, i always always laugh.

    4. i’ll remember him as the dopest. he was true to what he did, and he was timeless. michael jackson was my living legend. often imitated, never ever duplicated. he can’t be replaced. there’ll never be another king of pop, no matter what.

    5. because CNN is ON IT!

  13. 1. Thriller.

    2. Smooth Criminal.

    3. Has to be the South Park episode with him and Blanket, which I realize was mean spirited and probably not kosher to bring up at this point, but they really nailed that.

    4. The same way I remember all eccentric people: at times a genius, at times a weirdo and always, um, interesting.

    5. The same reason ESPN does… it builds brand recognition. Everyone in the news biz was waiting for the LA Times to come through with the truth and CNN couldn’t have that. It makes them look weak.

  14. 1. Um…can’t remember, but I think either Remember the Time (when the video premiered on FOX) or You Are Not Alone.

    2. I Can’t Help It or Stranger in Moscow. I probably spent a week listening to S.I.M. on repeat when I first found it in the sixth grade. Musical minimalism & genius.

    3. It wasn’t supposed to be funny, but the awkwardness of him hanging that baby out of the window made me LOL…literally. & the Lisa Marie kiss on MTV was maaadfunny too.

    4. I know a lot of people will remember him as the consummate performer, but that dude was SO underrated as a vocalist. He was killing the game at 11 AND 45 years old. I will also remember his knack for having musical genius around him…can we say one name? Quincy.

    5. I think CNN always “seems” like the easiest news to interpret and process. it’s like journalism for dummies.

  15. 1. Man… probably a Jackson 5 song… we’ll go with “Dancing Machine”

    2. “Rock With You”

    3. Ok, I’m a jerk — but that “You Are Not Alone” video and his kiss with Lisa Marie tie for the things I laughed at…

    4. I never thought the man was wacko — the way people meant it when they called him Wacko Jacko. I’ll always remember how much he brought to black music; the first black artist played on MTV… he gave Motown a second wind, he made the art of performing on stage… well… an art. He made song production matter. I’ll remember him as a great musical artist because regardless of what he did when he wasn’t performing, that’s what he worked hard for.

    5. Let’s think about the type of news we want CNN to confirm. If TMZ reports that Jay-Z has an illegitimate child in the bahamas, we’ll believe that. But if TMZ reports news we don’t want to believe, suddenly we need a reputable source. That’s all it is… wanting to delay the truth for our own personal reasons.

  16. 1. Thriller

    2. Lady in My Life/ I Can’t Help It

    3. The In Living Color Episode where Tommy Spoofed the Michael Jackson video

    4. MJ’s music was timeless. He was creative and not afraid to express himself through his music. Best entertainer/singer to ever do it!!!!

    5. Mike Is Immortal…….

    5.

    • 3…..I wanted to add this…If you listen to The Girl Is Mine feat Paul McCartney….Mike really wanted to fight Paul, but Paul McCartney wouldn’t fall back….lol

      • Hilarious…he sure did wanna fight Paul. Instead, Mike hit em where it hurt and bought the Beatles library/catalog instead. KO!

        • He kept saying “The Dog’ On Girl Is Mine”……Has to Say, “Got D&mn it!, Fall Back Paul, the Girl Is Mine!”

  17. 1. What’s the first Michael Jackson song your remember hearing? ABC – I was three – first time I could say lyrics LOL

    2. What is your favorite Michael Jackson song? Billie Jean – hands down

    3. What’s the funniest thing you remember happening to Michael? His hair catching on fire in the Pepsi commercial….

    4. How will you remember Michael Jackson? As a genius.

    5. OK, one random: Why do you think people need CNN to confirm the news before they believe it? Because if it’s real, CNN reports it…

  18. 1. If I have to think that far back……hmmmm…I think maybe Don’t Stop Til You Get Enough…

    2. Can’t pick just one fav…. so Dirty Diana, The Way You Make Me Feel, Leave Me Alone, Heal The World, Man In The Mirror, She’s Out Of My Life, Smooth Criminal, and too many more to name!!!

    3. Funniest thing I remember him doing would probably be dangling his baby from over the balcony…..I love him to death but that was crazy!!!

    4. Michael Jackson will always in my eyes be remembered as a musical genius. He has paved the path for many artists and his dance style is in a genre all its own. So RIP MICHAEL JACKSON you are truly missed.

    5. And you believe CNN first because its world wide and it’s usually most credible.

  19. 1. What’s the first Michael Jackson song your remember hearing? Got To Be There

    2. What is your favorite Michael Jackson song?
    I just cant stop loving you

    3. What’s the funniest thing you remember happening to Michael?
    When Mike was on trial and he was on the stand singing and making music with his mouth…..LOL

    4. How will you remember Michael Jackson? as the King of Pop

    5. OK, one random: Why do you think people need CNN to confirm the news before they believe it? Reputation as being reliable earned by not reporting news to be the first source to report but instead the source to quote it correctly.. In my life I havent known them to have very many “we incorrectly reported” stories….however I wasnt waitnin on CNN I was waitin on green eyed joe….to tell it to me straight…

  20. 1. Can’t remember.

    2. Extremely difficult question. If asked at gunpoint – Pre-Thriller: Billie Jean. Post-Thriller: Remember The Time

    3. That forced, unnatural kiss with Lisa Marie at an awards show (I forget which one it was).

    4. The Thriller album. Over 100 million copies sold (ten times diamond!) with a record eight Grammies. Nine songs, all fire. Only three other R&B albums compare: Prince’s Purple Rain, Janet’s Control, and Bobby Brown’s Don’t Be Cruel.

    5. Because I don’t believe anything TMZ says.

    • “The Thriller album. Over 100 million copies sold (ten times diamond!) with a record eight Grammies. Nine songs, all fire. Only three other R&B albums compare: Prince’s Purple Rain, Janet’s Control, and Bobby Brown’s Don’t Be Cruel.”

      Those other albums you listed are classic as well.

  21. 1. Rock With You – Still one of my favorites

    2. Billie Jean – Remember seeing this for the first time at a family gathering at my grandparent’s house. Funny to believe that a song that I remember so fondly from my childhood was about a stalker.

    3. The Pepsi Commercial – self-explanitory

    4. Greatest entertainer of all time. That’s separate from singer, dancer, etc. He combined them all. He took what everyone did great before him, combined it, and took it to another level.

    5. Too many sites just waiting to scoop one another these days without checking facts. At least CNN waits ’til facts are reported before officially declaring.

  22. 1. Thriller…and I was totally scared of it at 5 years old. I used to hide behind the couch and cover my ears when it was on. I swear I honestly couldn’t watch it alone until I was 18. LOL!

    2. Rock With You…b/c it’s such a fun dance song. It was hard to choose just one though. I ❤ them all!!

    3. I remember hearing stories about how he stole Diana Ross' spotlight at a Motown function (I think it was) or the Pepsi commercial.

    4. I will remember him as a legend….a icon….the greatest of all time. There will never be another.

    5. I didn't actually wait on CNN but I wasn't about to listen to TMZ. I'd rather have the facts correct than the facts first! But I did check all the other new stations also. It's just you don't want to believe it until they all say it's so.

  23. My comment isn’t staying!

  24. natural nubian

    you know what’s strange? i’m more of a jackson 5 fan than a MJ solo artist fan. i dunno, just lil mike & his bros with fros really made a print on my mind regarding how unique black beauty is. not to mention he’s hands DOWN the cutest lookin’ child star to ever be (IMO).

    ok, done with the rant. my answers:

    1) 1st song i remember? ABC but as solo artist, smooth criminal

    2) fav MJ song? remember the time

    3) funniest MJ moment? bubbles…i still don’t know what that was about

    4) for me MJ will be the icon that he was destined to be. he’ll be the man who was robbed of his childhood only to still fulfill his destiny. i’m just glad he didn’t cheat himself and still realized his potential….not 2 mention the video for ‘thriller’ is absolute HOTNESS!

    5) CNN confirmation needed? imma chalk it up to the 4ever sexy salt-n-pepper anderson cooper and my saturday cup of coffee TJ Holmes *licking druel off my lip*

    • “…. my saturday cup of coffee TJ Holmes *licking druel off my lip* ….”

      Gross. lol.

      • natural nubian

        i’m just sayin’ damon. i’ll never forget i turned on the news one sat morning and stopped dead in my living room ’cause i couldn’t believe what my eyes saw. i kept turning it on every saturday after that ’cause i really thought TJ was just a sub for another head anchor who was off for the day. he makes me wish i never dropped that communications class in undergrad 😦

        • I truly thought I was the only one that lusted after that fine delectable drop of caramel deliciousness. That man is beautiful, the messed up thing about him though is he reminds me of an ex that was the worst event to ever happen to me… 😦

  25. 1. I have no idea.

    2. It’s like Lays- can’t just have one. They are all so different and remind me of different stages in my life. There is no definitive MJ song to me.

    3. That terrible movie about them(I think it’s called Jacksons: The American Dream). It’s seems to come on VH1 every other weekend. In fact I watched it twice last weekend. The acting, makeup, wardrobe is horribly funny.

    4. He’s the greatest!

    5. I checked with other news outlets but CNN was the only one that wouldn’t confirm until they spoke to the LA coroner. That’s what I was waiting on. Other outlets didn’t seem to check the facts and kept saying that no one would confrm.

  26. 1. What’s the first Michael Jackson song your remember hearing? Didn’t listen to secular music a lot as a kid but it would probably be “Beat It” – I remember watching it with my family and laughing at Weird Al

    2. What is your favorite Michael Jackson song? Rock Wit U…it’s just magical…takes me to a happy place…

    3. What’s the funniest thing you remember happening to Michael? Him portrayed in “The Jacksons: The American Dream” as throwing a shoe at Joseph…

    4. How will you remember Michael Jackson? As the best entertainer that ever lived, hands down, PERIOD.

    5. OK, one random: Why do you think people need CNN to confirm the news before they believe it? Because CNN is “the most trusted name in news.” FOX is salacious and MSNBC seems out to lunch. I kept getting text messages that he had passed and I was like, “nope, not true. He’s just in the hospital. I’m watching the news [CNN] right now.” Then when CNN confirmed it, my heart just dropped…

  27. 1) Billie Jean was my first MJ song i heard.. the funny part is, it’s been my mothers nickname before the song came out.. i got teased about it lol

    2) It’s hard to name one song but if i had to, Man in The Mirror.. the lyrics make me misty eyed even to this day.. nuff said

    3) the funniest thing about MJ is he always had a video where he played thug (i.e. bad, moonwalker, way you make me feel, etc.) but he was far from it. it is funny to see those videos and think, seriously mike you ain’t gon beat up nobody dancing and ish 🙂 Plus i was a fan of the spoofs on variety shows from living color to saturday night live

    4) he defies definition in my eyes.. he was more than the lil kid with the golden voice and bigger charisma than any room could fit, he was more than the spin around, moonwalking, crotch grab king of pop.. he was more than his 750 million albums sold worldwide.. he was more than a humanitarian.. he was more than man.. but less than god.. HE WAS MUSIC ETERNAL

    5) i just didn’t want believe it…

  28. Aman Reaka (bkmhoxx)

    1. ABC-123 but i was young, so for me it was BAD that grabbed me and pulled me in.

    2. PYT closely followed by Man in the Mirror.

    3. Without a doubt it had to be the “breakdance fights”! Awesome but yet so dumb all at once.

    4. An absolutely amazing entertainer/dancer/singer that will never be challenged as being the best ever. Along with being a very disturbed soul with a wide array of mental and physical issues. A true professional ON STAGE and a serious mental case, when not performing.
    Its not funny but thoroughly backed up my thought of his “going off the deep end”, is when he dangled his kid over the railing. It was so odd and unnatural. Almost disturbing.

    5. CNN has been the leader in news coverage for many many years. It may not be good anymore but its an icon for news. People go to what they know and can rely on and they draw from past experiences. CNN has marketed themselves better than the rest. I hate CNN and FOX with a passion but cable tv doesnt have a ton of options.

  29. Slightly off topic but on a related note, I love how radio stations & fans are playing & listing some of his less popular songs and songs that sampled MJ or J5.

    Top 10 list of hip hop songs that sampled Michael Jackson or Jackson 5 (from Shade 45)

    10) Big Pun: You Ain’t a Killer (“With A Child’s Heart);
    9) LL Cool J: Hey Lover (“Lady In My Life”);
    8) De La Soul: Breakadawn (“I Can’t Help It”);
    7) Ghostface: All That I Got Is You (“Maybe Tomorrow”);
    6) JayZ: Izzo (“I Want You Back”);
    5) Kanye West: Good Life (“PYT”);
    4)Puff Daddy: All About the Benjamins (“It’s Great To Be Here”);
    3)Kriss Kross: Jump (“I Want You Back”);
    2)Nas: It Ain’t Hard To Tell (“Human Nature”);
    1)Naughty By Nature: OPP (“ABC”)

    from a friend on Facebook (some are duplicates)
    (1) Rihanna’s “Don’t Stop The Music,”
    (2) SWV’s “Right Here,”
    (3) LL Cool J & Boyz II Men’s “Hey Lover,”
    (4) MC Lyte & Xscape’s “Keep On, Keepin’ On,”
    (5) Mase, 112, & Jay-Z’s “Cheat On You,” and
    (6) Will Smith’s “Can You Feel Me.”
    (7) Lord Tariq & Peter Gunz: “Startin’ Something”
    (8) Alien Ant Farm: “Smooth Criminal” (even though that’s not hip-hop or R&B)
    (9) 2Pac’s “Letter 2 My Unborn” sampling “Liberian Girl.”

  30. 1. What’s the first Michael Jackson song your remember hearing?
    **Probably Wanna Be Startin’ Somethin'” **

    2. What is your favorite Michael Jackson song?
    **”Don’t Stop Till You Get Enough”**

    3. What’s the funniest thing you remember happening to Michael?
    **The Pepsi rehearsal incident when he burned his hair…my brother and cousin’s used to re-enact it (from the Jackson Story Movie) on my Grandma’s basement steps…I still crack up thinking about it.**

    4. How will you remember Michael Jackson?
    **My first concert; every dance sequence; the glove; the memories with my family; his timeless music; “hee hee”; the mini-movie videos; the love for children; the love for doing right by others; and of course…the moonwalk. **

    5. OK, one random: Why do you think people need CNN to confirm the news before they believe it?

    The reason that I trusted CNN is because they never let me down; and in this case, I can honestly say that I didn’t want it to be true. I wanted to hear that he was in critical condition, and there was hope. It had nothing to do with who reported it first, or who was right…I just wasn’t ready to face the inevitable…that the King of Pop, and the greatest entertainment of our lifetime had passed away…

    Also, I respected CNN for posting that the LA Times had confirmed the death…but stood by their own standards and stayed unconfirmed.

    “…just another part of me.”

    ciao!

    • **The Pepsi rehearsal incident when he burned his hair…my brother and cousin’s used to re-enact it (from the Jackson Story Movie) on my Grandma’s basement steps…I still crack up thinking about it.**

      Mal, that’s pretty damn funny. That’s almost like reenacting some wrestling maneuvers. lol.

  31. 1. What’s the first Michael Jackson song your remember hearing?

    I don’t remember. It had to be something during the early 90s when I was around 5 or 6 years old.

    2. What is your favorite Michael Jackson song?

    P.Y.T.

    3. What’s the funniest thing you remember happening to Michael?

    I don’t remember anything funny that HAPPENED to him, but I thought it was funny when he was beatboxing and singing with Oprah.

    4. How will you remember Michael Jackson?

    As the ultimate musical entertainer to ever walk this earth.

    5. OK, one random: Why do you think people need CNN to confirm the news before they believe it?

    Because they are one of the most credible news sources out there. I like them above all other news outlets besides my local news station.

  32. Wait, wait…so the black man who wanted to be a white woman while [X-rated coonery from Mr. Corey deleted] little boys to stolen Beatles songs ISN’T a “coon”?

    Lol, I love psuedo intellectual, self-righteous negroes. They are great comedy.

    • why you wanna be startin somethin?

      • @Coco: Just leave it alone. His comment was unnecessary & disrepsectful.

      • Michael Jackson was a genius. Perhaps the greatest performer of our time.

        But despite his talents, philanthropy and all-around brilliance, there was always some small section of uneducated, self-righteous assholes that wanted to call him a “coo” because of his choice in facial reconstruction, acquaintences and all-around weirdness.

        Although he’s exponentally more talented, many people saw his antics on par with what Soulja Boy does today.

        These people don’t think. They don’t offer analytical discourse, they just blurt out whatevever pro-black nationalistic term they learned from their Sunday morning church service, while standing, wobbly, on their soap box.

        If you choose to use one of the ugliest epitaths to describe our people without doing any real or imaginative pontification, then fine. But you don’t get to grieve when one of them dies.

        I stood by Michael through thick and thin, through the accusations, through the nose jobs, through the white women, through it all…

        Even while brain-dead, cultural ignorants like the ones on this site, called him a “coon” or an “uncle tom.”

        I stood by him because I loved him, his music, and because he was my brother. It is for that reason I stand by 50 Cent, Soulja Boy and whoever is thrust in the mainstream’s fish-eyed lense of fame.

        I do so, because I know when they die, I want to be able to say I was consistent.

        Otherwise, I don’t believe one should have the right to mourn.

        So Coon on Porchmonkeys
        (was that black enough, I can never tell?)

        Oh and P.S. Bill “Bojangles” Robinson was a fuckin’ genius faggots.

      • @Coco: After telling you to “just leave it alone”, I felt compelled after several more comments from him to respond myself…I should have taken my own advice.

    • Dear Mr. Corey,

      There is a bus somewhere in the city you reside in with a bull’s eye waiting for you to step in front of it.

      I’m not saying that I hope that you do step in front of it. But for what you just typed, I hope you know that there’s one lurking around for you.

      Sincerely,

      a pseudo intellectual, self-righteous negro who knows he’s not that smart, that righteous or funny.

      P.S. You shouldn’t call someone a psuedo-intellectual and post a link to your MySpace page as your Web site. It makes you look like a hypocrite. “I’m just sayin!”

      • Oh, my bad, I tried to post without it, but for some reason the site wouldn’t let me.

        Must be the fact that coons made it.

        LOLZLEz.

        I also would be remiss to post and not provide info on myself so you people could respond in kind. I can’t imagine how you would do so if you didn’t know what race I was:

        Argument Plan: If he be white then I can call him a racist, but if he’s black, I can call him a coon.

        I figure I’d save your ass a couple of hours of forehead furrowing stress, lol.

        • @Richard Corey

          ?????????????????????????????

          Why all the negativity? Someone just died and you are being disrespectful on so many levels. Good grief…

    • Wait, wait…so the black man who wanted to be a white woman while [X-rated coonery from Mr. Corey deleted] little boys to stolen Beatles songs ISN’T a “coon”?

      Lol, I love psuedo intellectual, self-righteous negroes. They are great comedy.
      ^^^^^^^

      ugh, I hate censorship. But you know how us Coons are, always shootin’ off at de mouf!

      So let me just brea this down in the good Massa’s English speak:

      So the African-American male who wanted to be a Caucasian woman while mutually masterbating underage male children to pilfered Beatles songs IS NOT a “coon,” sir?

      What what? Cheerio and all that rot.

      Is that whit…I mean right?
      Us Coon can never tell…

      • @DICK:

        If you took a moment to read, you’d notice that there is minimal cursing on this blog and in the comments for a reason.

        High school students read this. Be mindful and respectful. Something you’re clearly not. Enjoy the censorship and moderation.

        • LOL…Yet you say Coon?

          COON?!

          So you have no problem with having black High School students calling other black people coons? That’s cool with you?

          Oh, the power and underlying hypocracy of linguistic perception.

          I bet the n-word is forbidden here, yet a perfectly good synonym like “Coon” is fine. One word is taboo, but because of the inherent ignorance of the other, it’s perfectly fine. In fact, you teach children to use it, to be biased and self-loathing.

          Taking hatred and packaging it in a nice, unassuming wrapper, then giving it away to future generations with clean hands and conscience: the negro way? Brilliant.

          I applaud you Dame.

          For too long blacks have been trying in vain to understand and/or tolerate each other. After 100s of years of being bred to hate ourselves, there were whispers that the old ways of cultural cringe were vanishing as blacks became less and less self-conscious about ourselves. But thanks to decent, civic-minded negroes like yourself, we will forever be mired in the muck of inner conflict and regression.

          The Coon Acadamy is says Bravo…

          • Dick,

            I clearly call them like I see them. Well, actually, Richard is your name.

            If I felt so led, I’d use the n-word here. It’s a far, far, far more powerful term than coon or Bojangles.

            But to each his own. You see it as a synonym for the n-word. I don’t. We have different definitions. That’s life.

            But if you think this is really about hating and peddling my self hate of my own people, you need to do yourself and all of us a ginormous favor or two:

            Go back and read what this blog is really about … OR STOP COMMENTING, and go read something else.

            Still waiting for this damn filter to kick in,

            Dame

            • Filter broken?

              Yep….them darn coons again…

              • alright, let me stop.

                Because if you’re best argument is
                “Hey, diff’rent strokes for diff’rent folks”

                Then you’re kinda proving correct my theory that you’re unable to intellectually analyze an issue without regressing to cliche.

                And I’m sure you have better things to do today besides make me look smart, so….

                • @RC

                  I believe Damon is pressing the point that his blog’s recent references to ‘coons’ has a valid argument to back it up and he can’t help it if that argument offends certain people as all of us are ‘different’ hence the idea of ‘different strokes for different folks’. It’s very obvious that you are in the mood to rant and throw out insults at people so his time and sweat would be wasted in attempting to reason with or argue a point with you. Honestly, I think you’d make him appear less smart.

              • @RC:

                Since you’ve established that “coon” is an offensive word, why do you keep using it? It doesn’t enhance your points.

                If you don’t think there should be tributes & homage paid to MJ…fine; as you already know you’re free to think as you please but you can state your opinion w/o the offensive tone found in your comments, especially now that you know students read this blog.

                I’m sure there are plenty of blogs that subscribe to your train of thought and are posting and commenting in a similar fashion; why don’t you read and comment on those blogs instead?

  33. Man, real talk, I’m having a hard time blogging today. I really really am heartfully upset over his passing. I can’t even bring myself to realize the absolution of it all. It’s hard to talk about him in the past tense. Every single time I see ‘Michael Jackson Dies’ or something similar to that, it breaks my heart and hurts me all over again. My fiance said that Mike was like that cousin who we all thought was so cool growing up, but when we grew up we realized that he was different and eccentric so we cracked on him and constantly threw joans out and didn’t hang out with him as much, but still no one else could talk trash about him but ‘us’…lol. And now he’s gone and all of us are feeling the pain. I have a sadness in my spirit today that just won’t go away.

    • “I have a sadness in my spirit today that just won’t go away.”

      @jlbd: I share your pain. It is very sad & shocking. His music, videos & dances were such a big part of our childhood/entire lives. Nostalgia is soothing in difficult times but nostalgia also stirs up a lot of emotions.

  34. Lovely Paradox

    Love the (not so random) FRQs:

    1. ’cause this is Thriller! My slightly older cousin (2 years apart) had just received his red jacket and mesh gloves and was pouring some crazy concoction in his hair for it to curl… We were all but 5 and 7… And we tried to master the moves on the video that we had taped over somebody’s movie or some such… The moment is ever more vivid because I lost my uncle who indulged our Michael’s fandom too soon as well… Ok, let me stop.

    2. Liberian Girl. I love the changes of pace, the crying guitars, and as a girl whose country is right next to Liberia, it’s the closest I can get to be shouted out by a Pop Icon… 🙂

    3. I remember the first time he visited my hometown. The first thing he did when he stepped out of the plance was pinch his nose… It was more tragic than funny and helluva a lot of people were offended by the gesture… I was peeved and amused all at once (because it did smell funky around those parts at some point)

    4. I have all his albums but Invincible… I’ll keep playing him during dinner parties, and while housecleaning on saturdays… I’ll also keep Liberian Girl as one of my fave songs to strip to

    5. Have you heard of the Jewish Mafia? They are good! :)… It’s just the same with any brands… You trust the brand you believe in most. So CNN is the go-to brand for News.

    • @LP: One of my favorite songs from him is on the Invincible album…”Butterflies”. I love Floetry’s version too but gotta love MJ’s version. So good.

    • ” I’ll also keep Liberian Girl as one of my fave songs to strip to”

      @LP: You are a mess for this…lol.

  35. I just wanted to change my funniest moment memory..

    it is when they were showing the behind the scenes of “we are the world” and trying to find decide what to add in a certain spot and Mike was like i got it it should go.. ‘we are the world, sha la la” we are the world sha la la lin gay”……LMAO

  36. 1. What’s the first Michael Jackson song your remember hearing?

    Dang I barely remember what I had for luch yesterday, let alone first MJ song I heard. I will go with… “Billie Jean”

    2. What is your favorite Michael Jackson song?

    You playing bald-headed games. How can I pick a favorite? I’m a sucka for ballads though. “Heal the World” is my ISH.

    3. What’s the funniest thing you remember happening to Michael?

    Umm his medula oblongata lighting up because his hair was too flammable was tragic but slightly amusing. Lawd, please forgive me.

    4. How will you remember Michael Jackson?

    As an icon. The legend behind a world-changing music.

    5. OK, one random: Why do you think people need CNN to confirm the news before they believe it?

    Because they are stuck in thinking traditional media is the only reliable source. Times are changing. The media landscape is evolving I no longer look to only CNN to give me my news.

  37. I’ve been lurking your site for a hot min. Never got a real chance to comment, though. Love our blog…its whole concept is cool. Oh, and I had to comment because I love making lists and filling out surveys.

    1. I really wish I did remember. This seems so significant to me now that you asked. Like, I feel incomplete because I don’t have this memory. Hmm. It was more than likely Beat It.

    2. Billie Jean

    3. When MTV gave him that award for his birthday and he mistakenly thought it was a lifetime achievement award or something like that. And that wasn’t even the funniest to me…it was his entrance. He bumped into the doorway…it was awkwardly hilarious. I cracked up for a good 5 min.

    4. As a slick and smooth dancer, an angelic singer, a soft-spoken sweetheart, a rock star, a pop star, a humanitarian and of course…the epitome of good music. A legend.

    5. Well, specifically pointing out deaths, there are too many hoaxes going around (*coughJeffGoldblumcough*) for me to take the first news source (TMZ of all folks) without a grain of salt. I actually believed it when I saw it on E! News though. And well, like others said, I was in a state of denial. Hell, I even denied it when I read the headline on CNN. And well, CNN may be overhyped, but they are good. They’re not the end all be all, but SOMEone has to be named the best. And most people think CNN is.

Leave a Reply

