XVIII. Dr. Ian Smith

Ed’s Note: As Monica said in last week’s FRQs, this week is dedicated to weight. Cicely’s up first with a letter to Dr. Ian.

Dear Dr. Ian,

Hi. How are you? I hope all is well.

Things are getting better and better for me — on the weight-loss front, that is. Thanks to you.

Yum ...

Yum ...

I just wanted to let you know that I think you’re an outstanding individual. Your goal isn’t to get people thin; it’s to get people healthy.

You’re working to help fat, lazy, shiftless America lose 50 million pounds! That’s incredible. And, because you know how fat, lazy, shiftless Americans can be, you’re being nothing but patient. You didn’t expect it to happen in a year, but you’re always impressed by how far you’ve come in just over two years (more than 4 million pounds lost and counting).

Two years ago, I’d have rather shot myself in the foot than work out and diet. I had excuses galore when it came to avoiding the gym: I don’t like to sweat. I don’t like what it means as far as my hair (read: three-hour grooming session). I don’t like how I smell afterward (see: my dislikes in about us). Plus, watching you from my couch is far more comfortable than any gym with a bunch of sweaty, smelly strangers.

But I had to get over those hang ups.

These were all things that, in the end, meant nothing when I looked at myself in the mirror. No, there was no real turning point. There was no intervention. I just decided that I needed a change. So I started working out. But I didn’t see any immediate results. It might have been because of my unshakable love for pasta and cheese. Giving those up was not an option.

Me, 30 pounds later in April.

Me, 30 pounds later in April.

At some point, a friend told me about your book, Extreme Fat Smash Diet. Again, I don’t like diets, but this was something I could do. Besides the brown rice, the diet included everything I already ate. When you combine your recipes and the ones in the American Heart Association cookbook with the ridiculous amount of cardio I do, you can see the results. I’ve lost 30 pounds, and I’m still shedding weight.

So, I just want to say thank you. You never said it would be easy, and it hasn’t been.

But you helped lead a self-confessed lazy bum off her bum. Your program got me to do something positive about my health. One of my favorite quotes is “We must be the change we want to see in the world.” I’ve changed the way I approach my health, and that is because of you.

Nearing my goal,

Cicely

P.S. I think you’re dreamy. There’s a suave confidence about you that is magnetic. Keep that up. 😉

Question: Have you ever tried any infamously famous diets? Did they work?

38 responses to “XVIII. Dr. Ian Smith

  1. First of all, congratulations on your weight loss! I really wish more people, especially black women, would put more effort into being healthy.

    I have never been too far away from my ideal weight and I am currently that dreaded last 5-10 lbs away which is always the hardest to get rid of. I’m doing the P90X workout and trying to eat healthier. I can’t seem to stay away from the pasta and cheese either…

    In the past I tried the Atkins diet but started having the shakes after 4 days of practically no carbs which led to a binge of Krispy Kreme doughnuts. Needless to say, I’m not a fan of that diet at all. I’m now in the mindset of changing my eating habits forever instead of attempting any sort of “diet”.

    • @Tam

      Thank you. It’s really hard finding a program that works for you and what you like to eat. And the Fat Smash cookbook was light on the cheese and pasta, which is why I started using the American Heart Association cookbook. It’s got some pretty good recipes in it.

  2. Congratulations girl. U look fabulous.

    I’ve purchased books and dvds and none of them have worked.. I have no willpower. My hangups match yours, the hair thing and not wanting to sweat. PLUS, I have a love affair with sugar that won’t quit. I seriously get the shakes when I don’t have it.

    Ultimately, I think I need a magical pill.

  3. Morning, y’all!

    @Cicely: Congratulations on your weight loss! You look great! I’m excited for this week of letters dedicated to healthier lifestyles, fitness & weight loss.

    My husband & I did the Daniel’s Fast for 45 days during Lent this year. Although it isn’t a diet, it is a lifestyle change and we both lost a good amount of weight & we used that as our jump start to stay motivated to keep losing the weight.

    We joined a new gym (we were at Bally’s & it closed), started eating healthier and allow ourselves days off on the weekend. On our days off we eat what we enjoy but we don’t go overboard & still watch portion size. Our gym has a yoga class that we attend (& really enjoy & recommend) & our church has a run/walk club during the summer that meets each Saturday which we joined as well.

    It seems like a lot all at once but it’s been a gradual lifestyle change that started during Lent. We’re just trying to eat healthier (more water, fruits & veggies) & be a LOT more active because my husband & I used to get caught up a lot sitting around (on the computer, playing xbox, watching TV, going out to dinner with our friends, etc.)

    • @ Shawnta’

      Thanks. I’m one of those rare individuals that really can’t stand working out with other people. I sweat so hard that it looks like someone poured a bucket over my head. I just don’t want to expose that to people I know. But working out with friends and family has been great for my friends. I tip my hat to anyone that does that.

  4. Cicely,

    Congrats on your progress. That’s awesome. I have always liked Dr. Ian, he truly seems like someone that genuinely cares about healing his patients instead of doping them up and you can tell he cares about people’s overall well-being. I remember when he was on the Tyra show a few years back and he, with two other diet ‘experts’ all battled against each other to see who’s subjects would lose the most weight. One woman had a calorie counting system, the other lady had a system of eating only raw foods and Ian had his plan. Well, needless to say, the women on Dr. Ian’s plan lost the most weight and enjoyed their process the most. He really knows what he’s doing and I love him on Celebrity Fit Club…

    • @jlbd

      When I watched Celebrity Fit Club a while ago, I liked that his weight-loss goals weren’t some ridiculous amount in a short amount of time. These were people with lives and no one has time to work out 10 hours a day (a la Biggest Loser). Plus, he’s ridiculously cute 🙂

      • He is cute and he’s a doctor (wink), but he gives off a certain zesty vibe to me….*shrugs shoulders*

        • @JLBD: you can say it. Dude has the angry black man vibe working.

          • Is that your way of calling him fruit? If so, then yes, I’ll say it… Dude is sweeter than a pack of jolly ranchers and life savers…

            • Is he? I don’t pay attention to him that much. I just think he always seems angry to me. For real. Guess I don’t pay that much attention to him … *shrugs*

              • again, maybe it’s just me… *shrugs shoulders again*

                • future mrs. brown

                  His twin is supposedly the gay one. The rumor was that he was always seen with a football player. Ian looks better than his twin by the way.

                  • Wow, I’m glad you said that. I did not know he had a twin and that explains alot…. ok Dr. Ian, your zestiness will be overlooked until further notice…

  5. natural nubian

    your quote under his pic sums up my feelings about him exactly. absolutely delicious 😀

    congrats on your progress. weight loss is no joke, especially for women. definitely keep it up and i’m sure you’re feeling great also. very happy for u!

  6. @cicely: Congrats, congrats, congrats … You know I’d support you if you decided that you wanted to go sky diving off the moon. So I’m happy that you’ve pursued your goal and are nearing it …

    That’s awesome. But yeah, you used an exclamation mark. smh …

  7. future mrs. brown

    You go girl! I am impressed by your commitment to working out. I’m back in the gym myself. Trying to lose that little bit of extra b/4 my first fitting!

  8. Congrats on the weight loss. I think your achievements should be inspiration to all. I’m doing my own weight lsoss thing and I think I am going to look into the book that you bought. I recently loss 60 lbs, but the last 20 that I want to shake is killing me. (I wasnt obese or anything, I played defensive tackle at a division 1 school and was cut from the NFL. I was 6’1, 330lbs) I think I may need to increase the cardio, but I truly deep down in my soul despise running.

    • “but I truly deep down in my soul despise running.”

      @peyso: Dude, I’d rather run for some strange reason. Just so long as I’m not running suicides or thumpers (running up and down hills with a baseball bat or two above your head).

      • I think that as a former athlete, running became the bain of my existence b/c it was damn near torture and often used as punishment; what we’ll do to go to school for free

    • I hear you on the running thing. I HATED running for such a long time. Now, I can tolerate it better than I used to. Plus, I think the time goes by faster. But, as far as I know, cardio is the fastest way to slim down.

    • @Peyso: Just get out there and run and you might learn to love it. Having a great playlist to run along to definitely makes it go by faster and easier. I’ve been running since I was young so I may be a little bias but running is one of my favorite ways to exercise. I’m starting to like cycling more though…..

      • I do think that I may need to revamp the playlist. The stuff that gets you hype for a game or for a gym may not work for running. I’ve been running but it is definitely THE WORST part of my day

  9. I haven’t read his book yet, but I plan on it…Dr. Ian is fine, fit and fine (yes, fine twice).

  10. Congratulations!

    Btw, I love Dr. Smith… LOVE-LOVE-LOVE.

    My mother has a degree in nutrition and looks 20 years her junior (no ish, man… no ish)

    Meanwhile there’s me — let’s just say I didn’t make it a priority to listen to all my mother had to say regarding my eating habits.

    But this is changing and changing now. Better eating habits plus working out.

  11. Off topic but I personally know about three people who have done the South Beach Diet and have lost a significant amount of weight and have kept it off. It’s one of those diets that is not hard to do and if you maintain discipline you will start to see the weight literally fall off. I had a co-worker who was a very very large man and he decided to make a lifestyle change and avoided those foods that kept you fat. He lost about 100 lbs in 6 months. NOT KIDDING. Cicely, besides you I have not seen any first hand results from Dr. Ian’s diet but like all diets, with discipline the weight can be gone and stay gone…lol

    • Very true. I was describing the diet to this guy at work and he told me, “It sounds like you’re just eating right and exercising.” That’s pretty much what it is. But it’s all about what you think you can handle.

  12. Congrats on the weight loss. I tried South Beach before. I liked it b/c unlike Atkins and other low carb diets it foucses on eating lean meats, a lot of vegetables and eventually fruit., and reducing fat intake as well. I lost about 40 pounds in a little under 5 months. I went from a 14/16 to a 6/8.

    I miss that body. It took about 5 years for me to gain all my weight back. I got extremely lazy when it came to exercise. I used to my job as an excuse.

    This month I am back on my plan and I am exercising at least an hour a day 5/6 days a week.

Leave a Reply

