XXI. Richard Jefferson

Ed’s Note: I’m saving the FRQs for next week. This Richard Jefferson topic is boiling like it’s the mid-90s and I just hit three straight threes in the video game NBA Jam, i.e. writing the following letter was like shooting into the Atlantic.

Dear Richard,

I know you’re going through a lot right now. But my dude, I’m smh’ing at you at 110 miles per hour. You had the perfect opportunity to keep your mouth shut and fall back. Yet, you decided to open your faucet like you covet the idea of joining Gov. Mark Sanford on the All-American Muzzle Team. But you chose to insert your left foot in your mouth as if you’d recently purchased Marilyn Manson’s alleged flexibility.

Richard and the young lady he e-mailed.

Richard and the young lady whose walking papers he e-mailed.

Excuse me for being selfish for a moment. I’ve been waiting for a story like this since the real life Runaway Bride went missing in 2005. See, a part of me wants to attend a wedding — of two people I don’t know that well — where everything falls apart like it does in film and on the small screen. I know that’s wrong, but it’s true.

They say art imitates life, right? Well your saga is about as close as we’ve come to The Fresh Prince & Lisa failing to jump the broom since … well, since 2005. That said, I wish you would have kept your mouth shut, and let me have this moment.

You should have been happy knowing the actual truth, and left the rest of us to chuckle at the fodder. I didn’t want to handle the truth. I prefer the “left at the alter” story people keep relaying, although it made little sense because the word is altar.

But no. You had to alter the story, and make everything right with the people who were scolding your good name. You couldn’t let the stellar work of the people at The New York Post be great©, could you? You had to make sure we heard your side of the story as you simultaneously went all Karrine Steffans on your own fungus-infested left big toe.

Doesn’t sound too good, huh? I bet you’d rather have 84 deep-fried Twinkies. Well that’s about how brilliant it sounds when you admit that you ended your engagement a week before the wedding via e-mail because you wanted to “organize your thoughts.” You can’t clown like this. George Jefferson is not your father.

I’ll admit it. I’m good for sending elongated e-mails and letters to people who cross me in a few circumstances: 1) On this blog daily (you should read it); 2) If I can’t get you on the phone in a timely manner; 3) If I’m so enraged that every other word out of my mouth will almost sound like the acronym for French Connection U.K.

That's right, Richard. Start praying and hoping that your ex doesn't sell that altar-altering e-mail to the NY Post or TMZ.

That's right, Richard. Start praying and hoping that your ex doesn't sell that altar-altering e-mail to the NY Post or TMZ.

But I will never break up with someone — especially my fianceé — via e-mail. That doesn’t belong in some rulebook. It’s common sense. For your actions, even 8-year-old Riley Freeman would tell you “that’s a [female dog, buuuuuttt] move, Santa Richard Jefferson.”

I doubt Maxwell played “Pretty Wings” for the girl, then had the break up conversation with her. Somehow, you missed the mental memo.

Instead, someone advised you — or you decided yourself — that telling the world you gave her a cash parting gift (your last name isn’t Sajak) you didn’t owe her would make up for leaving her a week away from the altar ending your engagement via e-mail.

But you pulled a Sex & The City double whammy (Still, No E. Lynn). The Post made the world think Big (You) broke up with Carrie (your fianceé) a few hours away from the altar and left all your friends to kick it on your black card. All untrue, according to you. But you took it a step further and let us know that you (Berger) broke up with your fianceé (Carrie) via an electronic Post-It. Again, No E. Lynn. I watch good television.

Now, I have no problem with you catching cold feet and getting out before you did something stupid. I commend you for getting out of the relationship. But you did something questionable to end it. That’s the only real problem here. Everything else makes sense.

Now, I only have a few suggestions for you. Do not call Al Sharpton. Fire your public relations handler as soon as you finish reading this. No sane PR person would have let you say anything about the e-mail. Also, dismiss your best man. If anyone should have known better, he should have.

Finally, the next time you decide you want to get married, do me a favor: Send me an e-mail and ask me to stand behind you. I’ll coach you through it all. I’ll be your wedding-day ZenMaster for the same fee you just paid your now ex-bride-to-be/best friend. I guarantee that you will not score another wedding day DNP.

Sincerely,

Damon

P.S. If she accepted your proposal via e-mail, you can forgive this entire letter, save the left at the altar part.
P.P.S. Jefferson explains his side of the story on Dan Patrick’s radio show.

Tweet this. or share it on Facebook.

60 responses to “XXI. Richard Jefferson

  1. Oh snap..i gotta get my jerk chicken on and then read this.

  2. Ridiculousness!

    Ladies (and gents I guess…) would you take the money and run or not take it out of pride and snitch?

    • “Ladies (and gents I guess…) would you take the money and run or not take it out of pride and snitch?”

      @Felicia: Good question. I definitely wouldn’t snitch but I’m not sure whether I’d take the money. Sometimes I have too much pride and I’m not sure my pride would let me take his ‘peace offering’ or ‘parting gift’. Regardless of whether I took the money or not, I would just want it all to be over & done with. I wouldn’t hold a press conference & speak to the media on his behalf, I wouldn’t grant an exclusive interview and I wouldn’t write a book about it.

    • natural nubian

      TAKE THE MONEY HONEY!!!
      I GOT MONEY IN DA BANK, SHAWTY WHAT CHA DRANK!!!! CHA CHING =p

    • I’m confused. What is there to snitch on?

      • There’s nothing to snitch on… lol … I think she’s talking about ol’ girl leaking why they broke up, what the argument was about and maybe even the infamous e-mail …

  3. BWAHAHAHAHAHAH!!!

    Pure genius!

    Money= Hush money…b/c word on these here streets is that he’s very much ‘how u doin'(C) Wendy Williams

  4. “I’ve been waiting for a story like this since the real life Runaway Bride went missing in 2005. ”

    ?? im mad you know this..let me google after i finish.

    “You can’t clown like this. George Jefferson is not your father.

    I quit you!!!!! LOL…

    I agree with this letter..its a coward’s move..but men have been known to pull stupid shyt in the 11th hour.

    hell women too..i’ve broken up with someone via email once..but i was mentally very young. And my karma would come two years later.

    For his fiance..I;m sorry a woman knows dayum well when a man’s committment is waning. In the back of my mind, I question her judgement for letting it get this far. maybe thats how she planned it in some weird way, sympathy while she wallows.

    fyck that

    • @comeback: I seriously hope she didn’t know, although she could have. But to publicly admit that you broke up with your fiancee via e-mail knowing those words will be plastered all over these here internets is one of the dumbest PR moves of this century.

      • thecomebackgirl

        D-money…

        COME ON??? NOW…I knew when my bf would rather hang in the house than go out on the town on the weekends..

        you mean to tell me she couldn’t have known..i gotta call bullshyt. i think she spent the later part of the wedding planning trying to change his mind. But i would def. be able to peep disinterest. ESP in getting married.

        • @comeback: i said “I hope.” You and I are on the same wave length here. I believe she could have known what was up to some degree. Kinda like Carrie & Big, and some other recent situation I won’t mention.

          I said “hope” because I would hope that she wouldn’t be willing to go through with it if she could see the signs. But hey … you know. People do what they do, right?

          He was wise to get out if it wasn’t right. But you do not exit stage left of an engagement by sending an e-mail. That makes no sense.

        • I’m cosigning thecomebackgirl

          As a woman with female friends, I am here to enlighten the (male) masses.

          WE. BE. KNOWING.

          Now, we may not realize how thoroughly we know stuff. How thoroughly we know our boyfriend ain’t all the way straight live, or how thoroughly we know he doesn’t truly want to be here, with us, or how thoroughly we know his cheatin self is gonna keep cheatin’ but WE KNOW.

          Now, she is not more blameworthy than he. We all must be responsible for self, but I bet she had an inkling. Otherwise an e-mail followed by a phone call would not have been enough to shut this wedding down.

          You mean to tell me that after months (maybe years) of planning a wedding all he had to do was draft an e-mail and make a phone call and she walked away? No, sir. Few women would; MANY of us (even those of us who would here on these internets deny it) would fight, fight, and fight some more. Screaming how much this means to our mamas and grandmamas; How this will be the first family event for Cousin Pookie since he got out the slammer; how embarrassing it will be to have to admit that we can’t keep a man either the relationship is over. Those types of fights take longer than an e-mail and a phone call. They’d been long fighting and while he’s making it seem like they had just been fighting, that makes no sense. If I’m in a relationship with someone and we don’t have anything more than the regular scuffles but suddenly we have a huge fight, I’m not going to think that means the relationship needs to be over; however, if “huge fighting” has become the norm than maybe I will.

          All of that rambling is to say this:
          She knew
          He knew
          They just took a real long time to know together.

          • “She knew
            He knew
            They just took a real long time to know together.”

            lol … and this belongs in a TMCY comment and not a break up e-mail to your fiancee. lol.

            BTW, that “(male) masses” bit had me in stitches …

    • “For his fiance..I;m sorry a woman knows dayum well when a man’s committment is waning. In the back of my mind, I question her judgement for letting it get this far. maybe thats how she planned it in some weird way, sympathy while she wallows.”

      @cbg: I agree with this. I think people in general know when something is off, not quite right, or just not the same anymore.

      How can you not know if someone is falling out of love with you, has feelings for someone else or just isn’t ‘the same’ anymore?

      How can you not know if you’re no longer on the same page as your mate? Or the two of you are growing in separate directions.

      I don’t think these things ‘just happen’ overnight. There’s probably some sort of inidication. Even if it’s only a very small indication, if you’re paying attention to your mate and your relationship, you most likely won’t miss it.

      I only had a few boyfriends before meeting my husband and with them, I always knew when it was nearing its end, it was just a matter of who was going to say something about it first and put us both out of our misery. Maybe that’s just me though…

  5. thecomebackgirl

    I’m listening to his audio..he said that he’d discussed breaking up the nuptuials several days before (the monday before). They had a huge fight on July 4th. So she knew.

    In regards to the payoff…It sounds like it came about because of care. She’s been tra la la’in behind his butt for months and months…that cash seems fair. If he kicked her out, and she had to live with her momma and get a job at Wendy’s wouldnt that be a problem for most people?

    [audio src="http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/danpatrick/listenlive.player.html?file=http://ht.cdn.turner.com/si/danpatrick/audio/2009/07/16/DP-Richard_Jefferson-07-16-09_Interview.mp3" /]

    • @comeback: I heard it earlier. RJ still shouldn’t have done it via e-mail, though.

      And although you hate sports, you should stumble upon an hour or two of Dan Patrick at least once a month. It’s great, great stuff.

      • thecomebackgirl

        “RJ still shouldn’t have done it via e-mail, though.

        But I NOW believe they had VERBALLY had the discussion and then he wrote the email to say what he had to say uninterrupted..ive done that before. Why do people want to make him the poster boy for no good men who break off weddings?

        • Richard Jefferson said he sent the e-mail that broke off the engagement and then talked to her for two hours…

          He broke off the engagement via e-mail. Game. Set. Match. lol.

          • I cant agree with you. He sent her the email then called to discuss the email. I have no problems with that. Plus they werent in the same state

  6. eh… i listened to the interview in its entirety. based on what he said, he wrote his thoughts about their situation in an email, and then he had a 2 hour conversation with the girl the next day in which they break up.

    sorry. I’m not mad at the dude. it’s last minute. it hurts, of course. but if he didn’t want to get married, he should not be obligated to to avoid hurting the woman’s feelings. that’s dirty to her and him.

    the money? it was the decent thing to do. if she’s not working and/or has been following behind/living with him, it’s a really nice thing to do to make sure she’s just kicked to the curb now that this is over.

    that said. he should not be talking to the media if he has not spoken to her.

    • @belle: the way he came across in the interview, it seemed like he sent the e-mail first and broke up with her in it … and then called her the next day.

      I’m glad he called her the next day. But that still seems out of pocket to e-mail her first, don’t you think?

      I’m fine with him putting her up for a year or two. But he shouldn’t have mentioned the money on the air at all. Period. That’s not his saving grace. That’s like the guy who lives in Baton Rouge, cut a $million check after Katrina but hasn’t been to NOLA since, but told the hometown paper about his donation.

    • “it’s last minute. it hurts, of course. but if he didn’t want to get married, he should not be obligated to to avoid hurting the woman’s feelings.”

      @Belle: I agree with this. I’d prefer it to be now rather than later.

  7. Morning, y’all. TGIF!

    I’ve only been following this story in bits & pieces, here & there but I have a few thoughts…

    Regarding whether she knew or was surprised:

    I agree w/@cbg that she probably knew or at least had some indication that the wedding may not take place. It doesn’t take much to notice whether someone’s excitement & feelings are waning. A man (or woman) can only hide the ‘doubts’ & second thoughts’ for so long. In the bits & pieces I have seen about this, I haven’t heard anyone refer to her as being jilted & this may be because she had warning or reason to know it was coming. Aren’t jilted women (or men) usually taken by surprise? They had no idea?

    Regarding the email:

    No, this is not the best way to do it. At all. However, I do think it’s better than him allowing her to actually show up for the ceremony w/their family & friends there and then not show up. I would prefer an email to a no-show. Perhaps, he sent the email as confirmation to a discussion they had earlier. Maybe this was the only way he could tell her without being interrupted or persuaded to change his mind. Or maybe he figured this is the only way she would get the point…to see it in ‘writing’, cold, real, undeniable in black & white. I don’t know…

    Regarding getting out now rather than later:

    I agree with you that under no circumstances should he have gone forward with the marriage if he was having doubts of this magnitude. This is very different from pre-wedding or wedding day jitters.

    Regarding the money:

    I think this should be looked at in two parts. One, the fact that he gave (or at least offered) the money and two, the fact that he announced his doing so to the world. #1 If she accepted the money, it seems to me as if she’s moving on with her life. Did I read she’s taking her girlfriends on the honeymoon SATC style? #2 I have no idea why he would announce this. The only things I can think of are a) he knew it would get out anyway, b) he thought people would be ‘okay’ with it & less hard on him knowing she was ‘taken care of’, c) he’s just stupid & didn’t think before speaking. Perhaps he didn’t consult w/his PR rep or perhaps he did & he still said what he wanted to say. A PR rep can’t physically control what comes out of a client’s mouth or d) all of the above. 🙂

    • thecomebackgirl

      “Perhaps he didn’t consult w/his PR rep or perhaps he did & he still said what he wanted to say. A PR rep can’t physically control what comes out of a client’s mouth or d) all of the above. ”

      @ Shawnta..i think its freakin GREAT pr LOL..first, news stories like these ONLY have a shelf life of about 72 hours and then people with their media A.D.D. are on to something elese. I’ve been reading quite a few message boards and so far he’s getting ALOT of sympathy from the men…I mean thats his market anyway who cares about what women think. He ain’t sellin no victoria secret or dove underarm deoderant anytime soon.

      decent pr move…may in fact be brilliant.

      • “decent pr move…may in fact be brilliant.”

        @cbg: I get your point. I couldn’t see why he needed to announce the money offer to the public but I’m sure he has his reasons. Maybe it really is to gain understanding or give people more of the story so people wouldn’t be so hard on him.

        I didn’t realize until I read another blog (Belle’s) that he doesn’t have a PR agent. This explains things a bit more too…glad he’s not paying someone to advise him on PR and then going out and doing the exact opposite.

  8. From what I read he said, “It was a conversation Kesha and I had,” he said, adding only that it was “a combination of things” that led to the split.”

    And that the fiance was not surprised this happened.

    So, I think we need to know the full story before we shoot old Richard down. I can’t get on the bandwagon just yet. Yes it sucks to have an email sent to you re: a breakup, but I’ve too sent a fFINAL email to a man. This is because I tried talking it out and he never listened to me so I needed to tell him everything I had to tell him without hearing any back talk about it. And I just needed to get everything off my chest.

    If she cheated, would we be so quick to jump on him then?

    • thecomebackgirl

      “If she cheated, would we be so quick to jump on him then?”

      hmm..good question.

    • “If she cheated, would we be so quick to jump on him then?”

      @Nicki: Good question. Nope; probably not.

    • I personally think she may have. I’m not one to judge women because I think we ALREADY get judged and labeled enough from men. But this chick is a dancer groupie and we all know that these types of women have aspirations to score a baller (via Kanye’s workout plan) and be able to live it up off their man’s money. We don’t know who she was smashing out, how much of HIS money she had already been spending, etc. I’m not trying to place the blame all on her but there are some serious holes in this story (likely on both ends).

      • “But this chick is a dancer groupie and we all know that these types of women have aspirations to score a baller ”

        I wondered about this myself..but was she a cheerleader like Paula Abdul or a stripper round the (uptown) way like Appalonia..

        • @cbg

          She was a ‘Paula Abdul’ dancer I believe for the Nets. But that doesn’t exclude her from having those groupie aspirations. I knew a couple of Rams cheerleaders here in St. Louis and most of them would jump at the opportunity to score a baller. Not judging just calling things as they are…

    • I doubt she cheated. I’m apt to believe that he wouldn’t have given her a dime had that been the case. For real, I don’t even want to speculate about her possibly cheating or what the fight was about. I kinda just want to take his words at face value.

      If you listen to the interview, he sounds sincere. I’ve spoken with someone who knows him and the NBA well and says he’s one of the best guys in the NBA. So I’m inclined to believe what he said on Dan Patrick’s show.

      My only problem is that he said he broke off the engagement with her via e-mail, then called her… That’s not cool.

      • D..are you related to this chick???

        • LMAO. Damon is going HARD for her.

          But his words are missing something Damon.. we know “something” caused them to get to this point.

          But also, it’s documented that she said she was not surprised this happened. So does this mean she was not suprised about the email or not surpised about the non marriage?

          • “But also, it’s documented that she said she was not surprised this happened. So does this mean she was not suprised about the email or not surpised about the non marriage?”

            @Nicki: Maybe she wasn’t surprised by either, the email or the non marriage. Maybe this is just the sort of thing that she’s come to expect from him…she knows him better than we do.

          • We know something got them this far, true. And that’s something that may never leak. or it might, in the form of that e-mail considering the story broke to the Post. Who knows?

            And true, people often know when break ups are coming. We all see the writing, but we certainly are not expecting it to happen via e-mail, especially if it’s an engagement. I don’t care if you’d been fighting for three months.

            I’ve had arguments with people via e-mail before…but I’ve never sent one to break off a relationship or an engagement.

        • She’s my 51st Cousin … lol

          Naw, I think what’s crazy is that I take RJ’s words at face value. I believe dude.

          And I think ol’ girl does have something to hide at this point because of the way the story leaked to the Post after she went on her hiatus. I do believe she’s bitter about the wedding not going down, and that she or someone in her camped leaked the story to the Post.

          I don’t think she cheated on him, though.

      • “My only problem is that he said he broke off the engagement with her via e-mail, then called her… That’s not cool.”

        @damon: What if he tried to see her in person and she wouldn’t see him? Or what if he tried calling her and she refused his calls? Maybe it was the email that got her attention and made her realize he was serious.

        I don’t think the email is the coolest or best way to go but what if this is how the two of them handled all of their serious relationshp business…via smartphone – email, text, IM. Believe it or not, a lot of people have serious discussions by email. I know people that have told their husbands/boyfriends that they were pregnant via email. It’s strange to you and me but maybe this worked for them? I don’t know…

        • “Or what if he tried calling her and she refused his calls?”

          I get this. Like I said in the letter, if I don’t get a returned call in a responsive time in the middle of an argument with someone, there’s a chance I’ll e-mail my thoughts.

          But your fiancee? The week of the wedding?

          Anyway, I doubt that’s the case considering that she picked up the phone the next day.

          • “Anyway, I doubt that’s the case considering that she picked up the phone the next day.”

            @damon: If I wasn’t talking to someone and that person sent a sobering email, you better believe I would pick up the phone the next day…or make the call myself, THAT NIGHT.

            “But your fiancee? The week of the wedding? ”

            @damon: I agree that this is NOT the best way to get something like this out there but I still say that if this is the only way he could force himself to get it out, I’ll take this over a no show.

          • “Anyway, I doubt that’s the case considering that she picked up the phone the next day.”

            Yall related..IM CONVINCED..and its not no 51st cousins.

        • “What if he tried to see her in person and she wouldn’t see him? Or what if he tried calling her and she refused his calls? Maybe it was the email that got her attention and made her realize he was serious. ”

          That’s true, Shawnie.

  9. I’m looking at this situation with zero judgement in my heart for either party. I have a feeling about what went down. SOMETHING of major significance happened over July 4th weekend. None of us know what that was but I’m almost certain it carried over into recent days. This chick knew the deal but likely did not want to be embarassed or disappoint family members for the sake of the elaborate planning. He likely expressed things to her verbally prior to the email but it got no where. He likely did some serious soul searching and made his mind up that it wouldn’t work. So instead of coming to her face to face he bytched up and sent an email so that he could be sure to get all his thoughts down without interruption. He would have been better off calling her or visiting her first, telling her the deal and THEN sending his lengthy email. That would have been alot classier and his decision would have been respected alot more.

    Now, the only serious misteps he made during this whole fiasco is telling the media ANYTHING. He doesn’t owe us any explanations and the fact that he had to defend being gay makes me give him the side-eye. The six figure settlement sounds more like hush money to me because he likely has some serious skeletons and wants her to keep her potentially spiteful trap shut.

    I’ll say this much, as someone who’s about to be married soon, it is a HUGE move and the doubts will come and go but no one will be 100% sure about anyone they jump the broom with but like Tyler Perry said in ‘Why Did I Get Married’, 80% is all that matters. While I do agree that his methods were tacky, if he only had 20% in this chick (and she looks like a 20% chick, not to judge her or anything) then he made the best move…

    • “I’ll say this much, as someone who’s about to be married soon, it is a HUGE move and the doubts will come and go but no one will be 100% sure about anyone they jump the broom with”

      @jlbd: I agree with this. There will be doubts & jitters. It is a major life change and a serious commitment. I agree with you that there’s probably more to this story than just ‘doubts & jitters’ though.

      • @Shawnta’

        Another thing that is truly odd about this story is that they had been together for 5 years. Something’s definitely not right if after all this time he decides against it. I mean, did he not know two years ago that she was garbage? *shrugs shoulders*

        • @jlbd: Were they engaged for five years or ‘just’ together for five years?

          If they were engaged for five years it seems like they were in no rush to marry each other anyway. It is odd…maybe they were on again, off again during the five years…maybe more off than on. I don’t know…

          • Shawnta’

            I believe they were just ‘together’ for five years. I don’t know how long they were engaged. But that’s still a long time to be with someone and not have some kind of idea that they may not be the one…

            • @jlbd: I agree with you. Five years is a long time to be in a relationship. Change is usually noticeable and doesn’t usually happen overnight. It may be subtle at first but eventually there’s no denying when someone has changed. I think we can choose to ignore someone’s changes but that doesn’t mean the signs aren’t there.

              Maybe there is more to the story because if it were just a matter of jitters or second thoughts, they could have just postponed the wedding instead of cancelling it. By postponing it, this would give them time to work through whatever issues there might be and see whether the hang ups were something that could be resolved or not and if not, then go their separate ways. Of course though, postponing it could have been the same as delaying the inevitable in this case. Who knows? Sigh…

    • “Now, the only serious misteps he made during this whole fiasco is telling the media ANYTHING.”

      @jlbd: I want to agree. I wrote this a little tongue & cheek, but I think he has a right to defend his name. I just think he went a little too far in detailing everything … because that e-mail thing should have never gotten out there … Now, people like myself want to see it. I know I suck for that, but it’s true because he’s made almost everything else public knowledge accept what he ate after he got off the phone with her. IDK.

      • @Damon

        ALL emails are apt to become open for public viewing. Mark my words: THIS EMAIL WILL LEAK EVENTUALLY.

      • “Now, people like myself want to see it. I know I suck for that”

        @damon: Hilarious. I’m sure you’re not the only one who wants to see it so if you find it online, be sure to post it here.

        “I think he has a right to defend his name. ”

        @damon: People call off engagements everday. Some reconcile and go out to get married and others don’t. I don’t think he should have even bothered with the media. It WAS his personal business until he made it public and he doesn’t have to answer to any of us so why would he bother defending his name. As he can probably now see, whether he defends himself or just keeps silent, people are going to think what they want to think and people are going to say what they want to say. His self defense may or may not change public opinion of him, so why even bother?

        • @shawnta:

          I get what you’re saying. I just think that if he wanted the truth to be out there, he has that right. There are a lot of people, including some who have commented here who have a different opinion or Jefferson after his interview than they did before.

          I just think he made a major gaffe in saying he broke it off via e-mail. He was extremely emotional in the conversation with Patrick because of all that’s happened. And I think he could have avoided that misstep had he handled it via a different outlet… like had he written an e-mail to a few of his favorite journalists. LOL

          • “like had he written an e-mail to a few of his favorite journalists. LOL”

            @damon: Funny. I see your point as well. The media is there for the taking. When someone feels like they must get their side of the story our and clear their name, it’s there. That’s one of the reasons it’s there for. I’m private when it comes to my marriage (and even before I was married, with my relationships) so there is no way I would do this. I know they say never, say never but I really couldn’t see myself putting my personal affairs (affairs as in business not cheating…lol) out there.

  10. natural nubian

    yall are mighty long-winded today!
    bottom line is richey-rich just saved himself (and even more importantly, his net worth)!!

    i think this was a genius, pain-filled decision that in the long run really saved himself financially. i give him kudos for not taking the bait, buckling under pressure, and just saying the ‘i do’ to save-face.
    like my homeboy said, she’ll be a’ight ’cause it wasn’t like she didn’t take the money.

  11. “yall are mighty long-winded today!
    bottom line is richey-rich just saved himself (and even more importantly, his net worth)!!”

    @Natural Nubian: Very true. On both points. 🙂

  12. yo, heresay is that he gave his friends his African American Express (Black) card to party for the night. They ran up a 2 million dollar bill.

    If these are the people that he has in his life, I see exactly why he wouldn’t get married.

  13. Co-signing with Damon. Truly a b* move to dump anyone, particularly your intended via email, post-it note, postcard, proxy, text message, voicemail, Facebook, Twitter… any way that’s not face to face.

    And p.s. RJ, the classy thing to do is just shut up after that. No interviews, no rebuttals just a quick “no comment” to the press.

    • “RJ, the classy thing to do is just shut up after that. No interviews, no rebuttals just a quick “no comment” to the press.”

      @OneChele: I agree. This is what should be done when one’s personal life is in question. People are going to speculate regardless.

Leave a Reply

