FRQs: INK

0804inkcover400

This is the initial cover of INK Mag from April 2008.

Note: These were Friday’s FRQs. They usually come on Fridays, but yeah. I have an announcement of sorts that I was gonna share on Friday.  But I decided to write to Richard Laaawwwwson Jefferson.

The big announcement: Someone’s gonna pay me to give relationship advice. Kansas City’s INK Magazine has a relationship advice column/blog that my colleague and friend Pam Spencer has written for over a year now. They’ve brought me on to add a male perspective. Here’s a link to my first entry there: “The Male Mind.”

It’s written mostly in a fun “Dear Abby” format. Sometimes, Pam and I will give different perspectives on the same situation. But I’ll also write in other formats as well. Still, if you have relationship questions you want answered, e-mail them to me at thismayconcernyou at gmail.com.

And yeah, none of this affects TMCY. Your regularly scheduled program continues tomorrow with a letter to Black People Who Don’t Play Spades.

The Five Random Questions:

1. What one media outlet you depend on for your news not named CNN and why?

2. What is your favorite episode of Saved By The Bell?

3. What is your favorite shoe brand?

4. What was your favorite video or arcade game before you turned 18?

5. What is your favorite scene or line from Coming to America? (Not having seen this movie is unacceptable.)

Oh yeah, don’t forget to vote for TMCY in the Black Weblog Awards.

74 responses to “FRQs: INK

  1. Black People Who Don’t Play Spades? The hell you say!

  2. 1. News: Assuming you’re talking about regular news and not sports. I’d have to say the Kansas City Star, for local stuff. It’s fallen a long way but I trust that they’re at least reporting on facts and not rumors, most of the time. For national stuff, I’d probably go to the NY Times or Fox News after CNN.
    2. SBTB: I think it may be the one where they get fake IDs and go to the Attic.
    3. Shoes: I really don’t care about shoes like I did when I was a kid, but I like Bostonian dress shoes for work.
    4. Video Game: that’s a really, really hard one to answer but in terms of sheer number of hours played, I’d have to say Ken Griffey Jr. Baseball for Super Nintendo.
    5. Never seen it – let the admonishment begin!

    • @kyle: you get the first electronic swivel smh of the week … well, second to the Skip Gates arrest.

      But you need that film in your life some time soon. Trust me.

    • “5. Never seen it – let the admonishment begin!”

      Tsk, tsk, tsk! You’ve never played spades either, have you? Shame!

      • Nope – I just had to Wikapedia it to find out what it is. Are we actually talking about the card game or is it a euphemism for something else?

          • Indulge my ignorance – that’s why I’m always reading Damon’s stuff, so I can be smarter!

            • K…I just looked it up on urbandictionary.com – did not know it was derogatory in a lot of contexts.

              • @kyle: it might be derogatory in some contexts, but you do learn what the hell some people are saying … the stuff is there for the most part.

            • Spades is one of the best. Games. EVER!!
              It’s a card game played with four people (however, when I was an enterprising young lass, we managed a game with three). You’ll have to Google it for instructions, but know that–depending on your region–the rules change. But the basics are still the same: Spades trump all other cards (except in certain places where its Joker-Joker-Deuce-Deuce, which I hate).

              • How you gonna hate on joker joker deuce deuce. And you can also play spades with 2 ppl btw

                • I’ve done the two-people version, too. That just takes too long. I even tried with five, but that was also a disaster. I think joker-joker-deuce-deuce was made up by someone who kept losing and decided to add another rule. Play with some oldheads and they’ll look at you crazy for pulling some dumb ish like joker-joker-deuce-duece.

  3. 1. Gooogle News because it has news from everywhere

    2. Cracked-out Jesse

    3. Nine West

    4. Super Mario Bros. 3 (you don’t want none of this :p)

    5. My name is Peaches/And I’m the best/All the DJs want/To feel my [chest]/Hiccup/Hiccup/Hiccup/Hiccup/Hic/Hic
    (high-larious!!)

  4. 1. Google News … because it draws from all sources.

    2. SATs. When Zack aced the test and jesse freaked out. Also, when Zack tells Kelly about Jeff cheating, but she doesn’t believe him …

    3. Kenneth Cole.

    4. Probably Bases Loaded and Mike Tyson’s Punchout…. but Frogger from Atari will always be my favorite at heart.

    5. *servant woman comes up from under water* “The royal penis is clean, your highness.”

    • @damon: Classic #5…I have a feeling the entire movie will be quoted & they will all be classic. I wanted to do the one with Semi at the fund transfer/wire counter but I had already chosen two. LOL.

  5. Hey, y’all.

    1. Okay…so, I have a real addiction to the news. It’s existed since I was about 10 years old. I like WSJ, NYTimes, MSNBC, GMA. Online papers I read are The Columbus Dispatch (my current city) & The Dayton Daily News (my hometown). I also like The Washington Post, The Chicago Tribute & The Daily Herald but I don’t read them daily.

    2. When Lisa overspends her credit card limit & has to return her clothes & get a job.

    3. Kenneth Cole, Steve Madden & Christian Louboutin. There are lots of others…some are out of my price range though.

    4. Pacman

    5. “Wearing clothes must be a new experience for you.” and “Hey, I started out mopping the floor just like you guys. But now, now I’m washing lettuce. Soon I’ll be on fries; then the grill. And pretty soon, I’ll make assistant manager, and that’s when the big bucks start rolling in. ” Had to Google that to get it right.

    • Pacman is one of the greatest inventions ever. Cannot be denied …

      And Akeem had simple dreams … he just wanted to do the fries. lol.

  6. 1. MSNBC. It’s entertaining, reliable, quality picture, covers a lot of stuff, and I just love it. Also because the people who I don’t agree with come from a place of intelligence and I respect everyone’s opinion.

    2. The one where they got Fake ID and went to The Attic. I thought they were such rebels. And that scumbag Jeff got his.

    3. Nike. I don’t own a lot, but I love everything about the company (marketing etc.) I even forgave them for the sweatshop fiasco.

    4. Mortal Kombat II. I will challenge anyone and beat you with any character. Even Jax.

    5. His momma call him Clay, I’mma call him Clay.

  7. 1. The Star, The Daily Beast and ESPN.

    2. I know this is going to sound vague, but the one where Zack gets in trouble because he under-estimates Slater’s ability to have an emotional reaction while Jesse predictably overreacts to something Slater said but didn’t mean and Kelly flips her hair mindlessly and Screech says something that’s supposed to be funny but isn’t really while Mr. Belding stares kinda creepily at Kelly.

    3. Puma, FTW.

    4. Winner, NBA Jam. HE’S ON FIRE! Runner up, Altered Beast. 2nd Runner up, Breath of Fire. What about post 18? You think dudes can’t game over 18?

    5. Scene? That’s gotta be when Eddie Murphy is playing Sexual Chocolate and plays his way off stage. Line? I use this one all the time during football season: “Oh sir, the Giants of New York took on the Packers of Green Bay. And in the end, the Giants triumphed by kicking an oblong ball made of pigskin through a big ‘H.’ It was a most uproarious victory.”

    • @gooch: I still wish I could play NBA Jam from time to time. That was the game …

      And that the Giants/Packers field goal thing actually happened two decades later makes the movie that much more authentic. lol.

  8. Meant to add…

    @damon: Congrats again on the new ‘gig’. This should be interesting.

    They’re not my favorite brands but I also like some shoes from Fergie & Jessica Simpson…don’t laugh.

    • @Shawnta’: Jessica Simpson has some super cute shoes! I bought some knee high boots from her line last fall.

      • @Tam: Her line does have really cute shoes. I was surprised by Fergie’s line too. I got some heeled sandals from her line a couple of months ago.

  9. 1. What one media outlet you depend on for your news not named CNN and why?
    Twitter (you can find out all breaking news there!)

    2. What is your favorite episode of Saved By The Bell?
    (The one when Zack & Lisa kiss – the first interracial kiss on Saturday morning… plus I wanted to be Zack cuz he was cool and Slater had a Hawaiian Jheri curl)

    3. What is your favorite shoe brand?
    Nike/Jordan (just do it)

    4. What was your favorite video or arcade game before you turned 18?
    Tekken 3 (we had wars on that game – gimme me Eddy and that Capoeira…)

    5. What is your favorite scene or line from Coming to America? The McDowell sponsored fundraiser (You may remember him as Joe the Policeman from the What’s Going Down episode of That’s My Mama. Let’s put your hands together for Jackson Heights Finest, Mr. Randy Watson!)

  10. 1. Alternative to CNN: Why are you so against CNN? I’d have to say Google news.

    2. Fav Saved By the Bell Episode: The one when Slater got into some ivy league school and Jesse didn’t and she was real salty about it.

    3. Favorite Shoe Brand: Whatever is cute and is on sale, I’m not that picky. One day I’d like to be rich enough to be able to afford some fancy brand.

    4. Fav video game before age 18: Bubble Bobble. Here’s a link to it if you’re unfamiliar. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZGWZlR3Kgr8

    5. Fav scene from Coming to America: When ol’ girl finds out that the servant isn’t really the prince. She got her face played.

    • @tam: They forever had Jesse salty about someone doing better than her in school. She couldn’t take it …

      The look on her face when she found out Semi wasn’t he prince was priceless. lol.

  11. thecomebackgirl

    “omeone’s gonna pay me to give relationship advice. Kansas City’s INK Magazine has a relationship advice column/blog that my colleague and friend Pam Spencer has written for over a year now. They’ve brought me on to add a male perspective. Here’s a link to my first entry there: “The Male Mind.””

    EXCELLENT NEWS!!!

    1. “if its important enough…the news will find me”…i got that from some media expert, i can’t think of his name now?????

    2. Golly I can’t even remember what i ate yesterday for lunch..how am i supposed to remember that?

    3. Jimmy…I actually just parted with a pair i never wore..gave them to my cousin..i must have been high..cause now i regret it.

    4. How about before I turned 8…Super Mario Bros.

    5. I’ve never seen it all the way through and i really don’t get its negro cult following lol

    • For 2 and 5, smh profusely … You should be as ashamed of yourself as a black person who can’t play spades … lol. Step yo game up, Comeback.

    • @cbg

      In the flavor flav voice: Woooooooooowwwwww at #5! Although most blacks hold this movie dear, my old boss at my previous job (caucasian male) was quoting lines from the barber shop scene to a ‘T’….he had me on the floor….so I don’t know if it’s necessarily a negro cult following but an all around classic movie of the 80’s and Eddie Murphy at his finest…

  12. 1.call me old fashioned, I still read the newspaper.. the actual paper, not online.. other than that Twitter!

    2. Its a tie between the Jessie on uppers… “im so excited” or the episode where they have that blemish cream that turns their faces red and they do the “beat bbbeat bbbeat go bayside” cheer…aww hell.. 1 more… the zack attack.. friends forever….

    3. tennis shoes/sneakers reebok classic whites for every day.. nikes to make a statement…
    heels, I love nine west, comfort and affordability and charles david makes a hell of a heel

    4. Pac-Man baby.. I still have to play it everytime I see it…

    5. okay, my favorite scene is the black awareness rally.. it gives us such gems as “it helped GILLLAGIIN get off the island’
    only God, the hugh hefner on high can make it for ya.. and of course… Mr Randy watson and his band.. they play so lovely dont you agree?
    LMAO…

  13. oh and congratulations on your new writing gig!!!

  14. 1. I don’t have one in particular… I watch them all and take it all with a grain of salt. I am a channel flipper. lol

    2. When Jessie was hyped up on all those no-doz.

    3. Guess

    4. Tekken and Super Mario Bros 3 (the classics. lol)

    5. The opening scene with the dancing and when his bride is first presented.

    And Congratualtions on the writing thing!!!!

  15. 1. What one media outlet you depend on for your news not named CNN and why?

    The local news here on NBC…it’s just pretty much always been that way.

    2. What is your favorite episode of Saved By The Bell?

    The episode where Jesse starts taking pills to stay awake and loses it at the end.

    3. What is your favorite shoe brand?

    BCBG

    4. What was your favorite video or arcade game before you turned 18?

    Pacman

    5. What is your favorite scene or line from Coming to America? (Not having seen this movie is unacceptable.)

    wow, there are so many…ummm, probably the club scene where they talk to the various women, twins, neurotic, devil worshipper, etc. ‘I’m going to tear you apart…..and your friend too!’

  16. BTW, congrats on the new gig….and uh, I will powerhouse all y’all in a game of spades!

  17. 1. MSNBC: love countdown and morning joe
    2.Jesse trying to get into Stanford.
    3. Converse
    4. Way too many. Let’s go with Zelda for the Nes.
    5. Donantions! Donations! Man, I thought it was a trash can. You tall black muthaF*,’+”!

    • on Jesse, you mean Stansbury when she had that actor guy play her father. Hilarious … lol …

      And Zelda was the best, although I’m ashamed to say I don’t think I ever beat it.

  18. 1. What one media outlet you depend on for your news not named CNN and why?

    BBC and NYTimes and Google News (I read a different one each day)

    2. What is your favorite episode of Saved By The Bell?

    The one where the guy dies and leaves them $10,000 in his will and they all fight over it.

    3. What is your favorite shoe brand?
    Gucci and Bostonian

    4. What was your favorite video or arcade game before you turned 18?
    Favorite video game is and always will be the NCAA College Football Series. I used to be a nerd so I was into Final Fantasy and Xenogears and all them RPGs but favorite arcade game is a tie between anything Streetfighter and NBA Jam

    5. What is your favorite scene or line from Coming to America? (Not having seen this movie is unacceptable.)

    “You’re my Queen to be!!!”

    • I could never get in to any of the Final Fantasy games … or the games where you played against a slew of other people online …

      It was just a little much for me…

  19. natural nubian

    1. dependable media news outlet?
    good morning america as i get ready for work

    2. didn’t care for saved by the bell–preferred ‘a different world’ instead.

    3. shoes?
    BCBG is fierce!

    4. fav video/arcade game?
    original nintendo…the duck game where u used the gun (i stunk)

    5. Coming to America? SEXUAL CHOCOALTE!….’man, that boy is good’ (clapping)

  20. natural nubian

    oooo, and damon congrats on the column! def a good thing since you’re a great writer!

  21. Thanks everybody for the congrats… this should be interesting …

  22. 1. Damon — you still not feeling people trusting CNN? The fact of the matter, for me, is that we have multiple news outlets for a reason. I don’t depend on just one. I like fact checking… if I had to pick one, I’d pick the BBC because they are way more unbiased than all American media… but like I said, I’m into fact checking and story comparison.

    2. I hate Saved By the Bell.

    3. Skechers

    4. I haven’t been into video games since I had a Sega Genesis… I loved some Sonic the Hedgehog

    5. I really love the whole first scene — all the light, the gold, the largeness of the whole thing. Seeing black kings and queens (not to be this kid today, but hey — you asked. :))

    And CONGRATS on the article. I love when people get paid to do what they do well.

    • @asmith: No, I’m just curious to see what people are reading/watching … What someone reads says something about a person …

      You lose points for hating SBTB. smh. And sonic was what’s up…

  23. D, happy for you man! You came a long way since Ms Zieg’s class. Thought you would be acting or something. Checking this blog goes with my news fix. Much love and Respect.

    • @ernesto: Yeah, acting could hold my interest for long … don’t know why. Prolly because writing got my interest just as the acting thing started to wane. Thanks for the congrats, though.

  24. I’ve done 2ppl Spades, but 4ppl Spades is scary @ me. LOL

  25. I’ve done 2ppl Spades, but 4ppl Spades is scary @ me. LOL

    Congrats Damon!

  26. 1. Whatever search engine I happen to come up on like yahoo or google.

    2. Definitely the no doze episode. Hilarious. “I’m so excited. I’m so scared!” Runner up is all the episodes before Slater and Jessie were on the show.

    3. This is like asking who my favorite child is- Nine West, Jessica Simspson(sorry but they are comfortable, cute, and sexy), BCBG, Nike, Adidas.

    4. Super Mario Bros- all 3. I like all the Mario Bors series from Marios Bros to Super Mario Bros on Super Nintendo(I loved some SNES)

    5. The movement when the sexual chocalate dude throws the mic down then points his finger like imma just walk off.

  27. 1. KC Star, I get the paper everyday…I’ll actually miss newsprint when it eventually dies.

    2. Never watched it enough to have a fave. I was too old for that show.

    3. Nike

    4. Zaxxon or Galaga.

    5. I have to go with Damon on this one…”The royal penis is clean, your highness.” Awesome

    Spades rules.

  28. 1. http://www.jsonline.com

    2. None.

    3. Nike. Of course.

    4. Either Ms. Pac-Man or Super Mario Bros.

    5. Queen: “Joffe, apologize to the man!”

    King: “I will do no such thing! The man is beneath me and so is his daughter!”

Leave a Reply

