FRQs: BIA

Soledad O'Brien

Soledad O'Brien, the media voice behind Black In America.

Black In America 2 is over. I thought it was better than the first one… I’m a little fickle concerning the ending of BIA2, though. Surprise, surprise. Anyway, we’ll let the FRQs follow the theme for the majority of the week.

(Oh yeah, Saturday is the homey JLBD’s birthday. So show her a little love, if you would.)

1.What’s one song that reminds you of your spouse, SO or, if you’re single, the mate you want?

2. In three words or less, describe the actions of the officer who arrested Professor Skip Gates last Thursday.

3. What is your favorite childhood cartoon?

4. If you could describe Tyler Perry in seven words or less, what words do you use?

5. What film of the last 20 years best captures the black experience in America?

Next week: Whuppings, maybe John Mayer and maybe a little more Michael Jackson.

66 responses to “FRQs: BIA

  1. thecomebackgirl

    1. im sorry i thought that whole segment was UBER stupid LOL…thus the song thing is equally dumb, and how the hell does a relationship expert who is married to someone that lives in a total other state …talm bout coupledom and intimacy.

    2. im not sure (i think the truth is somewhere in the middle on both perspectives)

    3. wonderwoman

    4. “4. If you could give a title to the final Madea film ever made”..were you drinking when you wrote this..i dont quite get it.

    5. No film..TV, Girlfriends.

    • @comeback: I changed question No. 4 just for you. BTW, I drank lemonade tonight. lol.

      … On No. 1, I humbly disagree with you. I think music can be vital to relationships & friendships. There are songs that constantly remind me of people …

      It was so strange that one of my friends I was watching the show with turned to me after that segment, and asked me what song reminds me of her … I had a thought, but it only took me like two minutes to come up with Zhane’s “Hey Mr. DJ.” … and she totally understood where I was coming from …

      Now, that whole DC to ATL marriage thing is hellified questionable. I looked at a woman 25 years my senior as soon as they mentioned that he lived in Atlanta, and we both had the same thought: the title of an R. Kelly & Mr. Biggs song. bad I know.

  2. 1. No surprise here but I have two. “At Last” & “You Make Me Feel Brand New”

    2.(Abuse of power) Questionable. Confirming.
    Insensitive.

    3. Too many. Hmm…The Littles, The Get Along Gang, Duck Tales, Jem, Smurfs, Flintstones, Jetsons…ok, let me stop. 🙂

    4. Inspirational life story resulting in success & wealth.
    5. Get on the Bus.

  3. 1. Probably, Maxwell’s “Ascension”

    2. Wrong, Wrong, Wrong.

    3. The Smurfs.

    4. Smart. Survivor. Ambitious. Unaware. Aware. (I’ll stop at five).

    5. I’d either go with The Wood or Crash. Probably Crash, though.

  4. 1.Think of You-Steve Carney (look it up)

    2. Actions without thinking

    3. The whole WB lot. I used to watch them with my grandpa.

    4. Entrepreneur, American Dream, Controversial, Preachy, Admirable. I’m out.

    5. Soul Food. Or for tv, The Wire.

  5. 1.He Loves Me – Jill Scott

    2. *blank stare*

    3. Jem – She was truly outrageous!!!

    4. Madea Goes Away…for good!!!

    5. Coming to America 🙂

  6. 1. She Got Her Own -Ne-Yo/ Jamie Foxx
    2. P. A. B. or C.A.C. (Can think of nothing more civil especially after reading his interview from today)
    3. Ducktales or TMNT
    4. I Don’t Watch His Crap
    5. Do The Right Thing

  7. 1. Sade Lovers rock idk why but I love the love she describes.
    2. Im not familiar with this arrest
    3. Hey Arnold.
    4. Inspiration, beast, phenominal, Mentor ( I wish), Innovator, Hard Work, Talented
    5. Rosewood

  8. *1. by your side is the song by Sade the album was the first thing I thought of lol!

  9. Gem of the Ocean

    1.currently “All I Ever Think About” -Chrisette Michele

    2. messy

    3. She-Ra: Princess of Power (my 1st fave cartoon… my mind changed many times thru the yrs)

    4. earns honest living. pays plenty blacks’ salaries.

    5. Coming to America (humorously and accurately depicts all the noteworthy stereotypes)

  10. All these “thinking” questions today.

    Happy Birthday JLBD.

    1. Even though my S.O. is a man, I think of him whenever I hear, “So Beautiful.” by Musiq Soulchild.

    2. Ignorant and stupid

    3. The classic Loony Toons, like Buggs Bunny and Pepe Lapew, etc.

    4. Determined, courageous, intelligent, charitable.

    5. I’m gonna go with Damon and say Crash.

  11. 1. All I Do – Stevie Wonder

    2. Eye-Opening

    3. If I can ONLY pick one then I’d say Fraggle Rock.

    4. Horrible writer that knows how to hustle

    5. There is no one movie that best captures life for Blacks in America because as shown by BIA2, there are extremes. Since that is the case I’d also have to go with Crash because it showed situations relevant to a range of (black) groups.

  12. 1.What’s one song that reminds you of your spouse, SO or, if you’re single, the mate you want?

    Beyonce – Halo; no he’s not an angel but 80% of the time he’s my angel…

    2. In three words or less, describe the actions of the officer who arrested Professor Skip Gates last Thursday.

    Doing his job.

    3. What is your favorite childhood cartoon?

    Winnie the Pooh Bear

    4. If you could describe Tyler Perry in seven words or less, what words do you use?

    Great success story, DL Brotha, depicts buffoonery…

    5. What film of the last 20 years best captures the black experience in America?

    Spike Lee’s ‘Do The Right Thing’

    Runner Up: ‘Crash’ (but that depicts more than just the black experience)

    • @jlbd: “DL Brotha”

      HAHAHA! That made me bust out laughing and got me the side-eye from my co-worker. I agree though…..

      • @Tam

        Don’t get me wrong, I have no problem with the GLBT community, but that nucca had the nerve a couple of years ago to say he was on a mission to find his wife…*gasp*…a blind man can see that this man is fruitier than a pack of starburst…

    • I said Crash because the black experience is inclusive of more than just black people … and it shows the other sides very well.

      Do The Right Thing is a good one, too…

      • Do The Right Thing just celebrated a 20 year anniversary…hard to believe it was actually 20 years ago.

      • @Damon

        I stand firm in this….no movie, tv show, documentary or mini-series can capture the black experience in America. Of course we will always have one compelling depiction of how things may have been at one time for a large group of people (Do The Right Thing & Crash) but it’s too complex to try and break down the black experience in America when you have millions of people with different walks of life. I think that’s what Soledad is attempting to do with her segments, but she’d honestly needs about a week to just grasp an accurate fraction of it all. But alas, she only has two hours on two different days…

    • @jlbd: Ayo …. yeah, happy birthday, Lil dude … Y’all kids be safe this weekend. Nothing crazy.

  13. 1. Brownstone – If You Love Me

    2. Piece of sh!t.

    3. Transformers, more than meets the eye!
    Autobots wage their battle to destroy the evil forces of the Decepticons!
    Transformers, more than meets the eye,
    Transformers, robots in disguise,
    Transformers!

    Honorable mention: Voltron

    4. Entrepreneur, hustler, successful, but borderline coon.

    5. None.

  14. 1. Nothing Even Matters ~ Lauryn Hill and D’Angelo

    2. Fracken-ackle bull

    3. Smurfs

    4. Business-savvy but needs further awareness.

    5. Soul Food, except for Uncle Pete in the attic.

  15. @jlbd: Happy birthday, girl! Have a great birthday weekend.

  16. natural nubian

    1) one song 4 my mate?
    stevie wonder – AS

    2) the officer & Skip Gates:
    dayum, another one?

    3) childhood cartoon?
    i couldn’t get enough of the ORIGNAL power rangers

    4. Tyler Perry in seven words?
    rich, on his way to wealthy

    5. film of the black experience in America?
    Do the Right Thing

  17. natural nubian

    and happy bday jlbd!!

  18. And happy b-day, jlbd!! Enjoy every moment of it 🙂

  19. 1.What’s one song that reminds you of , the mate you want?
    “It’s Forever”~The Ebonys

    2. In three words or less, describe the actions of the officer who arrested Professor Skip Gates last Thursday.
    Dayum, just dayum.

    3. What is your favorite childhood cartoon?
    Anything with the Muppets…I really dug Muppet Babies.

    4. If you could describe Tyler Perry in seven words or less, what words do you use?
    No more Madea, more original movies, please.

    5. What film of the last 20 years best captures the black experience in America?
    Wow–this is hard, I’ve got nothing…for real.

  20. 1. Isnt She Lovely

    2. I cant do it in five. Procedurally correct but still wrong

    3. Magic School Bus, Dragon Ball Z, Rugrats

    4. Just as bad as Soulja Boy IMHO

    5. Crooklyn or Crask

  21. 1. Tender love: Force Md’s
    2. Smh
    School house rocks! And Spiderman and his amazing Friends.
    3. Sing Pamela Mann!!
    4. The Wood.

  22. Happy b day J.

    1.Tenderlove-Force Md’s
    2.Smh
    3.School house rocks and Peanuts
    4. Sing Pamela Mann!!!
    5.The Wood

  23. Happy early b-day to jlbd… YES! Love a birthday

    1. Single For the Rest of My Life – Isyss
    I figure any man worth my time will feel like he has to be alone if he can’t have me and I oughta feel the same way, I think.

    2. Embarrassed ignorant cop

    3. THE SMURFS!

    4. Resourceful, smart, effective and… probably a perfectionist

    5. I don’t think there’s just one… I think the experience is too multi-faceted for just one, but I’ll go with Crooklyn like Peyso…

    I like Crash for this, too.

  24. 1.What’s one song that reminds you of your spouse, SO or, if you’re single, the mate you want?
    –Sunday Kind of Love by Etta James.

    2. In three words or less, describe the actions of the officer who arrested Professor Skip Gates last Thursday.
    –gatDAYUM.

    3. What is your favorite childhood cartoon?
    –3-way tie between Doug, Rugrats, and Ren & Stimpy. (Doug was heavy. Keep it real.)

    4. If you could describe Tyler Perry in seven words or less, what words do you use?
    –can’t front on his hustle, however coontastic.

    5. What film of the last 20 years best captures the black experience in America?
    –Crash, Do the Right Thing, and…yeah, that’s good.

    happy birthday jlbd!

  25. 1. Jesse Powell – You

    2. Obama worst nightmare

    3. Transformers – still watch to this day

    4. Getting paid off of blacks

    5. Boyz in the Hood

  26. Lovely Paradox

    Hi all!
    1.What’s one song that reminds you of your spouse, SO or, if you’re single, the mate you want?
    Song that reminds me of my SO: “The Light”, Common. Like Water for Chocolate

    2. In three words or less, describe the actions of the officer who arrested Professor Skip Gates last Thursday.
    Motherfk’n racial profiling.

    3. What is your favorite childhood cartoon?
    Thundercats /The smurfs (I know they have nothing to do with each other… but hey, I’se complex! :))

    4. If you could describe Tyler Perry in seven words or less, what words do you use?
    Appreciate the grind just don’t get it.

    5. What film of the last 20 years best captures the black experience in America?
    I don’t think I am qualified to answer that question (having lived here a mere 8 years) so I’ll just browse and read answers. 🙂

  27. Daniel Bruno Sanz would like to share his Huffington Post essay with you;
    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/daniel-bruno-sanz/obama-2012_b_234874.html
    Please post it on your website and send your link to us for inclusion at DanielBrunoSanz.com
    Follow us on Twitter at Twitter.com/DanielBrunoSanz
    Regards,
    Navas
    Here are the keyords in the essay:
    13th Amendment, 14th Amendment, 2012 Election, B.E.T., Barack Hussein Obama, Booker T. Washington, Bryant Park, Cipriani’s, Colin Powell, Criminal Industrial Complex, Deb Slott, Do The Right Thing, Heidi Klum, Hip-Hop, Mark Penn, Melting Pot, Pink Elephant, Racism, Reconstruction, Robert Johnson, Seal, Segregation, Shelby Steele, Sidney Poiter, Sonia Sotomayor, Spike Lee, Tavis Smiley, Terrence Yang, The Dance Flick, To Kill a Mocking Bird, Virginia Davies, W.E.B. Dubois, Zero Mostel, Politics
    Prologue to Obama 2012
    We approach the future walking backwards, our gaze forever fixated on the past. Predicting the future is not a passive exercise; we invent it every day with our actions.
    I began the sketches for what would ultimately become Obama 2012 in March 2007, a month after Barack Obama declared his candidacy. I had spent much of the previous 18 months living abroad as an entrepreneur and statesman of sorts, and I was slightly out of touch with the pulse of life on the street in the United States. I learnt about Sen. Barack Obama’s Springfield, IL speech formally declaring his candidacy for president of the United States through one of the international cable news channels and thought how great it would be to have a fresh start after years of mediocrity in Washington and a plummeting reputation around the world.
    By September, after what seemed like raising a six-month-old child, my sketches had turned into Why the Democrats Will Win in 2008 the Road to an Obama White House. It was my answer to the burning question everyone had back in March: Can he really win? Actually, not everyone thought it was a question. For many people, including Mark Penn, director of the Clinton campaign, the answer was an easy “no way.” This strategic blunder made it that much easier for the Clinton campaign to be defeated. Then there were Black pundits like Shelby Steele, a fellow at the Hoover Institution, who came out with a 2007 book entitled A Bound Man, Why Obama Can’t Win.
    Being Black did seem to be an automatic disqualification, but then why did someone need to write an entire book arguing what should have been patently obvious? Joint Chiefs of Staff Gen. Colin Powell came to my mind and I remembered that he could have run for president in 1992 as a war hero. But Colin Powell was Ronald Reagan’s protégé and got a special pass on the race question. Black conservatives like Justice Thomas, Condoleezza Rice and Colin Powell were careful to disassociate themselves from liberal thinkers and activists like Jesse Jackson, who lost, as expected, the 1984 and 1988 Democratic primaries. Ultimately, Colin Powell, in spite of all his honors, declined to run for president. His wife Alma feared for his safety. Common sense said that a candidate like Obama, for numerous insurmountable reasons, didn’t stand a chance of winning the Democratic primary, let alone a general election in which 10% of the electorate is African American and Republicans controlled the White House for 20 of the preceding 28 years. But I decided that Obama’s chances merited a closer examination. In it, I would bring to bear my gambling skills.

  28. 1. “No I in WE” by Natural Blend. I know no one has heard of them and their music is not readily available. I love the corny mushines of this song. Some of the words-” Wish you ears had eyes so you can see what I am saying. Wish your eyes had ears so you can see where I’m coming from. Wish your heart had hands so you could touch my soul. Wish your hands could hold my heart then you could feel my heart’s beat then you would understand…”

    2. racial profiling expert

    3. Too many to name. Anything Looney Tunes, Ducktales, Jem, WB cartoon(Animaniacs, Histeria, Tiny Toons)

    4. Closeted, Smart, Rich, Coonerific, Talented, Untalented.

    5. There isn’t one. We are too diverse. I have never seen a film that depicts my life and experiences at all.

Leave a Reply

