FRQs: Can’t Hardly Wait

My fav teen movie ever ...

My fav teen movie ever ...

So, a good weekend is ahead. iGNITE Live is on Friday night. Saturday, we’ll do a little pre-bday kicking it at Firefly in KC with the homey DJ Sike. Sunday’s my nephew Parker’s first birthday, and he’s having the real blowout that afternoon. Should be big fun, and I can hardly wait.

The Five Questions:

1. Thinking of John Hughes, what’s your favorite teen movie?

2. What is your favorite kind of cereal?

3. American-made or foreign car?

4. What’s one thing about your personality that you would like to change, i.e., what do you do that annoys people?

5. If you could ask a relationship “guru” any question or present a situation to him/her, what would it be? (Yes, I’m asking this question because we need questions to answer.)

75 responses to “FRQs: Can’t Hardly Wait

  1. 1. Can’t Hardly Wait. You couldn’t tell?

    2. Bran Flakes since 1996. My flakes were frosted up until then.

    3. Prefer the Honda, which clearly isn’t American made.

    4. Probably my willingness and propensity to argue in circles making the same points. I’ve been working on it in recent months, and I’m getting better. lol.

    5. Would you date yourself? Would you marry yourself? Explain….

  2. 1. Thinking of John Hughes, what’s your favorite teen movie? Clueless

    2. What is your favorite kind of cereal? Cocoa Puffs or Raisin Brain lol

    3. American-made or foreign car? Foreign massed produced in America (Toyotas)

    4. What’s one thing about your personality that you would like to change, i.e., what do you do that annoys people? My level of compassion. It’s very low.

    5. If you could ask a relationship “guru” any question or present a situation to him/her, what would it be? (Yes, I’m asking this question because we need questions to answer.) I’m not sure. Maybe why do some women think they’re sex will change a man? lol

  3. 1. Does the Goonies count as a teen movie? If so, that is my favorite one.

    2. Kid Cereal – Lucky Charms. But since I’m a grown-up and I don’t need to eat all that sugar anymore I like Kashi GoLean Crunch.

    3. Foreign Car – I always wanted a Jag until they were bought by Ford.

    4. Butting into other people’s conversations and answering questions that weren’t asked to me. I don’t know why I do it, I just can’t help it.

    5. I don’t put much weight into relationship “gurus” because love and emotions are too complex and vary so much from person to person. But since you insist….Why do women pass up a relatively good man and choose a man that treats her bad? I have my own theories but I thought I’d ask.

    • @Tam

      Your number 5 intrigues me because I’ve actually done this before and I’ve summed it up. Men like to chase tail, women like to chase non-existent reciprocated emotion….

      • Women like to fix stuff. I think that’s just the bottom line. It’s almost like we think we don’t deserve it if we didn’t have to work overtime for it.

        • @ASmith

          You are correct about having to work for something. I know I’ve been with that type of guy that didn’t necessarily treat me right and the moment he showed some vulnerability or a slight emotion towards me in a positive way, I felt like I had just answered the Daily Double on Jeopardy correctly….It was like YESSSSS!!!!!!

      • @jlbd: I completely agree with your summary. It’s not just men that want/need a challenge. The challenge for them is getting women in the bed. The challenge for women is getting his heart.

  4. 1. Sixteen Candles
    2. Just Bunches
    3. Foreign
    4. Assuming that I’m always right
    5. Relationship guru question? Why do you gurus think you know anything more than the rest of us?

  5. 1. Clueless hands down. One of my fave movies period.
    2. Cap’n Crunch with crunchberries…YUM!
    3. Foreign please & thank you!
    4. I’m too trusting…especially to people that don’t deserve it.
    5. Why is communication so difficult?

  6. 1. 10 Things I Hate About You- good dialogue, good storyline, good acting. And if you don’t wanna dance on a table every time you hear Hypnotize, you don’t know what you’re missing.

    2. Crunch Berries

    3. I would choose a Nissan Altima over any other car ever. That being said, American.

    4. I correct people a lot. I start a lot of sentences with “Actually…”

    5. I’m stealing this question from the movie “The Mexican” because I agree with the answer they give.
    If two people love each other, but they just can’t seem to get it together, when do you get to that point of enough is enough?

  7. Hey, y’all.

    @damon: Good questions. When is your birthday? Have a great time celebrating! 🙂

    1. Breakfast Club (btw, you KNOW I hate picking just one…)

    2. Cinnamon & Spice oatmeal or grits

    3. American (for now)

    4. Too optimistic – I can find a silver lining in just about anything…not a problem in my eyes but it annoys others (not all but some) to no end.

    5. If men & women can be strictly platonic friends, why do so many couples have issues with their S.O. having friends of the opposite sex? (btw…how are you liking the new ‘gig’?)

  8. 1. Pretty in Pink.

    2. Raisin Bran Crunch.

    3. Foreign- Toyota Rav 4.

    4. The fact that it takes me so long to get my point across. I always have to re-explain myself. And it tends to go and and on b/c whoever I’m talking doesn’t ever seem to grasp what I was trying to say- cip.

    5. How much is this going to cost me and how do I know your answers are going to be useful to me in any event.

  9. The Five Questions:

    1. Hmm…. I actually really do love The Breakfast Club. I know a lot of black folks feel like they can’t relate to that film, but with a few tweaks, I totally could. 🙂

    2. Frosted Flakes. Actually, it goes between FF and Fruit Loops with marshmallows.

    3. I currently drive a foreign car (Honda Accord), and would only buy foreign cars, BUT I really want a pick-up truck and that will be an American car for sure. We Americans know how to make a pick up truck.

    4. Those are 2 different questions for me. The one character trait I’d change would probably be how I let so much ish slide from people and then get to a point where I blow up. The thing I do that annoys people the most, however, seems to be my sarcasm. I guess I could scale it back a bit, but I kinda like it. 🙂

    5. Your best friend is the opposite gender and gets into a relationship. At first the other person is cool with you two hanging out, but eventually becomes very jealous and demands that your bff stop seeing you. Your bff complies. What do you do?

    FTR: My BFF is male, but we’ve not yet had this problem. He knows I’d cut him and her if this ever happened.

    • Frosted Flakes with bananas is just

      Greeeeeeaaaat.

    • “The one character trait I’d change would probably be how I let so much ish slide from people and then get to a point where I blow up.”

      I think I have this problem, too. It’s a tough one to deal with because i think you’re trying to be patience with someone, and then one day it all just kinda come out and boils over. Instead of telling someone what they do when they do it. … IDK, it’s a tough one.

  10. 1. Thinking of John Hughes, what’s your favorite teen movie?

    Clueless

    2. What is your favorite kind of cereal?

    Raisin Nut Bran

    3. American-made or foreign car?

    it depends, but I’m a sucker for a Beamer because it’s the ultimate driving machine.

    4. What’s one thing about your personality that you would like to change, i.e., what do you do that annoys people?

    It annoys people when I get mad that they aren’t giving me their full attention when I’m talking to them, but they fail to realize how much it annoys me that they are being that rude in the first place, so if I could not care as much that would be great…

    5. If you could ask a relationship “guru” any question or present a situation to him/her, what would it be? (Yes, I’m asking this question because we need questions to answer.)

    Why won’t more men admit that their so-called ‘ego’ is actually nothing but an insecurity? My own fiance just admitted this to me and he felt like he had forfeited his man card by doing so….I’m thinking, ‘um I already knew all that, so it’s not that serious’…

  11. 1. Does Ferris Bueller count as a teen movie?

    2. Healthy cereal: Cheerios (with blueberries). Sugary cereal: Cookie Crisp.

    3. Foreign. Too many bad experiences with American cars, especially Chrysler.

    4. I wouldn’t change it, but people who know me would say my smug arrogance and not caring about what other people think.

    5. None. There is no such thing as a relationship expert.

  12. 1. The Breakfast Club- I can still watch it over and over.

    2. Cap’n Crunch.

    3. I love my foreign cars but next time I am buying American bc fixing it is cheaper.

    4. I have no patience.

    5. Are men really from Mars?

  13. 1. Not Another Teen Movie

    2. Cap’n Crunch, Cinnamon Toast Crunch

    3. Foreign, German or Japanese to specific

    4. I’m too blunt at times

    5. I dont trust relationship gurus cuz they dont be in relationships themselves

    • “5. I dont trust relationship gurus cuz they dont be in relationships themselves”

      I love it.

    • I cosign your number 5 100000%

      • Why is that true — why aren’t love gurus ever in a relationship?

        The better question is, why do we go to them? My friends stay asking me for advice and I look at them, cock my head to the side and ask, “What about my life makes me look like the right person to ask? If anything it oughta scream ‘DON’T ASK HER!’ I don’t understand.”

        • @ASmith & Peyso,

          I only take SERIOUS relationship advice from older women who are either still married or have been married before for a decent amount of time. Everyone else can kiss my arse…they can only be a sounding board for when I want to vent…lol

        • @asmith: … I think what qualifies someone to give relationship advice is relationship experience, common sense and being smart enough to tell people to trust their instincts.

          To me, it’s that simple. Too few people do what they know they KNOW they need to do concerning relationships, and they do what they want… and fail.

          And there are a few of my friends — some in relationships or married — who I would never ask for relationship advice.

          • You make a good point, Damon. Maybe that’s why I get asked all the time. People feel like I have common sense.

            Then again, sometimes people ask because they want you to co-sign what they were planning to do anyway…

            • @asmith: And that’s the thing, I don’t co-sign dumb ish… I’m not gonna stop you from doing it, either… because you’re grown.

              But common sense prevails, especially if you have relationship experience and understand the ins and outs of them.

  14. 1. Thinking of John Hughes, what’s your favorite teen movie?

    Well, The Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles of course!

    2. What is your favorite kind of cereal?

    Cocoa Pebbles, winner and still champion

    3. American-made or foreign car?

    I love my Jeep but my dream car is the BMW M5 so…

    4. What’s one thing about your personality that you would like to change, i.e., what do you do that annoys people?

    Not playing devil’s advocate so much. Sometime people believe that I believe what I’m saying and not understanding that I’m just presenting the counter-argument

    5. If you could ask a relationship “guru” any question or present a situation to him/her, what would it be? (Yes, I’m asking this question because we need questions to answer.)

    Eh, I wouldn’t. I’m a simple man and play things by ear. If I do something its because I felt like doing it for that person and not because it was expected of me or in exchange for something else. It seems to work well for me, the woman likes it so I guess thats what matters!

  15. “You’re killing me Smalls” to all y’all that won’t answer No. 5 … lol … I — and I’m definitely no guru — need questions to answer. lol.

    It’s cool, though … I see how it is. lol.

  16. 1. If we’re going for teen movies in the spirit of John Hughes, then I’ll say Ferris Bueller’s Day Off. If we’re going for love stories, Dirty Dancing. If we’re going for modern movies, it’s a tie between Clueless and Mean Girls.

    2. Honey Nut Cheerios or Honey Bunches of Oats

    3. Foreign

    4. I have a tendency to correct people all the time, especially when it’s not necessary. I just like being right.

    5. This question is beyond my comprehension, so I’m going to have to pass.

  17. 1. Breakfast Club is really up there.

    2. I like anything Kashi.

    3. Foreign. I have never really been around American cars growing up.

    4. Are those 2 questions the same? I don’t particularly care about changing my traits that annoy people, but moreso the traits that annoy me… that will be my procrastination! Ugh! It’s horrible.

    5. So you guys are “gurus”? Lol! Nothing really comes to mind. Oh, I got one: why should anybody date a person that only eats white vegetables? 🙂

  18. 1. Of course I love Ferris, but when it comes to more recent movies I must go with 13 going on 30. In most of the movie she’s an adult, but it still counts, right?

    2. Milk doesn’t like me, so right now I’m eating the raisins out of Raisin Nut Bran.

    3. I have only owned American cars

    4. One day I will stop always trying to cheer people up or solve the problem. Sometimes people just need to be pissed/confused/whatever…

    5. Why do some people need such drama in their lives? Really!!!!

    • @mon’et

      I have the same issue with milk that’s why I drink soy milk only….and aren’t those raisins in Raisin Nut Bran delicious!!!! I hate it when I get a box and they don’t have as many as usual…

  19. 1. I suck at memorizing movies…. I don’t think I have a favorite teen movie! Sorry.

    2. Kix- its the only cereal that I can eat with milk!

    3. Foreign all day- I wouldn’t buy an American made car if it was free. They are a headache and a hassle!

    4. I’m indecisive…and that annoys me!

    5. I don’t have any questions for the relationship guru…I know what I need to do. I just hate to break the young man’s heart….

  20. 1. Clueless. So ’90s. I love it.

    2. I need a top ten or 15 for this one. Does hot cereal count? If so, plain oatmeal with a whole lot of sugar and evaporated milk like my grandmother used to make me.

    3. I have an American made car that has been in the shop 3 times in the last two weeks. I bought it brand new and it’s only 2 years old. I now hate my car. My next car will be a foreign one.

    4. I have horrible communication and interpersonal skills. I can literally go days without talking to anyone and be perfectly happy.

    5. Men always say that women don’t want nice/good men. I think it’s the other way around. I am finding that men want the women that track where men go, who they are with, check cell phones, demand all free time are the women with men, argue all the time, etc. So I guess my question is do men not feel loved or wanted unless a woman is losing her mind over him?

    • Yes I agree. To take it even further, why do men always seem to go for crazy girls? And then complain about her being crazy? They all say the sex is good, but you’re telling me you can’t have good relations with a stable woman?

  21. The Five Questions:

    1. Thinking of John Hughes, what’s your favorite teen movie?

    A bronx Tale (does that count?)

    2. What is your favorite kind of cereal?
    Cinnamon toast crunch

    3. American-made or foreign car?
    Depends.
    4. What’s one thing about your personality that you would like to change, i.e., what do you do that annoys people?

    I am a pessimist.

    5. If you could ask a relationship “guru” any question or present a situation to him/her, what would it be? (Yes, I’m asking this question because we need questions to answer.)

    Hmm. Are you happy in your relationship,

  22. The Five Answers:

    Hmm…nothing comes to mind immediately. But maybe “Juno”. Fairly new one…but has some depth to it. Loved it. My fave character in “Can’t Hardly Wait” is the dude played by Seth Green…hilarious.

    2. Corn Bran (which is verd hard to find!) & Cocoa Krispies

    3. Foreign most of the time…

    4. I’m non-commital when it comes to plans with friends…I tend to overcommit myself and I end up having to cancel/shorten plans which therefore causes them to feel insignificant…I’m dealing with that sitch as I type.

    5. Hmmm…ok. In my opinion I feel like I don’t have to go out with a guy just because he asks me. After all, it’s MY decision. If he doesn’t seem like my type, I normally decline. And don’t worry I’m not waiting on perfection. My cousin thinks I need to go out with those that ask because then I can “weed out what I dont’ like” but I tell her I am…I can tell he’s not what I like hence the reason why I decline. What’s your opinion? If you need more info, let me know.

  23. 1. Thinking of John Hughes, what’s your favorite teen movie?
    — Clueless

    2. What is your favorite kind of cereal?
    — Granola (I have an issue with cereal getting soggy so I’m not a fan of cereal that much)

    3. American-made or foreign car?
    — mostly foreign. I’m not like a stan for either one. Especially since I don’t currently have one. lol

    4. What’s one thing about your personality that you would like to change, i.e., what do you do that annoys people?
    — I’m very neurotic about time. I HATE being late. It’s good for me in the corporate world, but I probably annoy folks when I rush them.

    5. If you could ask a relationship “guru” any question or present a situation to him/her, what would it be? (Yes, I’m asking this question because we need questions to answer.)
    — This is a personal one: “Are men less eager to date virgins nowadays? Do they scare men away? Are virgins “worth it”?” In my personal experiences there’s been both, but just wanted ya’ll take.

    • This is a good question (your #5).

      All my (guy) friends seem to want to marry virgins, but not date them.

      I keep asking where they expect to find this secret stash of virgins if they’re also simultaneously trying to “(smash) every girl in the world…” (cue Weezy).

  24. 1. haha, my favorite is Can’t Hardly Wait also. i have that movie memorized front to back.

    2. any variation of honey bunches of oats. oh, and cocoa puffs.

    3.foreign all day, errrrday.

    4. i’m too indecisive, even when it comes to what i want to eat. also, people come to me with their problems, and although i’m touched that they confide in me, sometimes i don’t really care at that particular moment, and i have a lousy poker face in those situations. people can tell when i’m not interested.

    5. how to maintain a dope relationship with your sibling’s ex-significant other without you yourself feelin’ awkward. [haha, i need insight please]

    • @spottieottiedojo:

      I like your question … it’s a little off the relationship question topic, but it’s a great one. One that many need to have answered. This one may go to the top of my list …

  25. 1. Thinking of John Hughes, what’s your favorite teen movie?

    Does “Boys in the Hood” count? I mean, those cats were teens.

    2. What is your favorite kind of cereal?

    Frosted Flakes in super cold milk at any time of day other than morning. I don’t know why, but they taste better that way.

    3. American-made or foreign car?

    American. I was raised on GM cars.

    4. What’s one thing about your personality that you would like to change, i.e., what do you do that annoys people?

    I go through great lengths to prove my point. I’d imagine people don’t like that at times.

    5. If you could ask a relationship “guru” any question or present a situation to him/her, what would it be? (Yes, I’m asking this question because we need questions to answer.)

    Well, if said relationship guru were a lady and she would like to be boned I would ask her to meet me at the Nacho Cart. lol

    (I’m sorry man I couldn’t think of anything better…lol)

    • Well, if said relationship guru were a lady and she would like to be boned I would ask her to meet me at the Nacho Cart. lol

      Hilarious!

    • Y’all killing me with these responses … and the nacho cart? smh… lol.

      And I’ve got that same problem as you with your answer to No. 4.

  26. 1. The GOONIES!

    2. Cocoa Puffs. (or Honey Nut Cheerios if i need to treat my body a bit better)

    3. Muscle Cars are my favorite (so American made) but if i have to buy a new car then i would prolly go foreign?

    4. Im loud and overbearing at times and im very opinionated and rarely am wrong or make mistakes. I rock! 🙂

    5. What happens if my penis is too big for the woman i am dating? I mean seriously. It can be a problem!

    • @aman: only you, bro. Only you… lol

    • wow@ #5…but that can be a problem so i guess it’s worthy of asking. but honestly..what CAN you do?

      • There are certain positions and products that help with the process. But yeah, its just like a dude with a tiny wee wee, i guess ya gotta find other means of getting the job done. Or keep searching til ya find the right “fit”. 🙂

  27. The Five Questions:

    1. Thinking of John Hughes, what’s your favorite teen movie?

    2. What is your favorite kind of cereal?

    3. American-made or foreign car?

    4. What’s one thing about your personality that you would like to change, i.e., what do you do that annoys people?

    5. If you could ask a relationship “guru” any question or present a situation to him/her, what would it be? (Yes, I’m asking this question because we need questions to answer.)

  28. Dangit! I was copying the questions so I wouldn’t have to scroll up and down… I did not press enter purposely. 😦

    Anyway,

    1- I love Clueless for the closet and “cake boy” reference, and Mean Girls for Damien’s rendition of “Beautiful”…

    2- Apple Cinnamon Cheerios, or Lucky Charms/Oreo O’s… Sidenote: What happened to the Winnie the Pooh cereal! I used to stan for that one.

    3- I. want. a. Mini. Cooper. I haven’t had my 1st car yet, but I’m almost wanting to hold out until I can get my Mini. After the car tours of Japan/ S. Korea I’d say I feel most confident in Toyota. Gotta admire their drive to “not be the best Japanese factory, but the best world factory.”

    4- I gotta know a little about everything. If I don’t know something, I’m Googling it, encyclopedia-ing it, something. My quest for knowledge sometimes borders the obsessive, but hey, I’d rather stan for knowledge than for, something, um, less scrupulous.

    5- So, why are you single, or why have you been married so many times? How can you be an “expert” at love/relationships for me when you haven’t had one yourself?

  29. 1. Napoleon Dynamite

    2. Frosted Flakes

    3. Seeing how most “foreign” cars sold in the US are made in the US and most “domestic” cars are made overseas…I’m not seeing the difference. I want one that stops, goes, and doesn’t break down.

    4. I get obsessive about something then I lose interest relatively fast. That and if I find something extremely funny I can bust out with a startling shake the room LOL. Even I think that is weird.

    5. “Let me give YOU some advice…”

  30. The Five Questions:

    1. Thinking of John Hughes, what’s your favorite teen movie?

    Save the Last Dance, I love dance movies.

    2. What is your favorite kind of cereal?

    Special K Red Berry

    3. American-made or foreign car?

    I drive a Malibu, but almost bought a Honda…I’d really go either way as long as it runs lol

    4. What’s one thing about your personality that you would like to change, i.e., what do you do that annoys people?

    I ask why A LOT, even if I know the answer, just for confirmation.

    5. If you could ask a relationship “guru” any question or present a situation to him/her, what would it be? (Yes, I’m asking this question because we need questions to answer.)

    In your opinion… what is the biggest deal breaker for most relationships. Not sure I’ll agree with the answer, but doesn’t hurt to ask.

Leave a Reply

