Pre-Registration

Most college freshmen are starting school today or some time soon, and here at TMCY, we love the kids, like Trick. So as they start, we’re going to assist them with a list of “7 Things You Should Know Before You Begin College.”

The smartest thing to do in college? Study.

The smartest thing to do in college? Study. Doesn't happen enough, though.

7. It’s just like high school. Don’t expect people to act grown because they’re 18 and can now vote. There are still dumb people, catty people, jealous people and gossiping people all mixed in with like seven good people.

6. Don’t schedule 8 a.m. classes. Yeah, I know you got to school before 8 a.m. in high school every day. But in college, you play spades until 3 a.m. My attendance rate at 8 a.m. classes in college rivaled Kobe Bryant’s three-point shot percentage from his first year in the league. That’s not a good thing.

5. Buy showers shoes. Wear them in the shower. Enough said.

4. Don’t sign up for credit cards to get pizza and T-shirts. Credit cards do not say “In God We Trust.”

3. (For the women) Don’t become the campus garden tool. During your first semester lay back and figure out who’s who on the campus before you start sleeping with people, earn an undeserved reputation and get yourself in (cue: the late, great Bernie Mac) “trouble, trouble.”

2. Never leave your books laying around during finals time. Contrary to what your instructors would have you to believe, this is when your books are most valuable. Your unattended books will come up missing. Trust.

1. Liquor before beer, you’re in the clear. Beer before Liquor? Never Been Sicker. College students drink. If you succumb to the peer pressure, remember this rule. It will save you a couple of upchucks.

Feel free to add to the list. Sharing is caring (accept for No. 3). The more you know. NBC.

46 responses to “Pre-Registration

  1. #7: Not only is it just like high-school, it is worse because at least in high-school you could go home. In college you have to live with these mofos and have them all in your business if you try to leave your dorm after midnight. Although in accordance with #3, you shouldn’t be doing that anyway.

    Also, f you are a female and interested in pledging keep it to yourself. No need to go around telling everyone you know how you are going to be a member of whichever sorority it is you desire to be a member of.

    • @tam: I started to add your second paragraph to the post, but I figured it wouldn’t take long for someone to mention that in the comments … lol.

      You just shouldn’t tell anyone about what you want to pledge or that you want to pledge at all. It’s not a good look. lol.

    • @Tam: Excellence right here.

      I went to a school with a small black community. Your business was everybody’s business. Same people running their mouths about what you’re doing would be surprised to know people knew all their dirty secrets too. And so came my cardinal rule: “If you don’t want anyone to know, don’t tell anyone…” and that applied heavily during the “everyone who wants to be Greek figure out how to make that known without making it known” season.

      I’m reminded of a night I was working the front desk in my dorm. All upperclassman. At about 3am a freshman girl whose name I did not know, but was well aware of her reputation, came downstairs and left. I knew good and well whose dorm she’d been in. The next afternoon, I was working the same desk in the same dorm when in walks the guy the freshman had been visiting the night before with his girlfriend who was in town for the weekend (she was an alum, so we all knew her). Foolishness all out in the daylight. 2 springs later, said freshman pledged the same sorority as the (now ex-) girlfriend. Again, foolishness all out in the daylight.

  2. Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell; No, not THAT rule (NTTAWWT). Simply put, not everybody needs to know everything about you week one. Whatever your upbringing and background, share slowly with people you trust.

    Don’t sign up for over 12-15 hours your first semester. Don’t ask why, just trust us on this one. Don’t be afraid to drop a class if your load is too heavy.

    Research the classes and professors before you commit. That cool Psych professor that passed everybody may have been replaced with some Nobel Laureate flexing by having everyone write 20 page essays on Freud vs Jung weekly (oh, flashback).

    Beyond that make sure your cell is always charged, never go out without letting someone know where ya at and just say no to “punch” scooped out of bathtubs or trash cans… but since young folks gotta learn the hard way, think Tums and Tylenol with a Sprite chaser. Good luck!

  3. 1000x bravo for numbers 6, 7 and 10

    8. If your school has one of those note taking services (mine was black lightening) don’t think that if you buy it and study them you can skip lectures

    9. Don’t expect your professors (or anyone else) to notice or care if you are not doing well or don’t understand in undergraduate classes (especially huge lectures). It is up to you to approach them during office hours

    10. For women, if you are going to have sex and are not using some sort of birth control that YOU control, go to the campus health clinic and get some. They can generally set you up with any type available. This doesn’t mean you should skip condoms, but with no. 10 being a reality stupid ish can happen

    • I stress office hours to all my young freshman people. Office hours will be your friend because a)no one goes and b)professors are less likely to fail a student they know

  4. I cannot stress number four enough.

    In addition,

    Ladies, DO NOT become roommates with your best friend.. that friendship will not survive.

    • @nicki: That best friend roommate thing goes across the board … lol.

    • This isn’t always true. I was roommates with my best friend our senior year. But we had an apartment. Our friendship has survived. See you in Texas, Future Mrs. Brown!!

    • I agree with aye – I lived with one of my best friends for a year (in a dorm) and lived with 2 other close friends for 2 years (apartment). I am still close friends with all of these ladies.

      The key is to be open and honest about what gets on your nerves and to set ground rules about the bills. As long as you do that then your friendship should be fine.

  5. Work out or be active at least 3-5 days a week. Yeah you walk a mile each day across campus but trust me, it doesn’t counterbalance your new lifestyle of 24 hour food available and large consumptions of alcohol. You don’t want to be the guy or girl that everyone used to say “Daaaaaammmmmnnn!!!!” to now they just say “Damn.”

    Whether it be the “Freshman 15” or the “Mizzou 22”, its not a good look for you.

  6. I wish somebody programmed #4 into my brain waves BEFORE stepping foot on campus…

    Ok, my biggest thing is….don’t just go to class and go back to your dorm. Translation: Get Involved in any and everything extra curricular you can squeeze into your schedule. Not only will this help round you for those extremely hard courses that come later, but you will also have the opportunity to gain leadership experience that WILL come in handy your senior year when you are interviewing with various companies. These companies can understand you not having experience but they get easily bored by a candidate that just went to class, went home, studied and got fat off campus food all four years…

    • @jlbd: I say get involved for the sake of doing stuff that you want to do. If you want to play chess all day, there’s probably a chess club of some sorts. If you want to do programming, there’s plenty of stuff to program.

      Just find stuff that you’re interested in, and do it …

    • Chances are if you go back to your dorm after class, you’ll go back and FALL ASLEEP! Then if you actually have another class…. it might get skipped. I had a tendency to do this my first year. Not a good look.

    • I would also say get involved in professional organizations that fall into your major. For me that was NSBE and I gained a valuable support systems and a family that I’m still cool with to this day.

  7. Do not get the largest meal plan (at Mizzou it was 21 a week). You’ll barely finish the 14 you have, let alone 21. Plus, you’re never awake for breakfast anyway, so why bother.
    (An addendum to that: If you have meals left over, use them to stock up your fridge. Those 3 a.m. spades parties come with hungry players.)

    You don’t have to go to every party. The same people that were at the party on Friday will likely be there on Saturday … and Sunday … and probably Monday. Nothing has changed, especially if it’s the same DJ. He’ll be playing the same mix he put together on his iPod at last night’s party. And you can save some (of your parent’s) cash.

    I’ll second all of the above rules, especially telling someone where you’re going and keeping your phone charged.

    Oh, and also, if you don’t have a car, make friends with at least two people who do. Don’t let the campus become the only part of the town you see.

    • @aye: Your No. 1 works in congruence with Oates’… lol.

      And y’all are talking about his phone charging stuff. I don’t remember my cell phone ever going dead in college while I was out. I guess this rule makes sense, though …

    • Ugh….I forgot the meal plans. Definitely go for the minimum. I rarely made breakfast or lunch (my dorm was far from most of my classes)

    • The meal plan is a good one. I was smart and got the basic one right off the bat, but it was STILL hard to finish up that because we’d end up going out to eat and/or just eating junk food anyway.

  8. If you’re an athlete, please remember that student is the first word in student-athlete.

    Dont shun the nerds, become their best friends. It will help in the long run

  9. Damon, do you live in my head?

    I just want to say that for #7, this applies for the rest of your life. I’ve long said, and mantain that I everything I needed to know, where dealing with other people is concerned, I could’ve learned in high school. Damn shame I didn’t pay better attention because I was sure this was a temporary problem.

    I’ll add…

    -Take the easiest classes you can find (for yourself) your first year. The GPA you get is the one you build on for the rest of the time, and raising a GPA just ain’t as easy as some would have you think.

    -The fact of the matter is, you won’t be friends with everyone you’re friends with from the beginning, but that doesn’t mean you can’t be cordial forever. Don’t burn bridges you don’t have to… it always comes back to bite you in the butt, like right around the time you plan to start pledging. At this point, I refer everyone to Tam’s comment.

    -Upperclassman can be a wealth of knowledge and a wealth of trouble all in the same breath, so be. careful. (I truly only came to understand this when I became an upperclassman)

    • @ASmith

      -Take the easiest classes you can find (for yourself) your first year. The GPA you get is the one you build on for the rest of the time, and raising a GPA just ain’t as easy as some would have you think.

      ~~~~

      The realest statement made today….

    • “Take the easiest classes you can find (for yourself) your first year. The GPA you get is the one you build on for the rest of the time, and raising a GPA just ain’t as easy as some would have you think.”

      Co. Sign. I took a “mythology” gen-ed my first year because I thought it “seemed” interesting. And it woulda be…had we not had a directly-off-the-book type teacher who droned like the illegitimate child of Ben Stein. I realized this sorta early on but had a “I don’t quit” mentality (stupid) and ended up failing the class and wasting several hundred dollars of Uncle Sam’s money and more importantly, wasting my time. It took FOREVER to build that GPA back up since I didn’t have enough As to offset it in the first place.

    • @asmith: You’re right. No. 7 is a lifer. Even when you’re grey and old at “the center” or nursing home, it’s still high school.

      And you’re right, taking an easy class or two during your first year is a good thing to do. But you’ve gotta know what the easy classes are, too…

  10. “6. Don’t schedule 8 a.m. classes. ”
    I made this mistake ONE time during freshie year. Took a entry-level English class early in the morning. I did pretty well in it (got a B), but dayum it was hard. Never did it again. Fool me once…

    “4. Don’t sign up for credit cards to get pizza and T-shirts. ” Passing on limitless credit card offers when they set up shop all over campus is why I have an excellent credit score today. Trust, it was tempting, but I did the Nancy Reagan and just said no.

  11. How about beware of hungry upper classmen who wish to befriend you a swipe…. I spent my entire senior year eating off of freshman!

    • This is the realest thing ever written. If it wasnt for the freshmen, I wouldnt have made it through Sr year. It got so bad that i had the ID #s of at least five freshman memorized

      • Yes indeed! I had it down to a science…different card for each day of the week! I got so bad with it, I would say, “how many swipes can I have?” and proceed to call my friends to eat off of this poor youngin’s card.

    • lol, I knew somebody that would try and butter up to freshman chicks just so he could get their meal swipes….smh & lol!

      • aint nothing wrong with this. One of the black advisors pulled me aside and asked “Why are you trying to get in all the freshman’s beds?”. I replied “You’re wrong. I just want the meal swipe”

        • that was this young man’s same response….it was like, ‘I don’t like her or anything, I just want some meal swipes’….I lived on campus all four years so I had my own swipes at all times, my senior year I think I only had like 9 per week because of eating so much off campus food and student charging the meals where the swipe didn’t cover it…lol

    • I’m going to go ahead and plead the 1, 2, 4, Fif… on this one. lol.

  12. I would add(in honor of all the Hampton Roads students that communte to NSU and ODU):

    1.Make sure you visit your advisor and pre-register for next semester. You will get the schedule you want and avoid those 8am classes and fighting with professors to get overrides(like I did every single semester although I ended up with a few awesome schedules where I went to class 1/2 days a week.)

    2. Someone mentioned something similar to this but…If you are a commuter(like 80% of the students @ my college) try to get involved in something. I know you gotta work and put gas in your car, but try. Don’t just go to Homecoming and nothing else.

    3. Get a meal plan even if you commute. There were more than a few days when I couldn’t find a friend on campus and I was broke and hungry. You can eat on campus 24/7 . It comes in pretty handy when there is no food at the crib.

    • @teddi: i must disagree with your No. 3. This is what Indy500 up above is talking about. As an upperclassmen you should be able to eat on campus without a meal plan because the friendships you “foster” with underclassmen.

      • I went to a school where almost every single person I knew commuted. I literally knew like 3 people that stayed on campus. There were plenty of days when it seemed like nobody came to class. The ones that did come were broke too. So a meal plan(not the most expensive one) would have come in real handy. Take advantage of having extra dough in the beginning of the semester so you can get a cushion like this just in case you need it.

    • @teddi: I’d like to add to your #1 – not only do you need to go see your advisor to help you plan and pre-register for the next semester, you need to come PREPARED. Your advisor is busy and they don’t want to spend the time picking out your classes for you, that is something you should be doing. Plus, by showing that you are taking the initative and saving them time/work they will be more likely to help you out in the long run.

  13. Forgot this one-
    4. If you are gonna get a credit card make sure you pay it off every month. My mom got my first two cards for me during my freshman year. I always made sure I never put more on them than what I could pay if I had cash. I still have one of them ten years later. I have excellent credit b/c of that.

  14. Not sure if anyone said this or not, but if actually want to study at the library PLEASE, PLEASE go to the second or third floor. Find a quiet space. If you want to study for an exam or finals, step away from distractions (especially your dorm).

    At Michigan State, the library is nicknamed “Club Lib” because on the first floor… it is essentially a club. You, meet & greet with your friends. Guys try to hit on anything that moves. It is music central and GOOD studying will never be accomplished.

  15. On the student-athlete side of things

    Become friends with nerds…especially if you are majoring in engineering, comp sci, or classes that require lots of note taking

    Don’t live for practice or games – SA usually put off homework and studying to rest up for games and practices…and guess what?….the homework and test will still be there after the game

    Don’t get into drinking – Your performance on the playing field will show if you went out the previous night to some party….

    Women….no need to explain

    Let your professors know you’re an athlete – you won’t get free grades(maybe), but professors are lenient on ball players

  16. blowjob dildo naked

Leave a Reply

