FRQs: Interviews

Oprah and Michael...

Oprah and Michael...

Yeah, it’s Thursday. I’m gonna cut this week short on blogging while I concentrate on a few other things. Plus, I’ve a few things brewing for next week that I want to think out.

Anyway, there were a few interesting interviews this week including Brian Williams chat with Former president Jimmy Carter, which is something I might expound upon next week. So the questions revolve around that theme: Interviews.

The Five Randoms:

1. What did you think of the question Jay Leno asked Kanye West concerning his mother on Monday night?

2. What’s your favorite Whitney Houston song?

3. Why do you think Oprah gets the exclusive “spill my guts” interviews that she gets?

4. If you had the chance, what person would you most like to interview?

5. What word, term or phrase do you think people misunderstand most when using it or when reading it?

42 responses to “FRQs: Interviews

  1. 1. I think it was a question that needed to be asked. Ye needed to think about that.
    2.”Saving All My Love”. IfI have an audition this is the song I sing.
    3. Because she’s Oprah. She owns the world and our souls. LOL!
    4. Oprah.
    5. Fine.

  2. Hey, y’all.

    1. I thought it was a question that needed to be asked. I’m not sure whether any of his family or friends asked it before his Leno interview but it should have been.

    2. “All the Man That I Need” is one of my favorites

    3. I think celebrities trust & respect her. They know she has a huge audience & can get things out in the open once & for all without having to answer the same questions in subsequent interviews with someone else. Also, I think that since Oprah has shared so much of her own personal highs and lows with the world, they feel as if they won’t be judged.

    4. My father.

    5. ” I love you.”

  3. 1. I don’t think Jay was the person to ask it but since no one else was… so be it.

    2. I learned from the best

    3. Oprah is the biggest thing out there. You are guaranteed umpteenth million viewers/fans/ buyers if you get on Oprah.

    4. Barack Obama

    5. “I’ll call you later”

  4. 1. That’s the question you ask when people do foolish things. But he did this type of stuff when his mamma was still alive so…..

    2. How Will I Know?

    3. Cuz she’s worked hard the past 25 odd years to get to the point where she can get those interviews.

    4. George Washington

    5. Hook up. What does it mean? Is it meetin up somewhere, makin out, oral sex, intercourse? Just say what you did instead of being so ambiguous.

    • I’ve decided the meaning of “hook up” like “make out” differs by culture/race

      White people generally mean we had sexual contact of some sort… USUALLY not of the sexual intercourse variety.

      Black people… well… seems to be black folks never know what the hell it means so they don’t usually use it. LOL.

      I agree about foregoing the ambiguity. No thanks, please.

      • I agree again. I didn’t think of “hook up” in a sexual manner until I watched the Real World.

      • “Black people… well… seems to be black folks never know what the hell it means so they don’t usually use it. LOL.”

        AHAHAHAHAHAHAHA! this gave me flashback to days in undergrad having midnight spade tournaments (i was just a spectator, wasn’t willing to get cut) and “deep” conversations—as in puttin’ folks bidness on blast.

  5. 1. What did you think of the question Jay Leno asked Kanye West concerning his mother on Monday night? I thought that it was an appropriate question that hit on what could be the root of Kanye’s current issues.

    2. What’s your favorite Whitney Houston song? This is hard I love so many but I’ll go with “Saving All My Love”

    3. Why do you think Oprah gets the exclusive “spill my guts” interviews that she gets? Because she is one of the most liked and respected talk show hosts. She comes across as the mothering type which probably attracts people to want to be interviewed by her.

    4. If you had the chance, what person would you most like to interview? Bill Gates

    5. What word, term or phrase do you think people misunderstand most when using it or when reading it? “Off the record”

    • ““Off the record””

      @Tam: This is a good one in light of what recently happened. Another one along these same lines is “between you & me”…some people interpret or understand this to mean “between you, me & everyone I trust.”

  6. The Five Randoms:

    1. For the record, I didn’t see the interview; however, I know what he asked and I’m glad he asked it. Kanye needed to address the issue because unlike what Kanye said on that stage, a lot of us were thinking what Jay asked.

    2. Don’t do this to me! Ok… hmm… let’s try “You Give Good Love.” I reserve the right to amend this answer.

    3. As I’ve grown older, I’ve quit wanting to be like many of the famous people I admired when I was younger and started to want to be more like people in my life, like my mom and aunts; however, I still want to be Oprah when I grow up. I think she gets the interviews because people trust that she’s not trying to embarrass them or catch them in a lie, she just wants to have a conversation. I’m sure they know there will be tough questions and it may not be the most comfortable thing ever, but I think they also trust that Oprah isn’t trying to hang them out to dry for ratings.

    4. Michelle Obama — not because I have any burning questions, but I just need to be her BFF.

    5. “No offense”

    • “…but I just need to be her BFF.”

      @ASmith: Love it. 😉

    • @ASmith: “No offense” – This one is funny because it is almost always used when saying something offensive. And if you KNEW what you were about to say would offend then do you really mean no offense? Hmmm

      • As a former professor would say, “azactly.”

        Saying “no offense” doesn’t negate the offensive nature of what you’re saying. In fact, it makes me search for said offense and hate you for it. LOL.

    • As someone who can offend people without meaning to, I’ll usually just say, “Sorry if this offends you.” I really don’t mean to hurt people’s feelings, but I can come off as brash sometimes.

      • And I can respect that. Pre-apologies work.

        It’s when people think that because they pre-empted the offense with “no offense” that I’m going to not be offended.

  7. 1. I thought it was a good question and it helped put it all in perspective for Kanye and a few people who were ready to string him up.

    2. Saving All My Love

    3. Oprah is everybody’s homegirl

    4. Barack or Michelle Obama

    5. Compelling television

  8. 1. I didn’t think it was a bad question… his response was jsut heartbreaking.

    2. All the Man that I Need

    3. Because Oprah has a great personality.. she’s not overly invasive and she makes it more of a converstation, not an interview. Plus she has a a huge following.

    4. Rihanna: She seems like a cool girl.

    5. It doesn’t matter or Why? (my beau doesn’t like when I use this phrase).

  9. 1. What did you think of the question Jay Leno asked Kanye West concerning his mother on Monday night?
    I think the question needed to be asked. I think his response said all that was needed.

    2. What’s your favorite Whitney Houston song? (Pause) I’m Every Woman (Pause again) My mom used to blast that joint. I liked when she said “Chaka Khan at the end”

    3. Why do you think Oprah gets the exclusive “spill my guts” interviews that she gets?
    B/c ppl feel that she can get no more richer or any more more famous so they feel that she just wants to know and she can reach a huge population.

    4. If you had the chance, what person would you most like to interview?
    Geoge Bush, I think he was a bad president but I also think he was misunderstood.

    5. What word, term or phrase do you think people misunderstand most when using it or when reading it?
    Without further ado/adieu – Without further fuss (discounts everything you just said as simply “fuss”)
    without further goodbye (this doesnt make sense)

    • awwe peyso, your #2 didn’t need any disclaimer 😀

    • @Peyso: You’re #2 is great. I LOVE that song…LOL at your pauses.

    • I have a question for all and i’ve been thinking about it for a while, its around the use of the word “pause”. Maybe a LGBT person can answer it for me. I hope I do sound ignorant. No offense. I’m sure it will be fine. And you all know i love you. and if you dont know i’ll call you later. This part is off the record but one day we can hook up. O not? Either way it doesnt matter. Why? B/c it will make compelling television. Do gay and lesbian folk un”pause” things? Say phrases like “play” or like “no hetero”? If i was gay i would, but i’m not, so i wanna know what my gay and lesbian brethren and sisthren feel.

  10. 1. What did you think of the question Jay Leno asked Kanye West concerning his mother on Monday night?

    …………….. *you know I still think this whole thing is staged*

    2. What’s your favorite Whitney Houston song?

    All the Man I Need

    3. Why do you think Oprah gets the exclusive “spill my guts” interviews that she gets?

    For whatever reason she’s the highly respected queen of talk shows. Her audience is broad, her aesthetics are classy, yet she doesn’t hold back…

    4. If you had the chance, what person would you most like to interview?

    Come on now, …..Naomi Campbell; j/k, but seriously, Barack Obama hands down

    5. What word, term or phrase do you think people misunderstand most when using it or when reading it?

    ‘don’t take this the wrong way’… people ALWAYS take it the wrong way no matter what is being said…

  11. 1. I think it forced Kanye to put things in perspective he probably hadn’t thought about. With his mother gone, there’s a chance he doesn’t have anyone close to him who can call him out and tell him right from wrong. Most of us, to this day still have those figures. Hell, I have about seven or eight friends who can do it as well as my Mom. But Kanye’s on that pedestal, and no one can knock him off but himself… or that “What would your mom think?” It was a great, great question. It was like Jay was trying to help Kanye, like he was a friend.

    2. You Give Good Love.

    3. I think it’s because she gives a good conversation that isn’t threatening although she can ask a piercing question… Watching the Whitney and 93 Michael interviews on successive days, you can see a lot of growth in her skills…

    4. Probably Chris Rock.

    5. I’ve got two… Ignorance and Race Card.

  12. 1. Jay Leno/Kanye West interview?
    i didn’t see it, but i’m glad somebody said what many were thinking (even if arm candy amber seemed to be absent)

    2. fav Whitney Houston song?
    i’m every woman….still sung in the shower.

    3. Oprah and the exclusive “spill my guts” interviews ?
    it’s the o-factor. she’s such a blessed individual i’m convinced she’s been purposed for the influence she has. she’s a news/media icon.

    4. person to most likely to interview?
    michelle obama. i think i would have serious chest palipitations if i ever actually met her.

    5. misunderstood word, term or phrase?
    racism/racist

  13. 1. I thought it needed to be asked. Definitely gut checked Kanye and forced him to think through some things. Someone should be asking him this question about most of the life decisions he has made since his mother’s passing

    2. “Didn’t We Almost Have It All” and “Where Do Broken Hearts Go”

    3. She has garnered the respect of the masses. She’s not overly intrusive and she seems to genuinely care and come from an unbiased point of view, (Except for her episode on hip-hop; I think she may have been a little biased). She’s not afraid to asked tough questions, but she asks it in a way that makes you willing to share. Plus, she’s Oprah, she can single handedly make or break your career. If she cosigns on you, you are a sure thing.

    4. MLK Jr. and George W. Bush

    MLK Jr. because I don’t think people ever really knew him beyond the fame and beyond the civil rights movement. I would want to get to know him; just him as a man. And W. because I feel like he was misunderstood (no excuse for failing as a president) and I would like to hear his side of the story. He is a man with strong convictions and he is/was lead by those convictions to do what he did. Also, I think it’s clear that he has become the scapegoat for the bad decision making an entire government. (Presidents don’t run countries by themselves.)

    5.
    “With all do respect…”

    “No hard feelings…”

    “How are you?” (this is hello to some people)

    “I’m fine” or “I’m alright”

    “Just give me a second,” “I’ll be there in a few minutes,” and “I’m on my way”

    “Uh huh” and “mm hmm” (does this mean you agree or are you just acknowledging that you hear me?)

  14. 1. What did you think of the question Jay Leno asked Kanye West concerning his mother on Monday night?
    — It made me uncomfortable, mostly because I have mixed feelings on it. I honestly DO think that he should seriously think about his mother’s hypothetical question as I vaguely recall him promising to change his attitude due his mother’s death. He needs to think about these things, but I’m not sure if the emotional cost of having that question answered on national television is worth it. Yes, he is a public figure and isn’t owed complete and total privacy, but if no one sets limits, events like Princess Diana’s death are surely to occur more often. We must set limits as to him getting SOME privacy. Public figures are also human, which a lot of people sometimes forget. And humans need some privacy.

    2. What’s your favorite Whitney Houston song?
    — I Will Always Love You, cliche and not her original I know, but still, I TRULY love this song and her version of it

    3. Why do you think Oprah gets the exclusive “spill my guts” interviews that she gets?
    — I think she gives off a motherly vibe.

    4. If you had the chance, what person would you most like to interview?
    — Michelle Obama

    5. What word, term or phrase do you think people misunderstand most when using it or when reading it?
    — “I’m sorry”. I think there are different agendas behind how the audience takes it. Most recently with Chris Brown and Kanye West, there are so many interpretations going around in regards to what they mean by it or if they mean it at all. All of these interpretations are subjective and are not definitive of what they actually meant. Only they truly know what they meant and if they meant it.

  15. 1. i didn’t see the interview (still haven’t, actually), but i know what Jay asked. i think it was kinda weird, that question coming from Jay. it was kinda awkward, but someone had to ask it. if i were Jay, i would’ve asked it too.

    2. I Learned From the Best AND My Love is Your Love.

    3. Oprah’s worked really hard for these interviews, and in a sense i think it’d be more comfortable to have Oprah do MY spill-my-guts interview. because she’s not one of those hard-nosed morning show reporters who have time constraints and don’t even ease into the nitty-gritty. she makes you comfortable, whether there’s a crowd or she shows up at your house in slacks and a polo.

    4. ?uestlove from the Roots. that’s ALWAYS my first answer. we’d become best friends, he’d give me a key to his library of vinyls (i think it’s like 2 bedrooms & a basement, something like that), i’d drop everything in my life (well, almost everything) and i’d tour with the Roots and even become part of the Illadelphonics.
    and yes, i’ve thought of this many times.

    5. “Leave me alone.”
    I’ve been on the receiving end of people telling me this, whether they were sick or didn’t want to be bothered (because their thoughts were bothering them enough). When being told this, I usually just do what they ask me, which is to leave them alone. But then, the person gets mad and asks “You don’t even want to know what’s wrong with me?!”
    Um…you told me to leave you alone, so that’s what I did.

    • I hate people who say one thing knowing they mean another.

      Or people who start sighing and groaning so you’ll ask them what’s wrong.

      Nope, we’re all adults, I’ma need you to use your words.

  16. 1. Jay Leno/Kanye West interview?
    i didn't see it, but i'm glad somebody said what many were thinking (even if arm candy amber seemed to be absent)

    2. fav Whitne7 Houston song?
    i'm evedy woman….still sung in the shower.

    3. Oprah and the exclusive “spill my guts” interviews ?
    it's the o-factor. she's such a blessed individual i'm convinced she's been purposed for the influence she has. she's a news/media icon.

    4. person to most likely to interview?
    michelle obama. i think i would have serious chest palipitations if i ever actuakly met her.

    5. misunderstood word, term or phrase?
    racism/racist;

Leave a Reply

