FRQs: Fort Hood

I’m not going to waste too much time on this. I’ve been to Fort Hood once to cover a football game. I know people who’ve lived there, and what happened yesterday is absurd. My thoughts and prayers are with the families of the victims. I’m thankful the suspect is still alive and will have to answer for his actions in this life.

Anyway, the five randoms:

1. What’s the best film you’ve seen thus far in 2009?

2. Do you think it was wise of Rihanna to take on the interviews she has this week? Why or why not?

3. What is your favorite scent (cologne or perfume)?

4. What was your favorite subject/class in high school?

5. What goes through your mind when you realize it’s getting dark at 5:30 p.m.?

Have a good weekend.

65 responses to “FRQs: Fort Hood

  1. 1. What’s the best film you’ve seen thus far in 2009?
    -Star Trek…even though the fact that Tyler Perry had a small scene almost ruined it for me.

    2. Do you think it was wise of Rihanna to take on the interviews she has this week? Why or why not?
    -Yes. She has a new album coming out so she needs publicity. What perfect timing to decide to “share her story”. I haven’t watched/listened to any of her interviews so this is assuming she doesn’t say anything completely ridiculous because then it could backfire.

    3. What is your favorite scent (cologne or perfume)?
    -Not really a perfume/cologne person, strong smell make my stomach turn. I like Love Spell body spray by Victoria’s Secret

    4. What was your favorite subject/class in high school?
    -Gym, lol. Actually it was anatomy.

    5. What goes through your mind when you realize it’s getting dark at 5:30 p.m.?
    -The realization that I will have to do my evening run in the dark which is a little creepy but also fun.

  2. TGIF, y’all!

    1. Notorious or Obsessed. JUST kidding.

    Hmm…I’m not sure that they’re the best films but to date, I’ve enjoyed New in Town & The Hangover. I’m looking forward to seeing Precious this weekend.

    2. Wise? Not sure; but the timing is interesting.

    3. I like Dolce & Gabbana or Issey Miyake on my husband. For me, Dior J’Adore. Although these are favorites, I like them used sparingly & very lightly.

    4. English.

    5. I like it because although the darkness makes it seem like it’s later than it is, it’s nice to realize there’s still hours, FREE hours, before the day ends.

    Have a great weekend, y’all.

    • I am SO MAD Precious isn’t opening here this weekend.

      WTF, yo!?

      • @ASmith: You know what? It may not be opening here either. I forgot today is a ‘select cities’ release. Sometimes Columbus is included in ‘select cities’ & sometimes it isn’t…I’m betting it isn’t this time around. Thanks for reminding me of the ‘select cities’ bit. Going to check now!

      • @ASmith: I just checked & it isn’t here this weekend either. So, when is the general release? I’m happy you reminded me that it has a ‘select cities’ release today.

    • We’re all upset here that there is no national release for Precious. I hate being behind and catching things I want to see two weeks after other people have seen it…

      The world is a whole lot smaller and we could probably go and watch a good version of it online early next week… and they want to have a limited release for a hyped film? makes no sense.

      • You make a good point about watching it online.

        It opens here in DC next weekend, but I have a bunch of friends coming in town the weekend after, so I’m going to try to wait (I emphasize try…).

  3. Meant to add…I also have the Fort Hood victims’ families in prayer.

  4. 1. What’s the best film you’ve seen thus far in 2009?

    Paranormal Activity. I know that people are virtually sh1tting on this movie, but this movie is crafted together so well and I was literally shaking after watching it. I still randomly think about some of the creepy scenes…

    2. Do you think it was wise of Rihanna to take on the interviews she has this week? Why or why not?

    Yes, for one, she’s going to have to interview anyway. She has a new album coming out. But, she will not be able to avoid the Ike Jr. questions, so I think she handled everything properly.

    3. What is your favorite scent (cologne or perfume)?

    Jasmine scent, Light Blue by Dolce & Gabbana perfume.

    4. What was your favorite subject/class in high school?

    It has always been math…

    5. What goes through your mind when you realize it’s getting dark at 5:30 p.m.?

    Time to wind this day down and get back on the grind to do it all again tomorrow…

    • @jlbd: You really liked that movie? I haven’t seen it but I was going to pass because I figured it would be another Blair Witch. People hyped that up and I was disappointed. Also, I don’t particularly enjoy movies shot with a handheld.

      • @Tam

        I hear you and that was everyone else’s gripe, but imagine ‘Blair Witch’ like 10 times better and imagine that you are actually seeing the witch moving about causing distress. That’s what Paranormal Activity is. The actors are surprisingly good and believable and the demon that is haunting their home seems to be a truly evil entity that is being observed by the audience. I honestly don’t think that it will be the same watching it at home though. The theater setting and the other moviegoer’s reactions helped to build up the suspense. It’s not so much scary as it is psychological. Yeah, at the end I literally lifted my legs up in the air to cover my face! But, the truly eery part is that I couldn’t sleep well for about two nights and my fiance and I both woke up talking about that movie. It will stay with you…

    • Paranormal Activity was THAT good? I’ve just heard mixed reviewed so I haven’t seen it yet. I’m such a scaredy cat so I’m not even sure if I should go there but I love horror films (perhaps love is an overexaggeration). But I still can’t bring myself to watch Exorcist. I like a good psychological thriller but demonic…mm…not so sure…ok, I’m rambling…lol.

      • Ok, well I’ll tell you this. I haven’t been this mentally affected by a movie since the remake of the Exorcist with the uncut scenes. I couldn’t sleep for two nights after I saw that. Paranormal Activity kind of had me the same way…

        • I’ll take that as wait for the DVD…just in case I can’t make it through the entire thing. I don’t wanna pay to be scared sh*tless….esp if I can’t finish. lol.

          • Lol, but it won’t be the SAME on dvd…well, make sure you watch it with the lights off and the volume turned up high. You have to FEEL it…

  5. 1. What’s the best film you’ve seen thus far in 2009?
    Where the Wild Things Are
    2. Do you think it was wise of Rihanna to take on the interviews she has this week? Why or why not?
    To take on the interview? Yes. Did she perform well in it? No.

    3. What is your favorite scent (cologne or perfume)?
    Polo Black or Miaki (sp?)

    4. What was your favorite subject/class in high school?
    I liked History b/c we had a fine arse black lady and math b/c we had a cute wht jawn fresh out of Georgetown who flirted with me and I ran into her at a bar sr year and it was funny

    5. What goes through your mind when you realize it’s getting dark at 5:30 p.m.?
    Flashbacks of getting ready for set…
    Have a good

  6. I feel bad for the victims at Fort Hood and I’m scared for the way this is already being reported in the media…

    1. Um… hmm.. I’m going with Tam: Star Trek… it made me want to be a Trekkie!

    2. I’m UBER skeptical of her motives behind it all. While I’m sure it will do a lot of young girls some good to hear her story, her timing bothers me. Call me a jerk, but trying to capitalize on this for record sales is unacceptable to me and if that’s what she’s doing shame on her and her PR people. Having said all that, I am going to watch her interview on 20/20 tonight. I was intrigued by the comments she made in the 5-min clip on GMA yesterday. Stuff like “eff love” (which I’ve taken out of context) and a larger idea that even if she knew CB would never hit her again she still wouldn’t go back because of what that would say to other girls in that situation.

    3. Donna Karen’s Cashmere Mist makes me feel loverly (no typo) inside. However, like Shawnta’ said — less is more.

    4. English. I had the same teacher twice (9th grade and again in 11th grade) he was my FAVORITE teacher. He was challenging, but not obnoxiously and it was obvious that teaching us how to write well was a personal goal for him. I loved Mr. Stover and English as a result (even when I hated the books we were reading, like The Scarlet Letter. UGH)

    5. Usually about that time I’m in a meeting (daily meeting) and I’m looking out of the window thing “dang, I should be in the bed, or at least not sitting in this stupid meeting.”

    • @asmith:

      my fav classes are the ones where I was challenged, too. The ones where I skated barely even stick with me at this point…

      On Rhianna: I’m a little confused by the timing, too. And I wonder if she’s even emotionally ready and mentally sound enough to understand what she went through, on the stage she experience it on…

  7. 1. What’s the best film you’ve seen thus far in 2009?
    im going to take a page out of tam’s page book. i dont have any best films but i throughly enjoyed the remake of the stepfather. i give it a b. good writing, good (not superb not horrible) acting, and dylan walsh plays an excellent deranged but i can play normal man. i think they did a pretty good take on the franchise. qualms-could have had more killings, and told more of the stepfather’s back ground. bonus: lesbian couple who were portrayed as “normal” and not extra queer, or deviant.

    2. Do you think it was wise of Rihanna to take on the interviews she has this week? Why or why not?

    personally no, professionally maybe. publicity is publicity, but the tiny snippet i saw made her look completely asinine and further cemented my belief that she has no mind on her own

    3. What is your favorite scent (cologne or perfume)? mac mv5 which is no longer in production.

    4. What was your favorite subject/class in high school? although i was horrible at it geometry. i totally understood all of it

    5. What goes through your mind when you realize it’s getting dark at 5:30 p.m.?
    “eek its dark and i can’t run my errands!!!” (i dont want to be that chick who gets got in a dark parking lot, or walking into her apartment)

    • That kinda makes me want to see the Stepfather now…

      and your answer to No. 4 is so confusing. lol. How were you horrible at it but understood it?

      • remember the theories and axioms? remember the problems where you had the answer and a few of the axioms that got you the answer and you had to fill in the rest?
        that was my favorite part.
        and i just “got” geometry, but I was not consistent at answering all of the problems correctly. that was only because I didn’t study enough.

        re: the stepfather. go see it so we can compare notes 🙂

  8. 1. Nothing. I’ve been the to movies quite a bit this year, but nothing sticks out.

    2. Sure, CB already did it.

    3. I don’t really have one, but I like my mixture of cocoa butter and baby oil.

    4. Not so much my favorite subject, but my favorite class was art because we watched Jerry Springer during class. And you could come and go as you pleased.

    5. Why is it getting dark so damn early?

    • “…but I like my mixture of cocoa butter and baby oil.”

      @aye: You can’t go wrong with these two. These are classic scents that I still use & love. They’re very fresh & subtle.

    • “4. Not so much my favorite subject, but my favorite class was art because we watched Jerry Springer during class. And you could come and go as you pleased.”

      This is so sad. lol. It’s worse than us getting away with playing Spades in the cafeteria during non-lunch hours.

  9. 1. best 2009 film thus far?
    i’ve only been to two movies this year so i guess wolverine (h.jackman is my antique white chocolate)

    2. Rihanna interviews?
    it’s about time she did the interviews. i hope she realizes above all else most just want her and c.breezy to get healthy again…..or risk ending up on a similar downward spiral of denial like k.west

    3. fav scent?
    a man’s natural scent when he just finished taking his shower

    4. fav subject/class?
    recess, ok but really mr. carol’s math

    5. darkness at 5:30 p.m.?
    um, not sure where yall livin’ but here in NY best believe anytime after 4:20p the sun is no where to be found. 5:30 resembles midnight around these parts 😦

    • @nn

      Lmao! we truly must have the same taste in men. I’ve been in love with Hugh Jackman since the first X-Men. He is smoking…!

      • doesn’t hugh just make u smile everytime you see him?!?! i don’t know what it is but oh my word, it is it magnetic! men like that i describe as ‘refreshing.’ i’d really like to meet him one day….and not just to see if he can bench press me, tee hee hee 🙂

  10. First, the Ft. Hood incident is a real tragedy and should be a call to really investigate how PTSD can affect our soldiers

    1. What’s the best film you’ve seen thus far in 2009?

    I’ve only seen 2 movies this summer: The Hangover & Law Abiding Citizen. I’ll go with LAC.

    2. Do you think it was wise of Rihanna to take on the interviews she has this week? Why or why not?

    I think making public statements are always a good idea. It reduces speculation and gives people a frame of reference on a situation.

    3. What is your favorite scent (cologne or perfume)?

    Whatever P. Diddy’s scent was called.

    4. What was your favorite subject/class in high school?

    Other than Gym, I would say any math class, US History, Gov’t or Jazz Band

    5. What goes through your mind when you realize it’s getting dark at 5:30 p.m.?

    Why I am still @ work, I should have left a half hour ago.

  11. 1. What’s the best film you’ve seen thus far in 2009?

    I enjoyed the Hangover because it was just one of those movies that made me laugh, but if you haven’t heard of or seen American Violet- please do.

    2. Do you think it was wise of Rihanna to take on the interviews she has this week? Why or why not?

    I think so because she hasn’t really hasn’t talked about “her story.” We all know there are two sides to every situation.

    3. What is your favorite scent (cologne or perfume)?

    Very Sexy

    4. What was your favorite subject/class in high school?

    AP English. I had the same teacher freshman and senior year. Ironically she taught my Mom gym when she went to school. Yeah, she had been around a long time lol. She was tough but because of her I passed that test and I didn’t have to take English in college unless I wanted to.

    5. What goes through your mind when you realize it’s getting dark at 5:30 p.m.?

    Why does it feel so late?

  12. 1. Best? I’m not sure that I’ve seen a good one yet this year. The most entertaining was The Hangover… but it wasn’t plausible.

    2. I said this earlier, but the timing is ridiculous. To do it just as you have an album coming, isn’t the time to talk about what happened to her. Like I said earlier, I’m not sure she understands what happened to her herself.

    3. Marc Jacobs (cologne) and Marc Jacobs Essence for women.

    **side note: eff JLBD for what she just IM’d me.***

    4. Social Studies… especially history. I retained so much of that stuff…

    5. Set…smh. And I wonder why in the hell we still have Daylight Savings Time… we’d have another hour of light or there about without. It almost makes me want to move to … Indiana. But Indiana is Indiana.

    • @Damon

      **side note: eff JLBD for what she just IM’d me.***

      ~~~~

      But, you still love me! ha! I couldn’t help myself!

      In regards to Rihanna, would everyone stop looking at this from the angle of she’s talking about it because she has an album coming out? Maybe look at it as, she has an album coming out and has to promote it, but knows that everyone is going to want to talk about the Ike Jr. incident, thus she is going to go ahead and talk about it without having to find ways to dodge the big white elephant in the room…

      btw, Damon, read my gmail status…isn’t it funny 😀

    • I FORGOT ABOUT HANGOVER. ONE OF MY FAVORITE COMEDIES OF ALL TIME!!!!!!!!

    • i didn’t like Hangover…could be because i watched the bootleg online and the quality was terrible…lol.

  13. happy friday..

    regarding ft. hood…the company i work for has a job site there on base and all of our people have been accounted for. crazy thing is my team had a site visit planned for this week…to observe operations. praise the Lord that we rescheduled.

    1. What’s the best film you’ve seen thus far in 2009? I haven’t seen many movies this year at all…the last movie I remember seeing is The Proposal. Loved it…was it the BEST? no…but I still loved it.

    2. Do you think it was wise of Rihanna to take on the interviews she has this week? Why or why not? her doing the interview is to be expected…it comes with the territory when you’re in the spotlight. i think it should be at HER discretion and to whether or not she WANTS to talk about it. not to generate publicity for a new album coming out.

    3. What is your favorite scent (cologne or perfume)? lovely by sarah jessica parker for me…for him? Clean by Clean.

    4. What was your favorite subject/class in high school? I was best at English but my favorite subject was Physics my senior year…I sat in the back everyday and told jokes all period. We all got in so much trouble in that class..but it was good times.

    5. What goes through your mind when you realize it’s getting dark at 5:30 p.m.?
    Why is it dark when I leave for work and dark when I’m coming home?? Grr…thankfully in TX it’s not dark at 5:30 yet. i love this state.

  14. 1. I don’t usually do this, but I’m gonna pass on this question. This year was very disappoointing, especially after last year was so good. But NEXT year looks fantastic. Avatar, Sherlock Holmes, 2012, The Birds. Well you get the point.

    2. I don’t really care one way or another. I know it’s a serious topic, but I almost feel the parties involved don’t really take it seriously so I stopped caring.

    3. Perfume- Vera Wang. Colgone- Anything on a man that draws me in closer, not repel me away.

    4. History, when it was taught well.

    5. I’m in law school, so I don’t even see sunlight.

    You have a good weekend as well.

  15. Also, I’m amped up for ‘Why Did I Get Married Too’ next year. It looks even better than the first one….DRAMA!!!!

  16. I’d like to amend my response for the best movie of 2009 to “Precious.” It was outstanding. Bring tissues (this comes from a person who doesn’t cry).

  17. This is the first time I have sat down to “This May Concern You” and I already love it!

    So sad about the events at Fort Hood. Just one more thing to pray about…

    1. Capitalism: A Love Story by Micheal Moore. A raw perspective on the American Economy, Wealth Gap, and the American Dream; good for liberals and conservatives alike.

    2. No, but hey it’s her decision. I will step out and say its unfortunate how CB’s career may be in [indefinite] jeopardy. Unfortunate that there is yet another image in American media on the transgressions between black men and black women…

    3. VSS Very Sexy for me. Anything that stops me in my tracks for a man…

    4. Social Studies

    5. It makes me feel anxious. As if there’s something I forgot to do and now my day is just about over…

    I’m reading this late, so Happy Monday 8)

  18. 1. 500 Days of Summer

    2. She got it all out there, not sure if that was smart of not, but the whole story is out.

    3. On a Man: Original Escada or Rochas, on myself: Tom Tailor Two, or Heavenly by Victoria’s Secret

    4. Psychology

    5. I realize how much I hate Daylight Saving Time

  19. It’s the end of the day at work today so I figured I do a belated one of these:

    1. What’s the best film you’ve seen thus far in 2009?
    — This Is It (I know, kinda sappy, but for real…this joint was like a VIP concert)

    2. Do you think it was wise of Rihanna to take on the interviews she has this week? Why or why not?
    — Not sure if “smart” is the word…nor is “dumb”. I think it was probably cathartic for her. Which is all that matters if she needed that. Chris decided not to go into detail. I respect that. But, I understand why she did. I respect her choice, too.

    3. What is your favorite scent (cologne or perfume)?
    — perfume – Stella McCartney (I need to cop some of this…ever since I smelled it, I’ve been in love), cologne – Curve for Him.

    4. What was your favorite subject/class in high school?
    — Film Studies

    5. What goes through your mind when you realize it’s getting dark at 5:30 p.m.?
    — Where the hell did the day go??! Oh, it’s only 5:30??? FML

  20. 1. What’s the best film you’ve seen thus far in 2009?
    – I believe that all the movies i’ve seen in the theater have been horrible (ie. District 9, Obsessed…)

    2. Do you think it was wise of Rihanna to take on the interviews she has this week? Why or why not?
    – It was a good PR stunt/move to play the role of the victim (while an album is being promoted) but I feel that its good for what it is for her…

    3. What is your favorite scent (cologne or perfume)?
    – Favorite of mine is Euphoria and for on men, I like… hmmm i’m gonna go Polo Double Black or Lacoste.

    4. What was your favorite subject/class in high school?
    -English. Still is my favorite of subjects.

    5. What goes through your mind when you realize it’s getting dark at 5:30 p.m.?
    – I’m usually annoyed because I’m still at work or asleep so I never pay attention to the time/darkness factor.

Leave a Reply

