FRQs: Xmas Thoughts

Go figure. People are still talking about Tiger Woods. This story seems like it’s going to be around in Christmas 2010. *shrugs* I thought I’d go ahead and get some of these Christmas questions out of the way.

The Five Randoms:

1. What one thing do you wish we, as a society, would leave in the 00s?

2. What’s the best Christmas present you’ve ever received?

3. What age do you learn the truth about the white-bearded guy? What was your reaction?

4. What’s your favorite Christmas song?

5. If you could ask Michelle Obama one question, what would it be?

Have a good weekend and stay out of the cold.

14 responses to “FRQs: Xmas Thoughts

  1. Sorry, this should have posted at midnight… don’t know why it didn’t. Odd…

    1. The recession…

    2. Probably my first Nintendo.

    3. Seven… and I was in disbelief…

    4. Donny Hathaway’s “This Christmas” …

    5. I’d want to know what her favorite memory in the White House has been thus far…

  2. 1. The idea that what we do only effects us and that money is everything. That’s a big wish, but hey, it’s Christmas time…

    2. My birthday is 5 days after Christmas so I get those “this is your birthday and Christmas present” gifts all the time. I used to hate it, but I’ve grown up. 🙂 I say that because the gifts often run together. In high school my then-BFF got me a huge painting of a picture of Left-Eye. It was thoughtful, unique and appropriate (because I love Left-Eye). Really showed she “got” me. The other gift that rivals is the $30 in iTunes gift cards I got last year from a new friend. By Christmas of ’08 he’d known me for only 4 months but that’s one of the most spot-on gifts I’ve ever been given. I’m all about the motivation/thought process behind a gift. I have friends whose gifts I always appreciate, but they’re the same thing every year and pretty run-of-the-mill. It is the thought that counts so I thank them, but I love gifts that show real thought went into it.

    3. My mother never taught me about “Santa.” When I was older, I hear dher tell a friend “I didn’t want her to think some fat white guy was magically getting her gifts when it was really me working my butt off.” I totally had to respect her gangsta reasoning. I don’t feel like I got jilted uot of anything. I did try to ruin it for my cousin because he was being a d-bag and it was all I had left in my ammo.

    4. Donny Hathaway’s version of “This Christmas”

    5. Can we be BFFs? No. Seriously. If all I get is one question, that’s what I need to ask.

    • cosign to your #3! my dad let us know up front no fictitous random fat white man will take credit for his hard work. being from the caribbean he already had a hard time wrapping his mind around the fact that americans refer to the gov’t as “uncle sam.” my dad couldn’t figure out why americans referred to strangers so affectionately as they’re recklessly taxed. yep, white men never got credit in my house!

  3. 1. leave in the 00s?
    reality TV

    2. best Christmas ever?
    funny thing is i don’t really remember the presents i got. for me it was the total memory of every Christmas Day/season. my parents did a really good job of constantly reminding us that our presence is the real present. so i guess the irreplaceable memories are the best gift for me.

    3. the truth about the white-bearded guy?
    (refer to my cosign above)

    4. fav Christmas song?
    O Holy Night – classic
    What Child Is This – current Mary J & Andrea Bocelli version

    5. one question for MObama?
    Can we go shopping just for one day back in Chicago? Valerie can come with!!

  4. 1. The convergence of News and Gossip. I’m not gonna be self-righteous and pretend I don’t indulge in entertainment news, but they need to be separate.

    2. My gold ladybug necklace from my grandparents the year before my grandma passed. I had lost every single necklace I ever had before that point, but I have been able to keep this necklace for 10 years. I wear it almost every day.

    3. I was in third grade. I snooped in my parents’ closet and saw that I was getting a dollhouse. On xmas, I got that dollhouse from “Santa”, and immediately thought “YES I’m getting TWO!” When I only got one, I figured out. I wasn’t really disappointed, just mad that my parents had been the ones eatin my cookies.

    4. Sorry I cant choose just one when it comes to xmas music.

    Secular- “All I want for Christmas is you”, Nancy Wilson’s version of “What are you
    doing New Year’s Eve?”,and Kurtis Blow’s “Christmas Rap”

    Traditional- Nsync’s version of “O Holy Night” and Whitney’s version of “Do you hear what I hear?”

    5. To be her personal education liaison since we’re both really passionate about that.

    Have a good weekend and stay out of the cold.

  5. 1. Souljah Boy

    2. My iPod, which was recently stolen 😦

    3. I was about 8 or 9. My Jehovah’s Witness friend at school told me. I was pissed.

    4. I’ll Be Home For Christmas (contemporary) and Hallelujah (traditional)

    5. Do you want to go shopping?

    • Actually, tied with #4 is Carol of the Bells. I just remember the first time I heard it was in junior high when we went to the high school for the Christmas program. Not to brag, but my high school choir was the ish. I have yet to hear another choir sing it better, but I keep searching.

  6. 1. I’ll have to second that comment of the recession.

    2. The only present that has the potential to top my Little Tikes Kitchen Set that I received when I was 4, is my marine little/big brother coming home this Christmas. I haven’t seen him in over a year, and he goes to Iraq in the Spring. His visit is the only thing that I want for Christmas this year.

    3. Well I found out in first or second grade because someone spilled the beans to my sister. But the spirit comes back alive when you have a little person around. It makes Christmas morning magic again!

    4. There is a gospel version of Hark the Herald, Angel’s Sing that I absolutely adore!

    5. Will you adopt me?

  7. 1. What one thing do you wish we, as a society, would leave in the 00s?

    I said this yesterday, reality television…

    2. What’s the best Christmas present you’ve ever received?

    A puppy when I was like 5 years old. I got him Christmas eve and he was so small that I carried him around with me all day on Christmas in a little shoe box…I can’t remember any other gift being that memorable…

    3. What age do you learn the truth about the white-bearded guy? What was your reaction?

    I say somewhere around 9 or 10. I really didn’t want to believe it but my grandmother who is an evangelical calmly told me that Christmas was about Jesus Christ and that Santa Claus was a figment of my imagination. My cousin ridiculed me and called Santa a thief because he stole the day away from Christ. I was pretty ticked for like a day or two, but I got over it…

    4. What’s your favorite Christmas song?

    ‘Oh Holy Night’

    5. If you could ask Michelle Obama one question, what would it be?

    How do you get your hair to look so thick and bodiful?

    It always looks healthy…since she’s a sista and has stylists I know constant heat and stress can cause damage, I just want to know her secret.

  8. The Five Randoms:

    1. What one thing do you wish we, as a society, would leave in the 00s?

    The recession. Michigan’s unemployment rate is the highest in the country.

    2. What’s the best Christmas present you’ve ever received?

    My mom took my brother and I to Florida for Christmas to visit our Great Grandma.

    3. What age do you learn the truth about the white-bearded guy? What was your reaction?

    I think I was 5 but I kept pretending I believed thinking I would get more presents. It didn’t work that way.

    4. What’s your favorite Christmas song?

    Christmas Song duet with Nat King Cole or the version with his daughter.

    5. If you could ask Michelle Obama one question, what would it be?

    What is your favorite part about being the First Lady AND Can you get me a job in the White House?

  9. 1. Cooned -out rap music (yeah I said it!)
    2. My daughter (even though she was born in August, that first Christmas as Daddy was amazing)
    3. I think about 7. In actuality, it made a lot more sense
    4. Christmas in Hollis -Run DMC, Very Merry Xmas-TLC of any of the Jacksons joints
    5. Who in the newsmedia bothers you the most?

  10. 1. helicopter parents and the snowflake uber precious children they create

    2. the year i got a microscope for christmas (yes i was a nerd and yes i loved every second of it)

    3. What age do you learn the truth about the white-bearded guy? What was your reaction?
    prolly 8 or so. and i was like eh

    4. What’s your favorite Christmas song?
    this christmas, no matter how humbug-y im feeling this song will immediately make my christmas jones come down

    5. If you could ask Michelle Obama one question, what would it be?

    what is going on with marlia? is she going through puberty and that age where young girls HATE.THE.WORLD? or is she simply enjoying her own style aesthetic?

Leave a Reply

