FRQs: The New Black, Revisited.

The fellas over at VSB got a hold of Helena Andrews, the author of “Bitch is The New Black”, for a podcast interview in late December, and just posted it. I listened to it last night, and it’s worth the time if you have it.

She explains herself well, and clears up the misconceptions about the infamous Washington Post piece. They get into an interesting discussion about Tyler Perry toward the end of it, too. Here’s the link.

Anyway, here are the five questions:

1. Gilbert Arenas just left Twitter. Take a guess as to which celeb/athlete is next?

2. What’s the first thing that comes to your mind when someone says Kim Kardashian?

3.  The cheating party gets caught, would you rather get cheated on or cheat on your significant other?

4. What do you think would be the result of ABC casting a black man for The Bachelor?

5. The playoffs are set. Who is going to win the SuperBowl? (In case you need to remember what you said in September, click here. Yeah, I #failed with the Steelers.)

16 responses to “FRQs: The New Black, Revisited.

  1. 1. I didn’t even know he was on Twitter…I’m going to go with Soulja Boy (assuming he’s still on).

    2. Blow-up doll

    3. Both choices suck…but I’m going to go with cheat on then at least I’ll just feel guilt instead of feeling like I’m lacking something (other than morals).

    4. Unfortunately it would probably turn into a higher class “For the Love of Ray J”

    5. Back in September I said someone with cute players so I’m going to stick with that answer.

  2. 1. Gilbert Arenas just left Twitter. Take a guess as to which celeb/athlete is next?

    Come on, you know I could care less about who’s on or off Twitter…it’s so dumb to me…

    2. What’s the first thing that comes to your mind when someone says Kim Kardashian?

    Brandy’s brother pounding her out and giving her a golden shower or two…

    3. The cheating party gets caught, would you rather get cheated on or cheat on your significant other?

    I’d rather get cheated on, there’s something about internal guilt that I just can’t cope with…

    4. What do you think would be the result of ABC casting a black man for The Bachelor?

    Lol….that one I’ll just have to wait and see, I would say low ratings but it might just be the exact opposite…

    5. The playoffs are set. Who is going to win the SuperBowl?

    Dunno, don’t care…

  3. 1. I hope Tila Tequila, but I don’t keep up with which celebs are on. Most of them are annoying, IMO.

    2. Why is she (still) famous?

    3. Uhh… not a fair question. I think ultimately I wouldn’t ever want to purposefully hurt someone like that, so I guess if I had to choose, I’d rather be cheated on. (that, and everyone always sympathizes with the one who was wronged)

    4. He’d choose a white woman ABC would lose ratings Uhh… ::kanyeshrug::

    5. Eh… I’m indifferent (and I like football). I feel like it’s been such a damn predictable season. I’m ready for drafts to actually start shaking up division top dogs.

  4. 1. Twitter? Meh.

    2. Attention whore. The bootie is big but it aint shaped right.

    3. Get cheated on. I would be miserable if I cheated on my wife. I’d be miserable if my wife cheated on me, but at least I took the high road.

    4. If ABC said that he was a glittery vampire or a werewolf the rating wold go through the roof.

    5. Da Bears

  5. 1. I think the twitterverse is calm for the time being. I would say maybe Chad Ochocinco but it kinda seems like he lives for this kinda stuff.

    2. “How exactly do you fit in here?”

    3. Toughy, I’d say cheated on just because I wouldn’t want to be on the wrong side.

    4. Do not care. It would just be one more stupid show I’d have to hear chicks clamoring over like its real.

    5. Yeah so I picked Chicago v Steelers & I’m sticking w/ my pick…oh…neither team? Ok…

    Well I haven’t looked @ the matchups yet but Dallas looks good & so does San Diego so there is my Matchup

  6. 1. Gilbert Arenas just left Twitter. Take a guess as to which celeb/athlete is next?
    I dont follow many of them so I dont know

    2. What’s the first thing that comes to your mind when someone says Kim Kardashian?
    Fatty and I’d smash

    3. The cheating party gets caught, would you rather get cheated on or cheat on your significant other?
    From a moral standpoint – Cheated on
    From an emotional standpoint – Cheater

    4. What do you think would be the result of ABC casting a black man for The Bachelor?
    Him marrying a white or racially ambiguous woman and the world going nuts.

    5. The playoffs are set. Who is going to win the SuperBowl? (In case you need to remember what you said in September, click here. Yeah, I #failed with the Steelers.)

    Colts vs Bengals

  7. 1. I’d say T.O., but he loves himself too much for that.

    2. She’s got a large butt.

    3. Be the cheater.

    4. ABC would then cast a bunch of Flavor of Love/For the Love of Ray-J/Real Chance at Love rejects as his potential love interests.

    5. I still have hope for my Eagles, but I’m gonna go for the Saints (unfortunately; I hate the Saints, but I LOVE Reggie Bush)

  8. 1.Who cares?
    2. Smashable, but famous for nothing
    3. Be the cheater
    4. I’d love it. I don’t even watch it but the absurd discussions about race that followed would be buckets of fun!
    5. Philly fo’ life so, The E-A-G-L-E-S, Eagles!!!!

  9. I love all of the “don’t cares” concerning Twitter. I figured their would be a few of those.

    1. I wish it would be Lil Duval. But it’s more likely to be Tila Tequila. I follow neither of them, but see enough stuff they say over time.

    2. Only person i know who rose to legitimate fame because of a tape.

    3. Get cheat on…

    4. I actually think the ratings would rocket out of the roof and it might create a serious dialogue about interracial dating if they have a mixed dating pool.

    5. For some reason, I think Dallas is gonna win it now. They’ve got the defense that’s playing the best.

    • Who said Kim K’s fame was legitimate?????

      Paris Hilton did the same thing….smh…

      • It’s legitimate in comparison with say Superhead. That’s what I’m saying… Nothing else.

        • I would go further into why Superhead is looked at differently from Kim Kardashian, Paris Hilton, Pamela Anderson, etc… but I’m sure you can connect the dots. I’m an equal opportunity character flaw labeler, all garden tools were created equal….. 😛

  10. 1. Not really concerned

    2. The Ray-J video

    3. Cheated on, my conscious would get the best of me the other way around

    4. a mixed pool of contestants, and black man choosing a white woman over a black woman, causing a major uproar.
    5. I chose San Diego and they still look rather formidable. I’m a Colts fans, but the Chargers worry me.

  11. 1. Diddy will announce that he’s leaving, leave for about five minutes, then come back because he misses it too much

    2. Beautiful, but useless. Can’t act, can’t dance, and I know you all saw the tape. Useless.

    3. Cheated on. I can get over the acts of others, but I could not live with compromising my own morals

    4. If they did this, they would have to be fair. They would have to cast a successful business man/lawyer/doctor/etc. (No rappers, athletes, other entertainers). And it would have to be mostly black women with the token white girl. Then all hell would break loose when he chooses the white girl.

    5. Patriots ftw.

  12. 1. Celeb: Diddy/Athlete: OchoCinco…both of them be tweeting they asses off and at times it can be overload (more so Diddy than Ocho)

    2. Reggie; she just wasn’t relevant until she started dating him; Ray J wasn’t popular enough nor did he make me salivate from my couch

    3. Do I really have to choose because both are horrible!? Ok, I’d rather get cheated on because people condemn cheaters for life LOL

    4. LOL angry Black women everywhere would talk about how he isn’t shit for being all in some white woman’s face…it has disaster written all over it

    5. I haven’t watched much football this season because I’ve been consumed with my new baby…weep for me

Leave a Reply

