FRQs: Haiti

Life is short. And fragile. In a sense, what’s happened and happening in Haiti is just another reminder. A sad one.

It’s also amazing how some people will twist such a tragic situation for their own personal or political gain. Yet another reminder of the sick world that we live in.

There’s not much more I can say about it aside from that my thoughts and prayers are with the people of and in that nation. And here are a few more ways to donate: The Red Cross, Wyclef’s YELE, Direct Relief International.

Anyway, the five questions:

1. Conan or Leno? Why?

2. Pull The Cosby Show and Different World out of the equation. What’s your favorite sitcom of the last 20 years?

3. What is the purpose of asking the following question: “Why are you single?”

4. What is your favorite film of Denzel Washington’s?

5. What comes to your mind when you think of Haiti?

28 responses to “FRQs: Haiti

  1. 1. Neither. Chelsea Handler is better than both of them put together 🙂

    2. Will & Grace… in terms of a sitcom.. but Sex and the City was awesome. I don’t think I ever get tired of watching old episodes. Ooh, and Law and Order SVU lol

    3. The purpose of asking is really when someone is thinking “I could probably come up with a few reasons as to why you are still all by your lonesome, but it’d be really fun to hear you fathom reasons as to why nobody has chosen you yet…”

    4. I don’t know… My boyfriend is thirsty to see Book of Eli. I’m not that crazy about Denzel. Man on Fire was good.. but I’m more about Morgan Freeman.

    5. When I think of Haiti I think of “Tomorrow is not promised…” People really need to start living their best life right now. There’s no need to wait until tomorrow, next week or next year to go for what you want.

  2. 1. Leno because I don’t like Conen’s hair.

    2. I don’t really watch sitcoms but I’ll have to go with Saved By the Bell or Married with Children.

    3. There isn’t one and I don’t ask that question because I don’t really care why someone else is single. Not my business.

    4. I wonder what made you ask this question….Devil in the Blue Dress. Although I loved all almost of his movies.

    5. I think of when I did some missionary work over there with my family in 2002. It was heartbreaking then to see the level of poverty the people were living in and it was especially hard dealing with the children. It is one of the many experiences I’ve had that makes me grateful everyday for the things that I have been blessed with.

  3. 1. Conan or Leno? Why? Jay – I think he’s funnier, and he’s the god of all car guys. I’d love to hang out with him, whereas Conan would be that annoying guy at the bar that wouldn’t ever shut up.

    2. Pull The Cosby Show and Different World out of the equation. What’s your favorite sitcom of the last 20 years?

    Home Improvement – funny, occasionally touching and very rewatchable. Saved by the Bell is up there too.

    3. What is the purpose of asking the following question: “Why are you single?”

    Because in the Midwest, it must mean something’s wrong with you if you’re not married by age 26 and have a little house in Prairie Village with a dog and a white picket fence.

    4. What is your favorite film of Denzel Washington’s?

    Remember the Titans – no contest.

    5. What comes to your mind when you think of Haiti?

    So close to the US and yet feels like another world away, sadly.

  4. 1. Neither. Conan sucks at his current job and Leno sucks for not being able to just walk away. MSNBC reminded me this morning that Leno had The Tonight Show for 17 years. That was enough, dammit.

    2. Family Matters. Which I would’ve said even if I could chose The Cosby Show or A Different World. FM didn’t get the shine it should’ve. Sure, it was cheesy, but what 90s sitcom wasn’t cheesy? AND behind the Jeffersons, it was the longest running black sitcom.

    3. I’ll try to refrain from writing a dissertation:
    I’m actually waiting on someone to help me with that. I realize it’s some people’s way of paying a compliment, as if to suggest that you’re so great it makes no sense no one has gotten you. However, that’s what you should say. “You’re great” and leave it at that. Asking me why I’m single leaves way too much space for assumption. (I get asked why I’m not Greek all the time. It used to drive me crazy until someone pointed out that people wouldn’t ask me that if they didn’t think I would’ve been a good addition. The question still bugs me, but I accept it for it’s complimentaryness…)

    4. Philadelphia. But every now and again, I’ll sub that with Ricochet or The Pelican Brief.

    5. A good friend of mine is from Haiti. Knowing her completely altered my view of it. It was interesting having a good friend who was Haitian and one who was Dominican in college. No beef between them, but I got to hear the two sides. When I think of Haiti, I think of a country that’s been screwed every which way possible. By outside forces, by inside forces… and yet, there’s still a little spark you see in the people of Haiti that makes you think one day, this’ll all be different.

  5. 1. Conan or Leno? Why?

    I’m going with Leno, he’s funnier and keeps the audience engaged easier. I didn’t realize Conan was even semi-funny until I was like a junior in college and he had already been on for a few years. They should have kept the line-up the way it’s been…

    2. Pull The Cosby Show and Different World out of the equation. What’s your favorite sitcom of the last 20 years?

    Girlfriends.

    3. What is the purpose of asking the following question: “Why are you single?”

    There is no purpose.

    4. What is your favorite film of Denzel Washington’s?

    Malcolm X

    5. What comes to your mind when you think of Haiti?

    Poverty and despair.

  6. 1. Um I’m not a late night tv watcher, but I’ll go with Leno, at least his on set band rocks.

    2. Martin. We loved the show so much that we named our golden retriever Jerome In the House Thomas. May he RIP (we got him first year Martin came out and he died last year)

    3. Pure nosiness, and maybe a little spite (rub it in your face that you are still single)

    4. Toss up between Malcolm X and Training Day

    5. How do you launch an organized and orderly rescue, and rebuilding mission? And also the trillions of dollars that will be needed to rebuild the country properly, which probably won’t happen (see Katrina and how NOLA is still not completely made whole)

  7. 1. Conan I guess. Leno is a schmuck.
    2. Seinfeld
    3. I guess some folk aren’t comfortable with a single person being comfortable being single.
    4. Glory. I liked Man on Fire a lot as well.
    5. I wonder how things got so bad there. People were making cookies out of dirt to survive…Now with the earthquake I can’t imagine things getting all that better anytime soon.

  8. 1. Conan or Leno? Why?

    Leno – I was a lifelong fan of Leno on the Tonight Show. I used to live for his Headlines segment! Conan is funny too, but more in a little boy-I’m going to do weird things that are funny-kind of way.

    2. Pull The Cosby Show and Different World out of the equation. What’s your favorite sitcom of the last 20 years?

    The Office.

    3. What is the purpose of asking the following question: “Why are you single?”

    I’ve only seen come up in dating situations between members of the opposite sex. I think it’s a way to pay an overt compliment while simultaneously trying to decipher whether the person being asked is defective in some way.

    4. What is your favorite film of Denzel Washington’s?

    I really liked the concept of Deja Vu but American Gangster was a really strong all around film. Malcolm X and Remember the Titans get special mention too. I think his best performance of all time though was in Glory. His character was frightening but still vulnerable.

    5. What comes to your mind when you think of Haiti?

    Voodoo, chaos and poverty.

  9. 1. Conan or Leno? Why?
    Neither, I try to be asleep by that time.

    2. Pull The Cosby Show and Different World out of the equation. What’s your favorite sitcom of the last 20 years?
    Seinfeld, Family Guy?, King of Queens

    3. What is the purpose of asking the following question: “Why are you single?”
    You are too good of a catch for someone not to do whatever it takes to have you

    4. What is your favorite film of Denzel Washington’s?
    Training Day, Malcolm X, The one when he was saving the little white girl

    5. What comes to your mind when you think of Haiti?
    A country that quietly has to do with the freedoms that Blacks in American enjoy today

  10. 1. Conan or Leno?
    Leno: very smart and aware of more than just his own POV….his jokes have a lot of common sense to them (like when he went in on kanye ’bout his MTV bitchassness)

    2. fav sitcom?
    Girlfriends

    3. purpose of asking : “Why are you single?”
    darn good question. depending on the requester’s tone it will imply they’re either in shock ’cause i’m so fab-n-fly
    OR
    they’re trying to kick me when i’m down.

    4. fav D-dub film?
    hard, hard, haaaaaawrd question, but i have a soft spot for ‘John Q.’ i get teary every time.

    5. my thoughts of Haiti?
    God–His ways are not our ways…getting the world as a community to finally wake up and take our eyes/focus off from ‘self,’ even if at the expense of a nation.

  11. 1. Depends on my mood.
    2. Don’t have one
    3. Just ask me out or shut up. Lol
    4. Malcolm X. I can see him walking down the street now to Sam Cooke’s ” A change is gonna come.”
    5. I bet if the U.S. government had some financial interest, they would help the poverty there. Smh.

    • I recently heard that the US has sent something like 1B in aid over the last 5 years to Haiti…I’m not sure if there’s much more we can be doing.

  12. 1. Leno, just for familiarity reasons. I’ve never really thought Conan was funny & never really stayed up late enough to watch

    2. Fresh Prince of Bel-Air

    3. To see why they are single. There is probably a story behind that you should know when approaching that person

    4. Malcolm X or Remember the Titans

    5. Honestly it was either Wyclef Jean or violent cats in Miami (think Bad Boyz II)

  13. 1. Prior to the beef at NBC I would have said Leno. I always thought his brand of comedy was more intelligent and witty. But lately, Conan’s jokes in this feud have been a lot funnier than Leno’s.

    2. Fresh Prince of Bel-Air and Boy Meets World

    3. As a compliment it means “wow, you’re great, why hasn’t anyone else noticed your greatness?”

    As an insult it means “whats wrong with you?”

    4. Malcom X or Glory, but I’m a big fan of Fallen.

    5. Constant human suffering and the question, “Why God?”

  14. 1. I’d rather watch Leno (he’s funnier than Conan), but he and NBC are way wrong with what they’re doing now.

    2. Probably the Fresh Prince…

    3. I have no clue. That’s why I asked. But I heard that that question been asked a lot recently to one my friends. It’s kinda dumbfounding.

    4. John Q. I thought dude should have won an Academy Award for this role.

    5. Black liberation.

  15. 1. Conan, but only by default. I have never ever found Leno funny. Ever. And I think Conan got a raw deal.

    But as you know, I am forever on Team Fallon. Craig Ferguson is also quite good.

    2. Hmm, Living Single maybe. Good chemistry, good storylines, great theme song.

    3. Maybe to find people’s flaws before their good attributes. Beats me, I’ve never been asked.

    4.Man on Fire

    5. A place I feel I know about at first glance, but then I quickly I realize how little I know. And unfortunately, a place a lot of people seem to confuse with Rwanda….

  16. 1. Conan or Leno? Why?
    Neither. Letterman.

    2. Pull The Cosby Show and Different World out of the equation. What’s your favorite sitcom of the last 20 years?
    Living Single

    3. What is the purpose of asking the following question: “Why are you single?”
    Nosiness. Married people trying to make their boring lives seem better than your single life.

    4. What is your favorite film of Denzel Washington’s?
    Malcolm X

    5. What comes to your mind when you think of Haiti?
    Voodoo

  17. 1. Conan or Leno? Why?

    I’d have to go with something someone said earlier.. Chelsea Handler.. she’s hilarious.. The topics she has on her show, the ppl she has and how she’s not afraid to tell someone how she feels makes for good Late Night TV!

    2. Pull The Cosby Show and Different World out of the equation. What’s your favorite sitcom of the last 20 years?

    Damn, taking those two shows out has made things a lot harder, but I’m going to have to say
    “living Single” I loved that show, mainly cause of the cast! All the heads from Cosby, and Facts of Life and so forth.. Loved it!

    3. What is the purpose of asking the following question: “Why are you single?”

    To either ask you out, because their curious or because they feel pity for you cause everyone is boo’d up and you’re not, or because their envious, because everyone is boo’d up and you’re not!

    4. What is your favorite film of Denzel Washington’s?

    Damn this is a hard one, its a toss up b/w Devil in a Blue Dress, or Man on Fire.. two of my favorites, but since I have to choose 1, I’ll go with um… Man on Fire

    5. What comes to your mind when you think of Haiti?

    Home, as my place of birth it is where I go when I want to get away from the insanity of the states, the Haiti that is shown, is not the Haiti that I know. The beauty that comes from this TINY place has never been portrayed by today’s media, but it is there when I go home and relax and enjoy the beauty that is my HOMELAND. I think of Home when I think of Haiti.

  18. 1. Conan. When Conan’s got a bad guest, it’s hard to tell. With Jay, it’s completely obvious. Both are funny, but I just like Conan.

    2. Martin

    3. To be douche.

    4. “Devil in a Blue Dress.” It’s when I first noticed the walk.

    5. Domino effect of bad circumstances that cannot seem to get any better.

  19. 1. Conan, I .like him better than Leno, besides he came up with the term, “Youtwitface”

    2. All the shows that came on TGIF friday nights, even after they changed it from Thank God to Thank Goodness.

    3. The purpose of asking status? Depends on who’s asking, my insurance company, a potential partner/lover, it gives info that could affect said person’s next move.

    4. I don’t think I have one, at least not one that comes to mind so I guess that means I really don’t have one.

    5. When I think of Haiti, I really hope it won’t take months before all those millions of dollars that were promised via text messages are received. When I think of Haiti I think of the people having church underneath a tent this past sunday, despite the disaster, they could still be thankful.

  20. a little late, but…

    1. Conan or Leno? Why?
    I prefer Leno since he comes on earlier. Conan seems more of that frat boy-type of humor…

    2. Pull The Cosby Show and Different World out of the equation. What’s your favorite sitcom of the last 20 years?
    Tough call! A mix of Martin, Living single, Fresh Prince, In Living Color, etc…

    3. What is the purpose of asking the following question: “Why are you single?”
    As a few posters already stated, it’s for those who have boring lives…

    4. What is your favorite film of Denzel Washington’s?
    I’ll go with Deja Vu since it’s a sci-fi flick. Ricochet is another good flick…

    5. What comes to your mind when you think of Haiti?
    No where to go but up!!!

Leave a Reply

