Wretched Looting Refugees

“Flashy words make the world turn, but it don’t turn right.” ~ Shihan

Words. They’re powerful. Nations, like ours, are founded upon them. Elections, and universal health care, are lost because of them (see: Martha Coakley, Curt Schilling).

But unfortunately, calling a Red Sox hero a Yankee fan isn’t the only way you can misuse words. Trust, I know. I’m guilty of doing so. Still, I feel it necessary to share, from time to time, the words that are currently irking the hell out of me. I know, excusing eternal damnation from my person seems like it should be a wondrous thing. But in this case, it’s not. These words, when misused or misspelled, just piss me off.

Wretched. There are plenty of people who are going to be shocked by what I’m about to say, but a ratchet is a “mechanism consisting of such a bar or wheel with the pawl.” Yes, you can “ratchet” something by moving it by some degree. But you are wretched (i.e., deplorable) if you mistake the word wretched for ratchet.

Looting. I linked this one because I want there to be no mistake. Looting is almost always looked upon as a negative thing. And so it should be because someone is taking advantage of a situation because they have the power to do so. But when people who are starving choose to procure food to live on from abandoned stores, it shouldn’t be classified as looting. It is surviving. Now, if you catch someone in a similar situation stealing plasma televisions, by all means, call it looting. But this simple (i.e., stupid) word choice annoys me. So does this next one.

Refugee. If there’s a natural disaster in your nation, and you’re left homeless IN YOUR NATION, you are not a refugee. You a victim of a natural disaster. A refugee seeks refuge — wow — in another country because of political upheaval or war.  This one isn’t hard, yet I keep hearing this one used in reports concerning Haiti as well. It shouldn’t be that difficult to get considering that idiots in the media mistakenly called the people of New Orleans refugees a few years back.

Judgemental. This is as much of a word as conversate. The word is judgmental. I know it’s not a huge deal. But it irritates the hell out of me when someone says “don’t be so judgemental” and actually offers you the opportunity to judge him/her right in that instance. Just stick to typing #dontjudgeme or “Only God Can Judge Me.” Yeah, those work.

You?

19 responses to “Wretched Looting Refugees

  1. I agree with all of the above.

    What really annoys me is when the political media decides on their buzzword of the week and then uses it to death.

    For example: “Elitist” which was often misused and turned into something extremely negative. I’d also add “illegals” which has been used to describe non-native Americans that come into the country without going through the official immigration process.

  2. There’s only ONE wording I want to be buried for the rest of my natural black life, and that word is ‘HATING’. I know you have blogged about this before, but I loathe this word; especially when I may just be giving my honest heart felt opinion about something and just because you or someone else doesn’t agree, it means that I am automatically ‘hating’. It’s absolutely ‘wretched’ and ‘deplorable’ to hear this word over and over again….

  3. Morning, y’all.

    Words that I think are often misused or misunderstood are

    – Liberal
    – Conservative
    – Left wing
    – Right wing

    I think somewhere along the way a lot of political jargon and the way in which people describe or refer to themselves politically have become confused. I’m not sure many people could give an accurate, clear cut & concise definition of any of these and I think the media & its political commentary has a lot to do with this.

  4. Meant to add…I agree with all the words you listed as well as JLBD’s “hating”.

  5. “For all intensive purposes” – It is actually “for all intents and purposes”. Not only do most people not know what it means but they use it wrongly too.

    “Without further ado” – Completely undermines the importance of what you just said by calling it fuss (ado)

    “I could care less” – Actually means that you care and there is room for you to care less; not that you dont care.

    Adding an s to word like toward or anyway.

    Last but not least (which kind of gets on my nerves) “Have your cake and eat it too”. This actually makes no sense. To have your cake implies that you received it via whatever means and for whatever purpose you deem necessary. And to eat it clarifies that the purpose was to eat the cake. It would make much more sense if the expression read “to eat your cake and have it too” which implies that you want to eat your cake and have it for other purposes

    • Peyso, I like where your head’s at on the cake phrasing. I never did like that cliche, but your reversal makes it easier for me to accept.

      There’s another phrase along the lines of “For all intents and purposes” that people misuse. If you say “for all intensive purposes” I know that a) you have no idea what “intensive” means and b)you don’t know what “for all intents and purposes” means either. What a shame to let me know you’re doubly stupid with one misuse of a phrase.

  6. Ohh, Peyso just reminded me of something my boss says that irritates me everytime.

    “Cease and decease” – I’m pretty sure it is supposed to be cease and DESIST.

  7. Actually. I hate it when someone butts in while you are conversating (wink) and says “Actually it was the …..” How about I actually put my foot in your @$$?

    It is what it is. It is is it?

    • I hate it when people get mad when you check them for using words like ‘conversating’, ‘irregardless’, and ‘all the sudden’…..lmao!

      • @jlbd – I have a coworker that says “irregardless” at least once a day. I have told him that he sounds stupid and that it is not a word but he continues to use it. I’ve just given up trying to help him out.

  8. “needless to say” is a phrase we use before another phrase that one might consider unnecessary because — well — it was needless to say.

    Lord Jeebus I can’t stand the misuse of that phrase.

    Have we discussed “one in the same” vs “one and the same” Get it right, get it tight people.

    It’s a shame. When did we stop making people look words up in a dictionary?

  9. There are two things that I hear in church and they slightly irk me.

    1. “Turn to Psalms 139” Because you are talking about a specific chapter (psalm) it is technically Psalm 139. One song, one psalm. Seldom do people get that one right.

    2. “Blessed are the meek, for they shall inherit the earth.” When saying the worked blessed, please do not say “BLESS-SED”…we do not live in King James times so there is no need to pronounce words like we do.

    These are just minor pet peeves of mine. lol.

    • I’ve always wondered about that. Being from the South all the people in my family say “Have a Bless-sed day” but then in MO I often hear “Have a blessed day” and to be totally honest I’m not particularly sure if either is incorrect (re: the = thee or tha) *shrug*

  10. My boss says “licherally” instead of literally. At first I thought he was trying to be funny, but the one time that our group had to troubleshoot an issue until 1 a.m., “I wanted to rip my ears off and hand them to him, Potnah!” – Big Worm

  11. Refugees are persons seeking refuge or safety. Some dictionaries add “esp. to a foreign country,” but this makes it clear “to a foreign country” is not a necessary condition. The victims of Hurricane Katrina were correctly termed refugees because they sought refuge. (And if only Obama had been in office then instead of the Buffoon, how much better that disaster would’ve been handled…but I digress.) Back to the term refugee–it appears the offense comes in when the term is taken as a pejorative. It’s not a pejorative, so let’s not take it as one–or worse, turn it into one.

    While “judgment” is the commonly accepted spelling, “judgement” appears in the unabridged dictionary as acceptable. (Source: dictionary.infoplease.com.). This is similar to gasolene. It’s rare (-line is common), but not wrong.

    Not hatin’. Just sayin’.

  12. Death to “swagger”, “swagga”, “swag”, “swaggin” and other use and abuse of said “words”…

  13. Mizzou business professors all pronounce finance “fin-ants”. Hate it.

    Rich v. Wealthy
    Por ejemplo, most athletes are rich not wealthy. “Rich Dad Poor Dad” is probably the best book that explains this.

    • Let me add one I get called out for all the time.

      “With all due respect…” or “No offense but…” right before I’m about to say something offensive. Apparently those words don’t really mitigate the effect of what I’m about to say.

Leave a Reply

