FRQs: Conan

I must admit it. I haven’t watched this many straight nights of The Tonight Show since Johnny Carson was still on the air and I was a little kid trying to find any reason to stay up past curfew.

For that, I have the ratings-hungry imbeciles who run the Peacock station to thank, since they decided to go “The More You Know” route concerning the latest Late Night Wars and let him roast them for two weeks non-stop. At first he was throwing jabs. But Conan is going out hurling haymakers left and right at the Peacock. He’s even stripped it of a few feathers in the process… all of this on NBC.

It’s sorta like that scene in “Jerry Maguire” where Jerry gets fired. Except Conan — $30 million-plus in tow — is going R. Kelly on everything in sight as he’s walking out the door. You figure NBC could have prevented this by showing reruns the last two weeks. But, yeah, I guess they need the ratings. Seriously, they’ve been promoting it with commercials like it’s some great thing that they pushed him out.

Well, all I can say is that it’s the best real reality television I’ve seen in quite some time. Too bad one of the good guys has been voted off the island. Thanks, NBC.

The Five Questions:

1. How would you define the term “best friend”?

2. What’s the first word that comes to mind when you think of MLK? One word.

3. Name one person you’d switch places with so that you could see the world from his or her perspective.

4. What do you think will result from being forced to pay to read newspapers and magazines online?

5. What’s the one vegetable you hated most as a kid? Do you still despise it?

16 responses to “FRQs: Conan

  1. 1. My husband. Loves me the way I am and keeps me accountable.

    2. Dead. lol I know that’s more than one word… but I really thought “no work” but that was 2. Dead was my 2nd option.

    3. Beyonce!!! I’d love to see the world thru her eyes.

    4. If I had to pay for magazines, I’d go back to getting a subscription and having them delivered to my house. I actually prefer reading magazines in person, and not just online.

    5. I loved all veggies when I was younger, but something I no longer eat are brussel sprouts. On a random note, I used to LOVE York Peppermint patties. I can’t stomach those things nowadays.

  2. 1. A friend who knows you and you know them very well. You’re not afraid to be honest with or around them and they’re not afraid to be honest with or around you. They hold you accountable and (you guessed it) you hold them accountable. I’ve had people tell me I was their “best friend” but that was so not a two-way street. If you feel like you gotta tell someone they’re your best friend and you’re over the age of 13, something is probably askew.

    2. Leader

    3. Oprah. I know being wealthy is hard, but I wanna know HOW hard. 🙂

    4. There will be a brief period of article pirating. Some indignant soul will start typing up articles and posting them on his or her blog for the masses in order to stick it to the man. Then we’ll all shut up and pay to read the news like we oughta. Journalists deserve to make a living, too.

    5. Broccoli (of the ones I was forced to eat). I’d only eat it with cheese (a little trick my Godmother discovered). I love it now, though. It’s one of my faves. Honestly, there’s not too too many veggies I won’t eat. Fruit, now that’s another story…

  3. 1. someone who is there to share your life with

    2. Malcolm, people don’t say his name enough

    3. I’ve got this rich white friend who currently lives on south beach with a Porsche all on his pops bill. i would love to see what the priviledge white life is like

    4. yeah i would definitely get the paper version, i like paying for things that can be felt if i have the option

    5. beats, i have stayed away from them since so i guess so

  4. 1. How would you define the term “best friend”?

    I would define the term “best friend” as that one person you can do and say anything around and they WILL NOT judge your character. Someone that will listen to you and do anything you need them to do when you need them to do it. Your “best friend” is that person that is hanging out on the sidelines when everyone else in your life is gone…

    2. What’s the first word that comes to mind when you think of MLK? One word.

    Milk

    3. Name one person you’d switch places with so that you could see the world from his or her perspective.

    I’d like to switch places with Oprah. For the longest she was my shero, but lately she’s been very hypocritical and out of touch. I find it rather odd that she LOVES LOVES LOOOOOVES Jay-Z all of sudden when she had such a problem with rappers’ lyrics for such a long time. Jigga is no different, but OOOPS, ummm, I forgot, he’s got millionaire status now that can compete with the heavy hitters and Bey is his wife…yeah, that’s right Oprah, eat your previous words because, ummm, money is talking. I’d love to see the world from the lofty lands of endless money…

    4. What do you think will result from being forced to pay to read newspapers and magazines online?

    I won’t know about the news until I go home and watch it on the teLIEvision, and I’m sure many others will take the same route.

    5. What’s the one vegetable you hated most as a kid? Do you still despise it?

    I HATED asparagus, it was just plain nasty to me……now, I LOVE it….

  5. Again, you always make me think and dig deep to answer the FRQs.

    1. A person who you will ALWAYS be honest with no matter what, and you expect and receive the same from that person.

    2. Burdened

    3. My brother. I would love to see his actual thought process that occurs when reacting to normal everyday occurrences and why he does what he does. Not just his explanations (because they are nonsensical)

    4. It won’t catch on.

    5. Lima beans. gag my mom would cook them until they were mush. To this day I can’t even smell them.

  6. 1. Someone for whom you’d be willing to lay your life down.

    2. Voice

    3. I don’t think I’d care to do this. Not sure why. Especially if it was someone that was wealthy. I’d be pissed to come back to my reality.

    4. No more readers.

    5. Brussel sprouts. I don’t know if I still despise them or not. I haven’t had one since I swallowed the last one whole to get it off my plate.

  7. 1. How would you define the term “best friend”?
    A really good friend that you actually dislike. I dislike my best friend but thats my mans 20 grands and i love him to death and would ride or die. We know each other so well that it starts to be like its your brother(sister). Also, they have to be able to congratulate and call you on your bullshit w/ ease.

    2. What’s the first word that comes to mind when you think of MLK? One word.
    Monument

    3. Name one person you’d switch places with so that you could see the world from his or her perspective.
    Jiggaman Shawn Carter

    4. What do you think will result from being forced to pay to read newspapers and magazines online?
    People are going to be less informed but the magazines who dont charge are gonna be more popular.

    5. What’s the one vegetable you hated most as a kid? Do you still despise it?
    Lima beans. I dont know if I hate them b/c I havent had them in at least 10 years.

  8. 1.One who hold you accountable, and adds value to your life. One who you can let your guard down and totally be embraced by a true love. Love that is changing, edifying, and correcting.

    2.Immortal

    3.A eastern christian. Western Christians are spoiled and do not know what it means to be truly persecuted for their faith.

    4.That would suck. Then again, maybe The Kansas Star will get lucky the next time they call my house. They may gain a customer. Lol

    5. cooked cabbage, just the though makes me want to puke.

  9. 1. My best friend and I constantly call each other “my other half”—and she’s married now. There is an undefinable bond between us that can’t be shaken.

    2. Leader

    3. A wealthy teenage white girl. Just to see the difference in growing up, besides the obvious.

    4. Interesting question, seeing as it relates to my industry and my future job prospects. For the future of my career I think its right. But I understand it as a consumer that having to pay for information that can be gleaned from a blogger free seems ridiculous. But people work very hard to get that information to the public. It’s a service that deserves to be paid for.

    5. I was the weird kid who ate all my vegetables: Brussel sprouts, salad, green beans. However, you will never see me put a forkful of lima beans, pinto beans or black-eyed peas near my mouth.

  10. 1. define “best friend”?
    simply put, a true road dawg down for anything legal, who understands friendship is an invaluable gift.

    2. One word 4 MLK?
    courage

    3. switch places 4 perspective:
    Michelle Obama

    4. result being forced to pay 4 newspapers/magazines online?
    another site like hulu’s equivalent for print media. i don’t pay for cable now ’cause i watch my shows online for free. print media will do the same.

    5. most hated veggie?
    lima beans–i swear they’re the same substance concrete is made of! absolutely disgusting!

  11. 1. How would you define the term “best friend”?

    2. What’s the first word that comes to mind when you think of MLK? One word.

    3. Name one person you’d switch places with so that you could see the world from his or her perspective.

    4. What do you think will result from being forced to pay to read newspapers and magazines online?

    5. What’s the one vegetable you hated most as a kid? Do you still despise it?

  12. For some reason my answers disappeared from my previous post.

    1. How would you define the term “best friend”?
    -Someone who loves you despite your faults but is comfortable enough with you to help you improve upon them

    2. What’s the first word that comes to mind when you think of MLK? One word.
    – Visionary

    3. Name one person you’d switch places with so that you could see the world from his or her perspective.
    -Bill Gates

    4. What do you think will result from being forced to pay to read newspapers and magazines online?
    -I will have to get all my news from Twitter

    5. What’s the one vegetable you hated most as a kid? Do you still despise it?
    -Peas, yes, they are disgusting!

  13. 1. Someone you would trust with your secrets, heart, life, and money.

    2. Streets.

    3. Idk, I think any other experience would be enlightening, but I’ll choose this dude sittin next to me in class. He’s married w/ a kid. I always say I want to fast forward to that part of my life. I’m sure one day in his shoes would change my mind.

    4. Nothing. With the exception of the Wall Street Journal and other hard to find information, there will always be plenty of free options. And most people don’t have a problem paying for the WSJ.

    5. Cooked carrots. And yes I still have a gag reflex when I eat them by themselves.

  14. 1. Someone you trust. Someone who doesn’t judge you, but gives you honest criticism. Someone who’s consistently there, more than anyone else.

    2. Human.

    3. Prince William.

    4. I think newspapers are prolly going to end up suffering more than they have in recent past by restricting content… I don’t think that people would’ve minded paying for it online 10 years ago. But we’re so used to accessing information for free that I really don’t think it can work. People will get their news elsewhere.

    5. Peas… they are the worst.

  15. 1. The one person you can be completely vulnerable and transparent around. They know all of your faults but won’t hold them against you. They constantly push you to be better. Usually they make up for where you lack, and vice versa.

    2. Dream

    3. Most women, just to gain a better understanding of what goes through their minds when they do what they do and say what they say.

    4. We will find a way to work around paying for it. But making it all to electronic will increase the use of tablet type computers.

    5. Brussel Sprouts – And I still won’t eat them unless I cook them.

Leave a Reply

