FRQs: V-Day

Yeah, Happy Singles Awareness Weekend.

This is how men feel on February 14th: Pressured.

The five questions:

1. What’s one thing that always has tended to annoy you in a relationship/marriage?

2. What’s your favorite Winter Olympic sport?

3.  What one city would you move to (not your current city or hometown) if you had to live there for the rest of your life?

4. What movie, every time it comes on television, do you always stop and watch, no matter what happens?

5. Worst Valentine’s Day story you’ve ever heard/experienced or the best Valentine’s Day gift you’ve ever received. Go.

32 responses to “FRQs: V-Day

  1. 1. ::sigh:: Having to be vulnerable. ::hangs head:: I’m working on it.

    2. Short track speed skating — because of Apollo Anton. (as a note, I’m not big on winter sports period, so this is one of the few times I allow an attraction to a person decide what sport I watch/who I root for.)

    3. Nashville, TN. I went to school there, it’s close to home and my friends and it surely never gets 24+ inches of snow.

    4. The Jacksons: An American Dream. So yes, the weekend MJ died, my TV never left TVOne

    5. V-Day 2005 my b/f lived in Atlanta and I was in school in Nashville. Since we didn’t get to spend a lot of time together, we got the bright idea for me to come down for Valentine’s Day weekend. We planned for him to meet me halfway to drive me the rest of the way (oh, how sweet…). The morning I left, it had begun snowing — and I mean hard (for that area). I also had to drive over a mountain and so I was in for quite an adventure. I stopped for gas, stuck the pump in my tank and set the latch so I could clean some of the snow off while it pumped. I never heard a click and so when I went to check, I saw the tank was overflowing. The latch sorta got stuck thanks to freezing temperature. I probably paid for $10 worth of gas that ended up on the ground.

    Because I had more to drive than he did, I waited until I’d been on the road for about 45 minutes to an hour before I called him to tell him to leave. When he answered, I could tell he was already in the car and I could hear some girl in the background. He told me one of his friends had a huge fight with her mother and had spent the night at his house (I’d met this friend, and told him she had a crush on him, he didn’t believe me). He asked if I would be ok if she rode up with him and back with us. What was I supposed to say?

    When we finally met up, we got in the car to leave and after 15 mins of driving, he pulls over, gets out and throws up. I have to drive the rest of the way.

    Thinking we’re taking his friend home, I start asking for directions — only to have him direct us to his house with no pit stop. Once inside, he pulls me to another room and asks if she can come with us to the movies “I promise to take her home after, but she’s all alone…” What was I supposed to say?

    After the movies, I sat in the car while they stepped away to smoke. I could see they were having a serious discussion. They got in the car saying nothing. At one point, he looked at me — but I think my face told him he’d better not say anything, so he didn’t. We took her home and he told me that she’d asked if she could stay one more night 0_O. I was leaving early the next day — I had a test to study for — so by the time we got back (we stopped for food) I was tired and I went to sleep.

    Fun times…

  2. 1. What’s one thing that always has tended to annoy you in a relationship/marriage?

    Well, the only thing my GF does that really annoys me is she leaves half-drank glasses of water/juice around the house almost like the girl from “Signs”

    2. What’s your favorite Winter Olympic sport?

    Hockey

    3. What one city would you move to (not your current city or hometown) if you had to live there for the rest of your life?

    Savannah, GA. I’m a Southerner & Savannah is a wonderful place.

    4. What movie, every time it comes on television, do you always stop and watch, no matter what happens?

    Forrest Gump, Major League & Boyz In the Hood

    5. Worst Valentine’s Day story you’ve ever heard/experienced or the best Valentine’s Day gift you’ve ever received. Go.

    My very first V-day w/ my GF, I was in college & really broke, had about $4 & some change to my name. Somehow I got a single rose & some candy out of that to give her. But anyway, we went out & she said she wanted to toss around the baseball w/ me. I was happy! We went out to Stankowski Field to toss around the baseball & she was pretty good! So I threw her a pop-fly, she gets under it & *WHAP* she takes a baseball right to the eye. She ended up getting a shiner and I felt absolutely terrible. I was pretty sure that was the end of it all!

    • “had about $4 & some change to my name… Somehow I got a single rose & some candy out of that to give her.”

      Somehow, this reminds me of Thurgood and Mary Jane’s first date in Half-Baked.

    • you sound like della reese from _harlem nights_ when she was fussing at red foxx for leaving a swallow of juice in the fridge.

  3. 1. All taking and no giving.

    2. I enjoyed watching bobsledding the most as a kid. It’s probably been 20+ years since I watched the Olympics.

    3. I’d like to buy a little shack on the Gulf coast (probably Texas between Corpus Cristi and say Galveston). Live like a bum. It would be awesome.

    4. Star Wars, Harry Potter, etc

    5. I’ve never really gotten into the whole Valentine’s Day thing. Fortunately for me my lady sees it for what it is as well…an artificial “holiday” so a card maker could sell more cards.

  4. 1. Arguments where the other party never relents.

    2. bobsledding. I’ve always found it amazing/intruging that the Jamaicans are good at this.

    3. Probably Phoenix. I’ll take heat over cold and snow every day of the week.

    4. Under Siege 2: Dark Territory. Morris Chestnut is a poor man’s Chris Rock in this film.

    5. A Kenneth Cole watch. I’m taking the easy out.

  5. 1. What’s one thing that always has tended to annoy you in a relationship/marriage?

    The mode of becoming complacent with one another, what’s done to get me needs to be maintained to keep me.

    2. What’s your favorite Winter Olympic sport?

    eh….

    3. What one city would you move to (not your current city or hometown) if you had to live there for the rest of your life?

    Orlando, FL. It’s in a great climate but northern enough to avoid major impact from hurricanes

    4. What movie, every time it comes on television, do you always stop and watch, no matter what happens?

    The Color Purple

    5. Worst Valentine’s Day story you’ve ever heard/experienced or the best Valentine’s Day gift you’ve ever received. Go.

    About 9 years ago when I was a junior in college I bought my boyfriend at the time a very expensive watch and sent it to him through the mail, he sent me nothing but a mere card. Later that year I found out he had been cheating on me for the last year and a half.

  6. 1. When people are solution oriented. I need to get better at this.

    2. Does winter workouts for football count?

    3. D.C or Miami

    4. A Christmas Story, Superbad, Wedding Crashers, Anchorman, Stepbrothers

    5. I was online during Valentine’s Day in ’07. That should speak for itself

    • on your 2, that’s not an Olympic sport. lol. Obviously, I asked the question knowing some people would draw a blank, but I figured you’d have at least watch the winter olympics as a kid. lol.

  7. 1. Clinginess from the other party. I cannot stand to be smothered.

    2. Figure skating, I think. It’s neat to see how they work popular culture into their routines.

    3. Houston again, hands down. It’s like a more laid back LA and there are very few taxes in Texas, mainly just property tax (land only) and sales tax. Take a note, Democrat-run states…

    4. Gladiator. Or Independence Day.

    5. Um, when I was in college there was a guy a former friend tried to hook me up with who went to a different school. He showed up on Valentines Day, unannounced and uninvited, drunk, with a stuffed skunk (think teddy bear) and proceeded to serenade me from the alley outside my dorm. I’ll just stop there, but it gets SO much worse…

  8. 1. not ever being in one 😦
    2. don’t watch the olympics. aaaand let the barrage begin >now<
    3. Chicago. I've been fascinated with that city my entire life.
    4. willie wonka and the chocolate factory, five heartbeats, coming to america, to name a few

    5. jr. year of high school someone sent me a valentine's day gift (a single rose). It was the first vday gift i had EVER received that was not from my family, signed a secret admirer. Needless to say, I was happy as a pig in slop. Except, the gift was a gag, and i didn't know. Later in the day when THE MOST POPULAR GUY IN SCHOOL who i also happened to have a crush on, approached me about the gift "hey was my name on that rose sent to you? someone said they were gonna send you a gag valentine's day gift and put my name on it."
    I cursed him out so bad, and just about everyone else in the popular crowd out that day.

    Needless to say valentine's day has put a sour taste in my mouth forever

  9. 1.Being a taker and never a giver
    2. Don’t really care for sports/olympics.
    3.Haven’t found a city in the U.S.,so I chose Ireland. The different shades of green and the country is beautiful.
    4. Temptations
    5. Any cheap bastard who would break up to avoid buying a present for vday. They deserve a swift kick to the groin…..just playin..a little.

  10. 1. What’s one thing that always has tended to annoy you in a relationship/marriage?
    – -Not communicating.

    2. What’s your favorite Winter Olympic sport?
    — Speed Skating. Shani Davis got me into it last time.

    3. What one city would you move to (not your current city or hometown) if you had to live there for the rest of your life?
    — Los Angeles. I am a screenwriter and plan to move there eventually and I’m sure I’d love being around the film mecca of the world.

    4. What movie, every time it comes on television, do you always stop and watch, no matter what happens?
    — When Harry Met Sally.

    5. Worst Valentine’s Day story you’ve ever heard/experienced or the best Valentine’s Day gift you’ve ever received. Go.
    — Never had a man around V-Day, so I’m gonna be sappy and say the best present I got was from my mom. A Snoopy/Charlie Brown themed V-day box of candy. It’s a tradition of ours. 🙂

  11. 1. Being accountable to other people. I know it’s a sign of respect to take your boyfriend/husband’s feelings into consideration with making a decision, but I’m just so used to doing my own thing that it takes me a while to think of other people. My name is Cicely, and I’m ridiculously selfish.

    2. Figure skating. I’ve been a fan since Nancy got knocked on her knees screaming “WHYYYYY?”

    3. The rest of my life? I don’t know but it would have to be somewhere with great beaches.

    4. Three-way tie: Dirty Dancing, Princess Bride and Last Dragon

    5. During my freshman year of college, my boyfriend at the time was still living in STL while I was in CoMo. He wasn’t very considerate then so I didn’t get his gift until later in the week. Needless to say, I was pissed. But that night my best-guy friend called and sang “Happy Valentine’s Day” to me to the tune of “Happy Birthday.” Now he’s stuck singing that to me every year until we die. But I look forward to it every year 🙂

  12. 1. one thing annoying in a relationship/marriage?
    unforgiveness

    2. fav Winter Olympic sport?
    figure skating

    3. one city to live there for the rest of your life?
    any city in cali near the beach

    4. addictive movie?
    coming to america

    5. worst or best Valentine’s Day story you’ve ever heard/experienced/gift you’ve ever received:
    rainchecked at the verrrry last min (meaning i already was dressed and about to grab my keys to step out) by the guy telling he can’t make it ’cause his actual date (1st choice/plan A) is now free 😦

  13. 1. I’m annoyed by childishness from grown men.

    2. Yeah… I’m rolling with JLBD on this one. I hope to catch the opening ceremony tonight though.

    3. At this point, Ontario.

    4. Gladiator. I love love love that movie.

    5. I don’t know… I used to have really great V-days, and then all of a sudden I stopped noticing the day. It always stings a little watching everyone else get flowers and being all in love and stuff. I usually sit at home and eat ice cream.

  14. 1. Nagging. I hate doing it. I hate seeing it. I’ve developed such an aversion, I think I’ve become overly accomodating and accepting…which creates its own problems.

    2.Figure skating. Always and forever.

    3. Well San Diego is pretty much perfect, but I live here sooo….is it cheating to say a town that’s not my hometown but I’ve lived there before? I would move back to CoMo to raise my family. I could def live out the rest of my days there.

    4. Center Stage. A wonderfully bad movie.

    5. I was 21 and had never had a valentine. The guy I had recently started seeing showed up at my house with a teddy bear basket filled with 21 valentines made out to me. One for every year I didn’t have one. Win.

  15. 1. Men who think I can read their minds. Learn to communicate your needs. 2. Figure Skating 3. Don’t really know- I am considering relocating so this is question I have been asking myself. 4. Bring It On & Crooklyn 5. About 6 years ago my bf called me from the store on VDay & asked if I really wanted a gift. He didn’t bother to come see me until the day after. We didn’t do anything except go back to his house. No date- no movie or dinner- nothing. When I get to his room there are gifts from other women all over the place. He has the nerve to tell me to pick one & that will be my gift. I refused. He picked a bouquet made of hershey kisses that came with a Snoopy doll & a balloon. I took it but not without an argument. Til this day I can’t stand this dude. The funny thing is I was @ a party with him & his wife last week & they got into a fight cuz I was there.

  16. 1. Someone who dosen’t keep their promise 2. Figure Skating 3. Memphis, TN 4. Color Purple, Ray or Drumline 5. The best V-day was having classroom parties w/ the best sugar cookies and candy from elementary school.

  17. 1. When people lose who they are in the other person. I am so annoyed when people can’t make simple decisions when in a relationship.

    2. Figure Skating

    3. New York City of the DMV. NYC being first pick.

    4. The Preachers Wife

    5. One of my really close friends found out her boyfriend not only cheated on her but got another girl pregnant. Weird thing is after all that, they’re still friends.

  18. 1. The use of condiments applied to food prepared for me

    2. Bobsledding, only to see the West Indians…

    3. Philly, because parts of there remind me of Chicago. Which also reminds me of Beirut….

    4. Paid In Full is a recent one that comes to mind. I don’t think Cam’Ron was really acting in that movie.

    5. My pator’s daughter, back in high school, gave me a pair of boxers with hearts on them just after the morning service/right before sunday school.

Leave a Reply

