FRQs: Tiger Woods, Y’all

Tiger’s talking today. Then going back to rehab. I had thoughts about the first sentence. Then the second one came along on Thursday night and kinda left me flustered. Everyone’s talking about things being orchestrated and I’m trying to understand why you’d make a statement in the middle of treatment. I thought he was coming back to play golf, like next week.

Kinda confusing, eh? I guess we’ll all find out what’s going this morning.

Anyway, the FRQs:

1. What’s the first thing you do when you get in the car?

2. How do you keep yourself from losing your mind when someone pisses you off?

3. Which cell phone provider, other than yours, do you think people say is the worst?

4. What NBA player would you pay to see play basketball first?

5. If you were Tiger, what would you say, if anything?

32 responses to “FRQs: Tiger Woods, Y’all

  1. 1. What’s the first thing you do when you get in the car? – Hook up my ipod

    2. How do you keep yourself from losing your mind when someone pisses you off? – Listen to my ipod, especially at work.

    3. Which cell phone provider, other than yours, do you think people say is the worst? – AT&T

    4. What NBA player would you pay to see play basketball first? – I don’t understand this question, I wouldn’t pay any of them to do anything other than maybe wash my car.

    5. If you were Tiger, what would you say, if anything? – I’m here to play golf so unless you want to discuss golf, I’m not saying anything.

  2. 1. What’s the first thing you do when you get in the car?

    Put on the removable face for my car stereo. (Yeah, I drive a bucket, so I don’t have the luxuries of hooking up an ipod unless I get a brand new stereo installed, which won’t happen….)

    2. How do you keep yourself from losing your mind when someone pisses you off?

    I truly start praying…

    3. Which cell phone provider, other than yours, do you think people say is the worst?

    Ironically I never hear complaints about my own provider (T-Mobile), but everyone complains about Sprint.

    4. What NBA player would you pay to see play basketball first?

    I’m not real clear on the question, but I wouldn’t pay anyone for anything related to that…

    5. If you were Tiger, what would you say, if anything?

    If I were Tiger I’d keep my mouth shut. Nobody’s calling for John Edwards or anyone else who’s got dirt out there to make a statement, why should he have to say a thing??? Oh yeah, he’s planning on coming back to golf, yeah whatever, he doesn’t owe anyone anything besides his wife…

    • Your car doesnt have a tape player or a cigarette lighter?

      • Yes, I have a cigarette lighter but I’ve already taken it in to see about getting an ipod hookup and they said they’d have to re-wire a bunch of stuff between the stereo and the lighter, and with my car being so old I don’t want to pay them to do all that. I’ve got my cd player with the removable face and that will suffice till I get a new car… 🙂

        • Naw, they got the piece that lets ur ipod play over an unused radio frequency only picked up in your car; it gets its energy through the lighter. That’s what i was talkin about

          • Yeah, and I was going to get that a few years back, but a friend of mine said that hers always picks up static. I might give it a try anyway…

  3. 1. Foot on the clutch.

    2. hmmm It takes quite a bit to get me that mad. I usually burn off some steam riding my bikes, practice some karate etc.

    3. Sprint

    4. Lost interest in the NBA a while back. If I want to watch some yard ball I’ll go watch some real yard ball.

    5. Where my !@#$%^& at?

  4. 1. What’s the first thing you do when you get in the car? buckle up, safety first!

    2. How do you keep yourself from losing your mind when someone pisses you off? Normally I walk away for a few seconds to think.

    3. Which cell phone provider, other than yours, do you think people say is the worst?

    Sprint/AT&T. I used to have AT&T so I know they suck, and most of my friends have Sprint and they hate them, but they always wanna isht on my T-Mobile…lmao

    4. What NBA player would you pay to see play basketball first? *confused face*

    5. If you were Tiger, what would you say, if anything? I wouldn’t say ish. I wouldn’t even do a press conference. I would just show up at the next tourament and play like nothing even happened.

    • ‘I wouldn’t say ish. I wouldn’t even do a press conference. I would just show up at the next tourament and play like nothing even happened.’

      ~~~

      CO-MUTHA EFFIN’ SIGN!!!!!

  5. 1. turn on my creative mp3 player. i simply CANNOT drive unless i got the toonz bumping

    2. when i am TRULY mad, i clean. and not the regular everyday cleaning. i move stuff, clean under it, steam things, fold and organize closets. the whole nine

    3. verizon

    4. umm i pass on this question

    5. get the eff off my back. everyone else does it and i get all of this flack? backup and let me and my wife handle this.

  6. 1. 1st thing when in the car?
    i have a metro card, so i guess when i get on the subway i do a quick visual scan for the undercover crazies who disguise their insanity just so i can be the lucky one to sit next to them and they start to act a plum-fool.

    2. keep yourself from losing your mind when pissed off?
    begin internal dialogue w/God, thankful he hears my thoughts.

    3. worst cell phone provider?
    i threw away money when i had Tmobile

    4. What NBA player would you pay to see play basketball first?
    i don’t curr

    5. what would you say if you were Tiger?
    let me say i would pay anything to see him take questions from his wife. word is he’s not taking Q’s but just making a statement, and this is absolutely lame. folks want to see him answer questions, not give yet another cookie-cutter prepackaged report. it’s been real. so no, not a blurb from me.

  7. 1. What’s the first thing you do when you get in the car?

    Turn on the car??? Put my seatbelt on

    2. How do you keep yourself from losing your mind when someone pisses you off?

    Sometimes just whisper a couple of poems to myself…

    3. Which cell phone provider, other than yours, do you think people say is the worst?

    AT&T

    4. What NBA player would you pay to see play basketball first?

    Currently: Kobe Bean Bryant
    All-Time: Michael Jeffrey Jordan (Must include the intro from the Alan Parsons Project though. Thats a deal breaker)

    5. If you were Tiger, what would you say, if anything?

    To steal from Mark McGwire from The Simpsons “I’m sorry. NOW WHO WANTS TO SEE ME HIT SOME GOLF DRIVES???”

  8. 1. Plug my iPod in

    2. Lots of breathing. LOTS OF BREATHING. Some cursing… and writing. Definitely writing.

    3. Sprint. Hands down.

    4. Uhh… I like teams. Individual players get on my nerves these days. JUST PLAY THE DAMN GAME.

    5. I wouldn’t say anything cause I’d have nothing nice to say. Folks need to mind their own business.

  9. Why is everyone so confused about Tiger’s statement? He’s in the middle of rehab, where I assume they make you do something to the effect of holding yourself accountable – i.e. openly confessing your sins and asking for forgiveness. Maybe this is what he’s doing, and the media has been invited because he let down a lot of his fans, some of them young, impressionable kids who by now have learned the sordid details of what he did. I don’t feel he needs to apologize to the public for the mistakes he’s made in his personal life but maybe he does. I’m going to withhold judgment about his statement until he actually makes it.

    • Yeah, they make you hold yourself accountable — to the people you wronged.

      I don’t know Tiger. He didn’t do anything to me — why’s he making a public statement to people he did nothing to?

      • Maybe he feels he needs to apologize to the public.

        • Maybe.

          But something tells me if he did, he would’ve done it long ago.

          And the 2 mins I attempted to listen to it suggests this was about everything but how he feels personally.

          • From CNN:

            Tiger’s agent said the golfer feels many of the issues he is dealing with are private but he still owes his fans an explanation.

            “While Tiger feels that what happened is fundamentally a matter between him and his wife, he also recognizes that he has hurt and let down a lot of other people who were close to him. He also let down his fans. He wants to begin the process of making amends, and that’s what he’s going to discuss,” Steinberg said.

            **********

            I didn’t listen to it and honestly don’t have any interest in doing so. If the guy feels he needs to apologize to the public and today is the day to do so, cool beans. Maybe two months ago he didn’t want to or wasn’t ready to own up to his behavior. I really think this statement deal has something to do with rehab.

            • Where we differ is I don’t believe much of what “statements” and other prepared documents say.

              I don’t believe that in situations like these celebs (or their spokespeople) will say anything other than what they “should” say. So I’m not checking for a statement, not interested in a pre-written speech.

              I think the best thing for Tiger to do is to work on his life and his family’s healing. Folks are going to talk, that’s what we do, but ultimately none of what we think matters where his family is concerned.

              However, Tiger wants those endorsement deals, so he’ll say what he needs to. ::shrug:: Nature of the beast.

              • Tiger supposedly wrote the speech himself. It read like he did and it sounded like he wrote parts of it right out of rehab… which isn’t a horrible thing.

                He also seemed uncoached and unrelenting in spurts, especially concerning his family’s portrayal in the media. He’d slow down and speed up at random.

                It was odd. But genuine. But also unnecessary because they’re not going to leave his family alone. He should know that.

                All this to say, I still don’t think he should have done it. But if it helps him (get back to the golf course sooner), *shrugs* …

  10. 1. Close the door

    2. By the time someone has pissed me off, I’m already in erratic mode, so to come off of the crazy I cuss them out in my mind (I’m not that confrontational)

    3. T-Mobile

    4. Kobe

    5. My bad, homie.

  11. 1. Y’all are insane. I check my mirrors. lol.

    2. I usually just get extremely quiet and internalize whatever is bothering me.

    3. AT&T.

    4. Kobe.

    5. Nothing. Especially after watching it. It wasn’t as contrived as people thought. But he didn’t seem to do himself that much good w/ those watching, either.

  12. 1. What’s the first thing you do when you get in the car?

    Turn on the radio

    2. How do you keep yourself from losing your mind when someone pisses you off?

    Belittle them or box or go for a run.

    3. Which cell phone provider, other than yours, do you think people say is the worst?

    I have Sprint. Everyone hates Sprint. Sprint has been fantastic for me. Second place is tied with Verizon and T-Mobile.

    4. What NBA player would you pay to see play basketball first?

    Lebron or KD. Both of them have such complete games.

    5. If you were Tiger, what would you say, if anything?

    I’d say “Most of the ppl who watch golf prolly cheated anyway.”

  13. 1. What’s the first thing you do when you get in the car?
    — check which one of my coat pockets my keys are residing in.

    2. How do you keep yourself from losing your mind when someone pisses you off?
    — i listen to music. Ante Up by MOP, preferably.

    3. Which cell phone provider, other than yours, do you think people say is the worst?
    — honestly, i’ve never heard any complaints about my phone provider (Verizon), but i know a lot of people who hate AT&T.

    4. What NBA player would you pay to see play basketball first?
    — Ray Allen, aka Jesus Shuttlesworth, please.

    5. If you were Tiger, what would you say, if anything?
    — not a damn thing. everything he said in the press conference / statement was something he could’ve had a private meeting about with no cameras.

  14. 1. Put on the safety belt

    2. Cuss like Bernie Mac

    3. Alltell

    4. Brad Doherty

    5. Fuck, y’all!!!!

  15. 1. Safety Belt

    2. Walk away. I

    3. Most of the prepaid jawns, AT&T

    4. MJ in his hey day if we talking legends. Right now, Dwade, Carmelo, Lebron, Kobe and Durant. Defense might win games, but offense sells tickets.

    5. Stealing a line from Forest Gump. “To my wife and family, I’m sorry. Now that’s all I have to say about that.”

  16. 1. Buckle that seatbelt. Then make sure my passenbger buclkes his.

    2. I just smile at them and it makes me happy when they get pissed of. Turn the tables ya know?

    3. I thought it was unanimous that Sprint was the worst. Didn’t we agree on that while ago?

    4. Lebron. Although I ‘m not sure what this question is asking.

    5. Sorry for all the hooplah, let’s get to golf. See you at the Masters. The end.

    • @kim: I asked the NBA question after last night’s show from Melo and Bron. I was just kinda curious as to who those of us who actually pay attention to sports would think/say.

      • I wasn’t sure what you meant by “first”. Like who would be the first person we would pay to see? Then my answer stands. Unless we’re including retired players. In that case, Clyde Drexler….

        Are you including me in that category? I hope so. Except for baseball..ick.

  17. 1. What’s the first thing you do when you get in the car? Ummm…I can’t remember the last time I drove.

    2. How do you keep yourself from losing your mind when someone pisses you off? I breathe deeply.

    3. Which cell phone provider, other than yours, do you think people say is the worst? Sprint

    4. What NBA player would you pay to see play basketball first? Past – MJ, Current – Kobe

    5. If you were Tiger, what would you say, if anything? Goodbye fried rice, hello fried chicken.

Leave a Reply

