FRQs: A Rant

… but it’s not here. OneChele asked to write a guest post over at her eCrib, so I obliged. Check it out. It’s about over-analyzing racism like Martin’s character did in Boomerang, except taking it a a tad bit too far.

Anyway, the five questions:

1. Did you give up anything for Lent? If so, what?

2. “Takeover” or “Ether”? Why?

3. What is your favorite restaurant ever?

4. If you had to give yourself a rap name or name a band, what would you choose?

5. “love is a circle….stay in it or around it…….just dont end up out of shape.” Does the aforementioned  quote make any sense to you?

16 responses to “FRQs: A Rant

  1. 1. No and if you follow me on Twitter then you already know my feelings concerning Lent.

    2. Ether, I like the way the beat sounds better plus I how the way he gave him a backhanded compliment and this line: “Put it together, I rock hoes, y’all rock fellas” always made me chuckle.

    3. I don’t have a favorite restaurant. Not to mention I almost always feel like I could have made whatever I ordered better and for less money.

    4. Ummm yeah…It would probably be something wack like “T-Money” or “Lil’ T” since apparently if you just put Lil’ in front of your name that turns you into a rapper.

    5. Kinda. You can be in love or out of love but don’t let love mess up your life by twisting you up emotionally. Which still doesn’t REALLY make sense because good or bad, love has a way of causing you to be very much out of shape.

  2. 1. No. Never have. If I want to give up something, I’ll decide when to do it. And chances are, it will be permanent.

    2. Ether. The lines about Hawaiian Sophine and Jay Z being a Tae-bo ho. LOL Plus, the way that Nas delivered it, was just way better than the Takeover. Folks like Jay, but he hasn’t put emotion in his lyrics since Reasonable Doubt.

    3. I really don’t have a favorite restaurant. My lady and I just like trying to go to as many different restaurants and sampling the same cuisine from different cultures. (Mostly chicken and shrimp, with some combination of vegetables.)

    4. Probably just CD, my first two initials. Would never use Lil’ or Young. (Masta Ace & Edo G have a song that’s hilarious called Lil’ Young about all of the rappers that are using that in their names.)

    5. It makes a little sense. The things that happen to those in love keep happening again and and again. You often end up at the same points. Not ending up out of shape? Guess that means don’t fall off track.

  3. 1. Did you give up anything for Lent? If so, what?

    I haven’t decided what I want to give up…but given that I’m Catholic and I’m s’posed to give up something, I’m tired of people asking…

    2. “Takeover” or “Ether”? Why?

    Ether. Nas ripped him a new one, I can’t stand Jay-Z, end of story

    3. What is your favorite restaurant ever?

    Ruth’s Chris Steak House

    4. If you had to give yourself a rap name or name a band, what would you choose?

    The Caramel Primadonna

    5. “love is a circle….stay in it or around it…….just dont end up out of shape.” Does the aforementioned quote make any sense to you?

    Yep, once that circle of love is bent or twisted, the circle is broken and takes alot of repair…sometimes the damage is too much to reform the circle.

  4. 1. Did you give up anything for Lent? If so, what?
    Naw

    2. “Takeover” or “Ether”? Why?
    I like Takeover more but Ether was a better track (if that makes sense)

    3. What is your favorite restaurant ever?
    Fogo de Chao, Plataforma or Maggianos

    4. If you had to give yourself a rap name or name a band, what would you choose?
    Plain Ole P

    5. “love is a circle….stay in it or around it…….just dont end up out of shape.” Does the aforementioned quote make any sense to you?
    Yes

  5. 1. Going out for lunch

    2. Ether, because I heard it first and Takeover was nowhere near its level

    3. I love the Vortex here in Atlanta. It’s a burger restaurant, but it’s got a Goth sorta feel. It’s an experience.

    4. C-Money?

    5. yes

  6. 1. give up anything for Lent?
    i guess my mornings. i decided i’d read the Book of Psalms so i’m up an hr earlier for meditation.

    2. “Takeover” or “Ether”?
    ether….proved mr. z drank a lil too much of his own koolaid, and NaS really is no one to mess with.

    3. fav restaurant?
    living in NY it’s very hard to have only one above all else so if i must prolly ‘cafetasia’ (thai cuisine)

    4. my rap name/band name?
    Frenchy

    5. “love is a circle….stay in it or around it…….just dont end up out of shape.”
    um no. this makes no sense and sounds more like somebody was trying to sound deep.

  7. 1. Fast food, but the parish on campus also gave out a calendar of stuff to do every day. It’s pretty simple, so I’ve been keeping up with that.

    2. I agree with the above quote that Nas ripped Jay-Z a new one. That being said, if you ask me on any given day which one I wanna listen to, I choose Takeover.

    3. Krohls in Chicago. I’m a regular, and I don’t even live there.

    4. Well, my guitar hero name is Le Tigre…We’ll go with that for now for my band. We’d be a mix of Lenny Kravitz, The Roots, Cody Chestnut, and No Doubt. Our album would be called “The Schizophrenic’s Guide to Music”. Clearly I’ve thought this out.

    5. No.

  8. 1.Nothing
    2.Ether, its the sh+t that makes your soul burn slow.
    3.Sweet Tomatoes. Great salad. 4.H2o- coming from Bruce Lee’s philosophy of water.
    5.Yes

  9. 1. Nothing.
    2. Odd, but I agree with most everyone that Ether was murderous… but I’d rather listen to Takeover 100 times over.
    3. Murry’s in Columbia, Missouri. A lot of nostaligia.
    4. Dame.
    5. No, it makes no sense at all. But I also considered the source: Weezy F Baby.

  10. 1. I just gave up….

    2. Takeover, Nas and his “facts” tend to irk me once in a while

    3. Giordano’s Pizzaria

    4. Black Mist, which would also be my stripper name

    5. It does, you shouldn’t let “love” put you in a twist of emotions and lacking an identity in the end of any relationship.

  11. 1. Nope

    2. Ether – It was so unexpected. No one really looked at Nas as a battle rapper up until that point. Jay was favored to win. Nas was the clear underdog, and out of nowhere he stepped up and destroyed Jay. Nas punchlines just hit so much harder cause he said everything everyone had been thinking but was too afraid to say. From the way Jay suddenly switched up his style, to the fact that he steals so much of Biggie’s lines, to the fact that Eminem destroyed his verse on Renegade.

    3. Mister B’s Steakhouse in Rogers, Arkansas. Best rib-eye I’ve ever had.

    4. Logos – greek for the spoken word, or to tell, say, or speak. Also my poet name.

    5. Makes no sense. I agree with natural nubian, sounds like someone trying too hard to be deep. But then again, most of what comes out of Wayne’s mouth is nonsensical.

  12. 1. Did you give up anything for Lent? If so, what?

    Nope

    2. “Takeover” or “Ether”? Why?

    Ether. I’m a huge fan of both, but Takeover wasn’t a particularly targeted track against Nas, whereas Ether was entirely devoted to Jay–and masterfully so.

    3. What is your favorite restaurant ever?

    Oklahoma Joe’s BBQ for the time being.

    4. If you had to give yourself a rap name or name a band, what would you choose?

    Willie Dynamite, never mind the copyrights

    5. “love is a circle….stay in it or around it…….just dont end up out of shape.” Does the aforementioned quote make any sense to you?

    It makes sense but it isn’t introspective or thought provoking.

  13. 1. Did you give up anything for Lent? If so, what?

    I gave up giving up things for Lent.

    2. “Takeover” or “Ether”? Why?

    Takeover, cause the beat was hotter.

    3. What is your favorite restaurant ever?

    Mambo Grill

    4. If you had to give yourself a rap name or name a band, what would you choose?

    Thicky thin

    5. “love is a circle….stay in it or around it…….just dont end up out of shape.” Does the aforementioned quote make any sense to you?

    Absolutely not.

  14. 1. Lent? What’s that?
    2. Ether because you know, it’s better. I’m not a big rap fan by a long shot but Nas def pulled out the stops lyrically.
    3. Favorite restaurant? That’s a hard one? Big Al’s diner in Cleveland Ohio?
    4. Rap name? MC ISH lol
    5. I think this is saying not to let love take you for a ride.

Leave a comment